Comparison MatrixOther Citation Tools
Creating ReferencesCreating BibliographiesFAQs, Support, & TrainingImporting Instructions
Creating ReferencesCreating BibliographiesFAQs, Help, & Training
Creating ReferencesOrganizing Your Research & Taking NotesCreating BibliographiesPlugins & Mobile FeaturesSupport & Training
This is the "RefWorks" page of the "Citing Sources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Tisch Library Ginn Library Hirsch Health Sciences Library Webster Veterinary Library Digital Collections and Archives

Citing Sources   Tags: apa, chicago, endnote, mla, refworks, turabian  

Information on the major citation sources and on citation managers, such as RefWorks and EndNote.
Last Updated: Mar 11, 2014 URL: http://researchguides.library.tufts.edu/CitingSources Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

RefWorks Print Page
  Search for a research guide: 
 
 

Important News Regarding RefWorks Group Code

As of December 12, 2013,  RefWorks users can no longer use the Tufts RefWorks Group Code to login to their RefWorks account(s) from off-campus.

To access your RefWorks account, you need only use your own Login Name and Password.  If you are a current student, faculty, or staff member, access the RefWorks URL embedded here and in many Library website pages.  If you are a Tufts alumni, use the link provided within your Tufts Alumni Online Community account.

At present, the Group Code is still required for the following situations:

  • When logging into WNC III.
  • When logging into Write-N-Cite (WNC) 4. Note: the need for the Group Code should be removed in a forthcoming upgrade.
  • When you need to create an additional RefWorks account from off-campus and the Tufts network is temporarily unavailable.

The Group Code is listed in the "welcome" email that you received when you created a RefWorks account.

RefWorks @ Tufts Guide

Our own handy reference guide for RefWorks 2.0, available in Acrobat PDF format, providing Tufts-specific information, such as setting up an account through Tufts, exporting references from the Tufts catalog, and various support options.

 

Introduction to RefWorks

RefWorks icon.

RefWorks is a web-based software* that captures, stores and organizes references for books, articles, web pages, and other sources. It then automatically converts these references into a properly formatted bibliography in the citation style of your choice, including APA, Chicago, and MLA. Use it for:

  1. Storing references (both those you have imported from online catalogs and databases or have created from scratch)
  2. Creating bibliographies
  3. Inserting in-text references, footnotes, or endnotes into documents created in Word or other text editors
  4. Creating a personal, customizable research database

All RefWorks users have their own account, which can be accessed from any location in which a compatible web browser and an internet connection are available.

*Important: See the RefWorks website for an official list of compatible web browsers and word-processors.  Note that RefWorks does not work reliably with the Safari browser and has some problems with Internet Explorer.  Firefox and Chrome appear to interface more reliably with RefWorks.

 

Setting up a RefWorks Account

Anyone listed in the Tufts Directory who has a valid Tufts user name and (simplified) password can obtain a RefWorks account, free of charge, through the Tufts Libraries' databases. 

To sign up for an account, go to the Tufts Login Page for RefWorks.  Here, click “Sign up for an Individual Account” underneath the phrase “New to RefWorks?” Once you have created your account, you can begin using RefWorks. 

Shortly after you sign up for an account, you will also receive a confirmatory email containing important information about your account, including your user name and password.

Always use the Tufts Login Page for RefWorks to start your session.  Click on the RefWorks link under the Get Help with Research section to access the Login form.

Important!  While Tufts Libraries staff offer training in the use of RefWorks, they do not provide IT support or assistance with technical issues involving your computer, browser, or word-processing software.  For technical support, contact RefWorks at support@refworks.com

 

Help with Citation Manager Tools

Tisch Library

Contacts:
Karen A. Vagts
(General Information, EndNote)
Tel: 617-627-2095
Send Email

Connie Reik
(RefWorks and Zotero)
Tel: 617-627-2073
Send Email

More Information

Ginn Library

Contact:
Rhys Sevier
Tel: 617-627-3023
Send Email

More Information

Hirsh Health Sciences Library

Contact:
Amy E. LaVertu
Tel: 617-636-3988
Send Email

More Information

Webster Veterinary Library

Contact:
Betsy Like
Tel: 508-839-7925
Send Email

More Information

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip