This is the "Home" page of the "Art History & Architecture" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Tisch Library Ginn Library Hirsch Health Sciences Library Webster Veterinary Library Digital Collections and Archives

Art History & Architecture  

Last Updated: Apr 16, 2014 URL: http://researchguides.library.tufts.edu/ArtHistory Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Facts & Background Information

Grove Dictionary of Art
Contains 45,000 articles on every aspect of the visual arts, with many full-color images, covering prehistory to the present. Search simultaneously in other reference works within Oxford Art Online.

Dictionary of Art
34 volumes. [PRINT. Tisch Reference N31 .D5 1996]
Print edition of the above title.

Encyclopedia of World Art
16 volumes. [PRINT. Tisch Reference N31 .E53]

Encyclopedia of Architecture, Design, Engineering & Construction
[PRINT. Tisch Reference NA202.T4 1991]

 

* Tisch Library holds an extensive collection of print reference sources in art and architecture. The sources listed here are a few of the most used titles.

      

    Finding Books

    * Artists may be found as subjects as well as authors. Art movements may be searched as subjects and key words.

    Exhibition Catalogues and Art Books from Worldwide Books
    Records for more than 50,000 exhibition and collection catalogues published since the early 1960s, plus books on art from American trade and university presses published since 1992. A comprehensive record of books ever offered by a major art book dealer, including a vast number of out-of-print titles.

    Worldcat
    Catalog records from thousands of North American libraries.

    Internet Archive
    Digital editions of out-of-copyright books, generally pre-1923.

    Hathi Trust

    Google Books
    Digital editions of out-of-copyright books, generally pre-1923, and previews of books in copyright.

        

      Finding Images

      ARTstor
      ARTstor is an image database of architecture, painting, photography, sculpture, decorative arts and design, and archaeological and anthropological objects--with associated catalog data--from many major collections. Users are able to register themselves via the tools in the ARTstor Library. Faculty who want the higher level of access that allows them to create folders to share Image Groups with students or colleagues need to upgrade their user accounts by selecting "Instructor Privileges Manager" from the "Tools" toolbar menu. When registering for Instructor Privileges, users will be prompted to obtain the required authorization code and password from their local ARTstor administrator. Faculty should call the reference desk at 617-627-3460 to obtain the code and password.

      Artifact
      Image study website of the Tufts Department of Art & Art History

       

      Bridgeman Art Library
      Images from over 8,000 collections and more than 29,000 artists

      Parker Library Manuscripts
      High-resolution copies of 559 manuscripts in the Parker Collection at Corpus Christi College, Cambridge University. Manuscripts date from the Sixth through Sixteenth Centuries C.E. Includes extensive bibliographic material related to the collection.

      Forthcoming Index of Christian Art
      Records of nearly 80,000 works of art accompanied by over 100,000 thousand images. The Index records works of art from early apostolic times up to A.D. 1550. There is a particular emphasis on art of the Western world, but with significant holdings from Coptic Egypt, Lebanon, Ethiopia, Syria, Armenia, and the Near East. Seventeen different media are represented in the archive, among them manuscripts, metalwork, sculpture, painting, and glass.

       

      See also the research guide for Finding Images Online, and "Image Archives" under the research guide Digital Texts at Tisch Library and on the Web.

          

        Finding Articles

        Look for "Find it @ Tufts" in article citations from most periodical indexes.

        ESSENTIAL

        International Bibliography of Art - The index that carries forward the work of BHA (below). Coverage from 2008 to present. Use both to search comprehensively.

        BHA: Bibliography of the History of Art = Bibliographie d'Histoire de l'Art. Getty Art History Information Program, 1973-2009 [Updates suspended 31 December 2009 - archival edition includes BHA 1990-2007; the International Bibliography of Art (IBA), covering the years 2008 and part of 2009; and Répertoire de la litterature de l’art (RILA), 1975-1989, online by 1 May 2010].

        Covers European and American art from late antiquity to the present. Indexes and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealer's catalogs, and articles from more than 2,500 periodicals. Includes and extends the coverage of its two predecessor art indexes: RAA (Repertoire d'Art et d'Archeologie) from 1973 to 1989 and RILA (International Repertory of the Literature of Art) from 1975 to 1989.

        Art Abstracts 1984-  How To Use
        Art, architecture, and related topics. Indexes over 250 English-language arts publications from 1984. Earlier years, from 1929 forward, are at Tisch Reference Indexes [HUM] Z5937 .A78].

        ARTBibliographies Modern 1974- How To Use
        Abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art.

        Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals 1977- How To Use
        The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals indexes more than 1,000 periodicals published worldwide on archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation, as well as architecture.

        SEARCHING FURTHER

        Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Institute for Scientific Information, 1974- How To Use
        Provides author, subject and citation access to journal articles and book reviews in the arts and humanities. Coverage from 1974. Part of Web of Science.

