/**/ Skip to main content

Research Guides@Tufts

Citing Sources

Information on the major citation sources and on citation managers, such as EndNote, RefWorks, and Zotero.

Introduction to Zotero

Zotero

 

Zotero is a free, standalone program (with browser extensions to Google Chrome and Safari) that collects, stores and organizes references for books, journal articles, websites and other materials that you've collected and then automatically converts those references into a properly formatted bibliography. It is fairly easy to use, reliable, and well-documented. Zotero can:

  • import references directly from many of the Tisch Library's databases
  • create a properly-formatted bibliography that conforms to your selected output style, including APA, MLA, Chicago/Turabian, or any one of hundreds of other formats
  • format in-text citations, endnotes, and footnotes in the documents you are writing
  • serve as your own searchable reference database
  • organize references into custom groups, enabling you to track your sources by topic, course, book chapters, or other criteria of your choosing
  • capture snapshots of websites
  • attach notes to references, create standalone notes
  • sync your library to "My Library" on the Zotero servers to save your work

Alongside tracking literature citations, Zotero stores downloaded or links to Acrobat pdf files or any other types of files on your computer.

Zotero@Tufts Guide

Our own handy reference guide for Zotero, available in Acrobat PDF format, providing information on acquiring and setting up Zotero, exporting references from catalogs and databases, producing bibliographies, and getting support.

Acquiring Zotero

Zotero is available as a free standalone software used with Firefox, Safari, Google Chrome and Opera.

You can download Zotero from http://www.zotero.org/download/.

Download both the program and the Zotero connector

The connector will allow your browser to talk to the Zotero software and capture references from webpages, snapshots from of  websites. 

Note: While the Tufts librarians provide training in, and consultation about, the general use of Zotero and compatible databases, they do not provide IT support or assistance with technical issues involving your computer, browser, or word-processing software. For assistance with such issues, consult Zotero's documentation and its user forums. Most questions can be answered by either of these.

Installing Zotero

Once installed, you will see the connector icon in the top right of your browser in the Tool Bar.     Zotero Connector Icon

This icon will change depending upon if you are looking at a list of resources, an individual book or article, etc.

Help with Citation Manager Tools

Tisch Library

Ginn Library

Hirsh Health Sciences Library

Webster Veterinary Library

Zotero on Twitter