General News
- World News Connection (used to be Foreign Broadcasting Information Service Daily Report), 1996-Searchable full-text translations of non-U.S. radio and television broadcasts, articles and government statements, compiled and distributed by the National Technical Information Service of the U.S. Department of Commerce. Economic, political, military and environmental news.
- Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports1941-1996. Translated broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals and government statements from nations around the globe
- The Economist2000 to the present
- The Economist: Historical Archive 1843-2009Search the Economist as far back in history as you like.
- Facts on File World News Digest1940 to the present.
Provides full-text access to top news stories, live Reuters News feed with two weeks archived, country profiles, maps and much more. Search by full text, title, date ranges, databases, top stories, or special features. Custom searching also available.
Guides to Nongovernmental Organizations
- Non-Governmental Organizations Research GuideFrom Perkins Library. Duke University
- The WWW Virtual Library: International Affairs Resources: Nongovernmental Organizations
- NGO Global Network(with the United Nations)
- Non-Governmental OrganizationsFrom University of California, Berkeley Library
News from BBC Focus on Africa
African NEWS RESOURCES
- Africa News Sources
- The Africa ReportAn English-language bimonthly magazine that focuses on African politics and economics. Includes country profiles, interviews, blogs, special reports on countries & sectors, economic rankings, and an archive of past issues.
- Africa News1991 to the present. In Lexis-Nexis! With lots of other African related sources.
Africa News is a newsletter covering events and developments in Africa. Published since 1973, it is among the leading publications covering political and economic development and news in the region. Written to serve the novice as well as the expert, Africa News covers all aspects of life in Africa from little-noticed developments to major events. - Africa RenewalFormerly Africa Recovery, from the United Nations.
Good place to look for topics - Lexis-Nexis AcademicChoose Sources button in the left navigation panel, then find sources, type "Africa" to find all publications with Africa in them
- United Nations -- Africa Center for Gender and DevelopmentFrom the UN Economic Commission for Africa.
See also Gender & Women in Development, click on button for Gender & Women in Development on the right - Africa Today1999 to present
- Africa News Service2000 to the present.
- AllAfrica.com (Africa News Online)
- AfricaFocus (Washington, D.C.)2008 to the present.
Features high-quality analysis and progressive advocacy on African issues, with particular attention to priority issues affecting the entire continent. - BBC World Service: Africa
- BBC News: Africa
- AJE - Al Jazeera (English) International news from top Arabic language news sources in English. Topics includes business, sports and especially good for North African and Islamic issues. Has videos, blogs, etc.
- Jeune AfriquePrint: 1980-2000
Ginn Periodical Stacks (Arranged by title)
Continued by: Jeune Afrique L'intelligent 2000-2006 and back to Jeune Afrique 2006 to the present - Jeune Afrique.comGoogle this title and get an option to translate the articles
- MidEastWireDaily news from newspapers, TV, and radio, originating in Arab countries, Iran, and the Arab Media Diaspora; English translation and original language. 2005-.
- Council on Foreign Relations: Africa
- African Business Magazines
- African Business1993 to the present
- African Business Review2011 to the present
African Business Review is a leading digital media source of news and content for business professionals focused on business and industry-specific news throughout Africa. African Business Review provides territory-specific issues including: Technology; Operations; Finance; and Leadership. African Business Review is the territory-dedicated arm of the White Digital Media Group. - African Banker2010 to the present
- Africa Investor Magazine2010 to the present
Africa investor (Ai) supplies a broad range of investment data, research, broadcast and published content to a growing number of investors with interests in Africa. - African Manager2010 to the present
Provides business and financial news, focused on Africa and the Middle East.
Country Information
- Africa Contemporary Record; Annual Survey and DocumentsPrint: 1968-2001. Ginn Compact Reference DT 1 .L43.
Basic facts for an overview of the year’s political developments. - Africa Research Bulletin - Political , Social and Cultural Series1997 to present.
Use in conjunction with Africa Contemporary Record. More detailed basic facts on political, social and cultural developments on a monthly basis. - Africa Research Bulletin – Economic, Financial and Technical Series
- Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) ReportsFull-text of Country Reports, Country Profiles, Country Finance and Country Commerce series,and Risk Briefing.
- Africa South of the Sahara: Selected Internet ResourcesFrom Stanford University Library. Also has a current news section.
- IHS Global Insight: Country & Industry ForecastingGlobal Insight provides comprehensive economic, financial, and political coverage of countries, regions, and industries, including sections on Country Reports, Intelligence, and Risk. The information and analysis covers over 200 countries and spans more than 170 industries using a unique combination of expertise, models, data, and software within a common analytical framework to support planning and decision making.
Help with Research |
Contact Info Research & Instruction Librarian for the Social Sciences and Government Publications/Information Tisch Library 617-627-2073 "Office Hours" w/appt M, T, Th, F 9ish-5pm; Wed 2pm-9pm Desk Hours: M 1-3pm, W 5-9p Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |


Loading...

Loading...