        The Year's Work in Critical and Cultural Theory (1996-current)

        Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI). 1970-
        Scholarship on Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States: citations to articles, book reviews, documents, literary works, and other material in more than 500 international social science and humanities journals, published from 1970 to the present. Many citations are linked to full-text.

        International Medieval Bibliography. Brepols, 1967-
        An international index to medieval topics (400-1500) in literature, language, history, archaeology, art, music, theater, Arabic and Islamic studies, and religion and philosophy. IMB covers 4,500 journals and over 5,000 miscellany volumes in 30 languages.

        RILA: Repertoire Internationale de la Litterature de l'Art. College Art Association of America, 1965-1990.

        [PRINT. Tisch Reference Indexes [HUM] Z5937 .R16] 

        L'Annee Philologique
        Online edition of the annual bibliography of classical studies, containing, as of January 2003, entries from 1969-1999. Future updates will add both more recent entries as well as earlier volumes. Use in conjunction with printed volumes covering earlier years.

        L'Annee Philologique: Bibliographie Critique et Analytique de l'Antiquite Greco-Latin. Paris, Societe d'edition "Les Belles Lettres," 1928- (repr. 1957-1969)
        [PRINT. Tisch Reference Z7016 .A5]
        Annual bibliography for all areas of classical studies, from 1924 forward (publication lags three or four years behind current year). Contains citations of all known scholarly work published in any language on ancient Greek and Latin language and linguistics, Greek and Roman history, literature, philosophy, numismatics, papyrology and epigraphy, in the period from the second millennium B.C. to 500-800 A.D.

        Online Egyptological Bibliography
        Includes the contents of the printed Annual Egyptological Bibliography from the 1947 to the 2001 editions, plus additional and more recent entries.

            

          Architecture

          Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals 1977 to present
          The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals indexes more than 1,000 periodicals published worldwide on archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation, as well as architecture.

          RIBA British Architectural Library Catalogue Online Articles from 1984 onward, updated daily
          The catalog of the Royal Institute of British Architects library includes both books AND articles. It is especially strong in foreign periodical titles. The catalog also includes citations to other RIBA collections.

          SAHARA
          9000+ images of the built environment from the Society of Architectural Historians' SAHARA Project. Part of ArtStor - to view the SAHARA collection, go to the ARTstor Digital Library, browse by collection, and click "SAHARA;" or enter the keyword search: asaharaig.

          Flickr
          An excellent source for architectural images. "If you want an image of some corbel in a cathedral, and it can't be seen without climbing a ladder, three tourists have posted photos of it in flickr." - Thomas Hill, Art Librarian, Vassar College.

          Great Buildings Collection From the magazine Architectureweek, a vast collection of current and historical "photographic images, architectural drawings, maps, timelines, 3D building models, commentaties, bibliographies, (and) web links." International in scope.

              

            Medieval Art

            Digital Scriptorium

            "An image database of medieval and renaissance manuscripts that unites scattered resources from many institutions into an international tool for teaching and scholarly research." Provides sophisticated search features and bibliographic apparatus.

            Parker Library Manuscripts

            High-resolution copies of 559 manuscripts in the Parker Collection at Corpus Christi College, Cambridge University. Manuscripts date from the Sixth through Sixteenth Centuries C.E. Includes extensive bibliographic material related to the collection.

            International Medieval Bibliography. Brepols, 1967-
            An international index to medieval topics (400-1500) in literature, language, history, archaeology, art, music, theater, Arabic and Islamic studies, and religion and philosophy. IMB covers 4,500 journals and over 5,000 miscellany volumes in 30 languages.

            Understanding Illuminated Manuscripts: a Guide to Technical Terms. Tisch Reference ND2889 .B76 1994

            Forthcoming Index of Christian Art
            Records of nearly 80,000 works of art accompanied by over 100,000 thousand images. The Index records works of art from early apostolic times up to A.D. 1550. There is a particular emphasis on art of the Western world, but with significant holdings from Coptic Egypt, Lebanon, Ethiopia, Syria, Armenia, and the Near East. Seventeen different media are represented in the archive, among them manuscripts, metalwork, sculpture, painting, and glass.

             

            See also MEDIEVAL TEXTS in the research guide Digital Texts at Tisch Library and on the Web to find links to more collections of digitized medieval manuscripts.

                

              Websites

              Help with Research

              Profile Image
              Research Librarian Chao Chen
              Contact Info
              email: chao.chen@tufts.edu
              tel. 617.627.2057
              Send Email

              Collections Librarian for Art History & Architecture

              Profile Image
              Christopher Barbour
              Contact Info
              Humanities Bibliographer &
              Coordinator of Special Collections
              Tisch Library
              Tufts University
              Medford, MA 02155
              Send Email
              Description

              Loading  Loading...

              Tip