This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Geology 5: Introduction to Oceanography" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Tisch Library Ginn Library Hirch Health Sciences Library Webster Veterinary Library Digital Collections and Archives

Geology 5: Introduction to Oceanography   Tags: course  

A research and instruction guide for Prof. Anne Gardulski's CAP seminar.
Last Updated: Jun 30, 2010 URL: http://researchguides.library.tufts.edu/GEO5 Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Primary and Secondary Literature: What are these?

Primary Literature

  • Primary literature presents results of original research in formats such as articles, pre-publication prints of articles, and conference proceedings. Of the sources in this category, you are most likely to find and use journal articles, whether traditional paper journals or those you will find online.
  • When you see the word "article," don't assume that you will be consulting Time or Rolling Stone to find primary materials. True, those publications carry many articles, but the type you want will be found in scholarly and academic journals like Nature and Science. These articles contain original data and have been "peer-reviewed" by scientists familiar with the area being researched.
  • The most efficient way to find primary literature is by using indexes and databases. These allow you to search journal literature by author, subjects, or keywords and find citations to relevant articles. A citation includes the author and title of an article, the title of the periodical in which it was published, page numbers, date of publication, and other information. Some citations provide abstracts (summaries) of the cited article. The citation gives you all the information you need to find the journal that contains the article in the Tisch Library.

Example:

Dewar, William K. Oceanography: A fishy mix. Nature 460, 581-582 (30 July 2009) | doi:10.1038/460581a; Published online 29 July 2009

 

Secondary Literature

  • Secondary literature includes books, annual reviews, textbooks, and some periodicals. These sources differ from reference materials in at least one important way: secondary sources, like reference materials, may answer factual questions; however, they also present background information and summarize results of scientific work so that you can read the full range of thinking on a particular topic. Secondary literature does not present the most current scientific information, which is found in primary literature.
  • Articles in science periodicals such as Discover and Science News are considered secondary literature because they don't present the results of original research, instead such articles synthesize and summarize descriptions of previous scientific work--which makes secondary literature very useful for you.
  • Use annual reviews, textbooks, review articles in science periodicals, and books on scientific topics to gain detailed knowledge of a field, to learn about the historical development of a concept, and to become familiar with major researchers in an area of science.
  • You can find more secondary sources by using the Tufts Online Catalog, finding a relevant source, and then browsing the book stacks in the call number area where you located the first relevant source. Bibliographies in reference materials may also point you to secondary sources.

Examples:

Trujillo, Alan P. Essentials of oceanography. Upper Saddle River, N.J. : Pearson Education, 2008.

Huybers, Peter and Wunsch, Carl. Paleophysical Oceanography with an Emphasis on Transport Rates. Annual Review of Marine Science 2, (January 2010).

 

 

Keyword Searching

Keyword Search Rules for the Library Catalog and Databases


Using AND/OR/NOT (Boolean Search Operators)
AND

Use AND to focus search and combine different aspects of your topic.

Example: human activity and coastlines

OR

Use OR to expand your search and find synonyms/related terms.

Example: pollution or contaminants

NOT

Use NOT to exclude a word or phrase from your search

Example: plate tectonics not Indian Ocean

 


Additional Search Tips

"Phrase search"  - Use quotation marks" " to search for a particular phrase.

Example: "plate tectonic processes"

Truncation * - Use an asterisk to find variations of a word. Put an asterisk following the root of the word to find all variations of that word, including singular and plural.

Example: contaminant* (finds contaminants, contamination, contaminant, etc.)

(Grouping/Nesting Keywords) - Use parentheses ( ) as a way to group all your search terms together.

Example: (pollution or contamination) and "human activity"  and coastlines

See the Basic Search Tips guides for more information, including examples.

 

Suggested Keywords and Strategies

Combine your subject/topic with one or more of the following:
 

  • oceanography                                                   
  • marine science
  • plate tectonics
  • process/processes
  • causation
  • mechanics/mechanism
  • distribution
  • probability
  • correlation
  • variable
  • human influence
  • sea bed
  • sea floor
  • atomsphere/atmospheric
  • climate/climatic
  • ecology/ecological
  • environment/environmental
  • physical
  • chemical
  • biological
  • geological
  • waves/tides/currents
  • sediment
  • continental shelf
  • surface
  • slope
  • rise

 

Examples: 

"plate tectonics" and "continental shelf" and drift

 "human influence" and pollut* and coast*

 

Use Advance Search modes in databases to limit search results to those that include data, statistics, tables or figures.

 

 

 

Help with Research

Profile Image
Regina Raboin
Contact Info
Science Research & Instruction Librarian
Research & Instruction
Tisch Library, Tufts University
Phone 617-627-4221
Fax 617-627-3002
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip