This is the "Lobbies" page of the "Political Science 188.23: Race and U.S. Africa Policy" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Tisch Library Ginn Library Hirsch Health Sciences Library Webster Veterinary Library Digital Collections and Archives

Political Science 188.23: Race and U.S. Africa Policy   Tags: course  

For Prof. Pearl Robinson and her students
Last Updated: Sep 23, 2013 URL: http://researchguides.library.tufts.edu/PoliticalScience188-23 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Lobbies Print Page
  Search for a research guide: 
 

Lobbying Databases

  • Foreign Lobbying Influence Tracker
    A a joint project of ProPublica and the Sunlight Foundation, digitizes information that representatives of foreign governments, political parties and government-controlled entities must disclose to the U.S. Justice Department when they seek to influence U.S. policy. You may query the database by member of Congress contacted, country, client or lobbying firm. You can also search by "contact issues" as reported by lobbyists.
  • Query the Lobbying Disclosure Act Database
  • African Activist Archive
    This is an excellent resource for materials related on transnational civil society.

General Africa Advocacy

  • Constituency for Africa (CFA): Linking U.S. and Africa Through Policy
    CFA is charged with educating the U.S. public about Africa and U.S. policy on Africa; mobilizing an activist constituency for Africa; and fostering cooperation among a broad-based coalition of American, African and international organizations, and individuals committed to the progress and empowerment of Africa and African people.
  • Foreign Policy in Focus Project (FIFP)
    From the Institute for Policy Studies. FPIF tackles critical issues getting short shrift by policymakers and in the mainstream media: military outsourcing, drone attacks, immigration, Islamophobia, terrorism, military bases, and so much more.
  • Free Africa Foundation
    Mission of the Free Africa Foundation: 1) To free Africans from intellectual bondage, empower them to take charge of their own destiny and devise African-based solutions to Africa's problems; 2) To advocate and seek establishment of which will help promote and safeguard the four cornerstones of freedom: intellectual freedom, political freedom, economic freedom and religious freedom; 3) To resist the imposition of alien ideologies and systems on Africa; and 4) To provide an "African input" in international fora and the formulation of Western (aid) policies toward Africa.
  • Phelps Stokes
    Their programs are created with a dedication to the individuals and organizations using their big ideas to create lasting social change across Africa and the Americas. They’ve developed and nurtured an extensive network of leaders across the world whose visions we are proud to support.

African Organizations

  • Africa Union
    African Union Mission in the U.S.
    1919 Pennsylvania Ave NW #7001
    Washington, DC 20006-3442
    (202) 293-8006
    The African Union (abbreviated AU in English, and UA in its other official languages) is an intergovernmental organization consisting of 52 African states. Established on July 9, 2002,[3] the AU was formed as a successor to the Organization of African Unity (OAU).
  • African Development Bank
    The African Development Bank (AfDB) Group’s mission is to help reduce poverty, improve living conditions for Africans and mobilize resources for the continent’s economic and social development

International Development Partners for US Agencies

  • United Nations Development Programme - Africa
    UNDP is the UN's global development network, an organization advocating for change and connecting countries to knowledge, experience and resources to help people build a better life. We are on the ground in 166 countries, working with them on their own solutions to global and national development challenges. As they develop local capacity, they draw on the people of UNDP and our wide range of partners.
  • United Nations. Economic Commission for Africa
    ECA's dual role as a regional arm of the UN, and a part of the regional institutional landscape in Africa, positions it well to make unique contributions to member States' efforts to address their development challenges. Its strength derives from its role as the only UN agency mandated to operate at the regional and subregional levels to harness resources and bring them to bear on Africa's priorities.
  • The New Partnership for Africa’s Development
    NEPAD’s Primary Objectives are to eradicate poverty; to place African countries, both individually and collectively, on a path of sustainable growth and development; to halt the marginalization of Africa in the globalization process and enhance its full and beneficial integration into the global economy; and accelerate the empowerment of women.
  • Mo Ibrahim Foundation
    The Mo Ibrahim Foundation invests in governance and leadership to catalyse Africa’s transformation.

    By providing tools and advocating for progressive leadership and responsible management, the Foundation works to bring about meaningful change in Africa.
 

Africa Lobbies in the United States

The following is a list of US-based associations that have incorporated Africa advocacy as part of their mission. Several are full-fledged lobbies, some are professional groups that double as ethno-racial advocates, while others relate to their constituencies primarily on the basis of issues. Key institutional entry points to the Africa policy process are often headed by actors who facilitate lobbying. These entities are listed separately below.

The majority of these groups have been engaged in ongoing efforts by US foundations to build an “informed,” multi-racial Constituency for Africa. In the 1940s, the Phelps-Stokes Foundation initiated such a strategy. In recent years, the Ford and Rockefeller Foundations have funded such initiatives. Only a handful of the groups listed take a an explicitly critical stance toward the global economy, racial oppression, and America’s role in the world. TransAfrica Forum is a noted exception.

Ethno-racial Groups

  • Constituency for Africa (CFA): Linking U.S. and Africa Through Policy
    CFA is charged with educating the U.S. public about Africa and U.S. policy on Africa; mobilizing an activist constituency for Africa; and fostering cooperation among a broad-based coalition of American, African and international organizations, and individuals committed to the progress and empowerment of Africa and African people.
  • African Diaspora for Change: Educating, Empowering & Engaging the Next Generation of Leaders
    African Diaspora for Change (formerly African Diaspora for Obama-ADO) has a mission to create an alliance of African Diaspora voices representing the common concerns as a constituency in the U.S. and affecting change through education, empowerment and engagement of the next generation of leaders.
  • American Association in Blacks in Energy
    The American Association of Blacks in Energy (AABE) is a national association of energy professionals founded and dedicated to ensure the input of African Americans and other minorities into the discussions and developments of energy policies regulations, R&D technologies, and environmental issues.
  • The Presidents’ RoundTable
    A results-driven organization of African American businesses that strives to impact access to opportunities for all minority entrepreneurs, enhance the quality of life in our communities, help our fellow members build business capacities, and support our members through sharing resources and peer experiences.
  • Diaspora African Women's Network (DAWN)
    DAWN provides its members with special invitations and networking opportunities, job announcements and access to various voices and organizations focused on African affairs. In addition to maintaining an active listserv, DAWNers also host private monthly events , gatherings and dinners for its members in the Washington, DC Metropolitan area.
  • International Association of Black Professionals in International Affairs (BPIA)
    BPIA labors to expand the opportunities, roles and numbers of the African Diaspora and other minorities in international affairs in general, and in professional and leadership positions in the global arena, in particular.
  • TransAfrica Forum
    TransAfrica Forum is the oldest and largest African American human rights and social justice advocacy organization promoting diversity and equity in the foreign policy arena and justice for the African World.
  • Africans in Boston
    Africans in Boston (AiB) works on challenges and meets the needs of the African Diaspora in Massachusetts by:
    -Connecting the African Diaspora with various resources;
    -Strengthening the African constituency in the region and increasing its political stature;
    -Providing Africans and friends of Africans a platform that transcends the cultural, educational, and professional barriers between different African communities.
  • The National African Immigrants and Refugees Health Advocate Program (AIR Health)

HUMAN SECURITY/ HUMAN RIGHTS

  • Human Rights Watch--Africa
    Human Rights Watch is dedicated to protecting the human rights of people around the world. We stand with victims and activists to prevent discrimination, to uphold political freedom, to protect people from inhumane conduct in wartime, and to bring offenders to justice. We investigate and expose human rights violations and hold abusers accountable. We challenge governments and those who hold power to end abusive practices and respect international human rights law.
  • Save Darfur
    They are committed to the goals that the Save Darfur Coalition advocates for, including: * Ending the violence against civilians; * Facilitating adequate and unhindered humanitarian aid; * Establishing conditions for the safe and voluntary return of displaced people to their homes; * Promoting the long-term sustainable development of Darfur; and * Holding the perpetrators accountable.
  • Africare
    Specializes in helping Africa by helping alleviate hunger, building water wells, treating childhood diseases, and supporting social empowerment.
  • Enough Project
    The Enough Project fights to end genocide and crimes against humanity, focused on areas where some of the world’s worst atrocities occur. We get the facts on the ground, use rigorous analysis to determine the most sustainable solutions, influence political leaders to adopt our proposals, and mobilize the American public to demand change.
  • Pathfinder International
    An NGO/lobbying organization that focuses on reproductive and sexual health around the world, with quite a bit of emphasis on the African continent.

Trade and Development (including Technology Transfer)

  • AGOA.info: African Growth and Opportunities Act
    The African Growth and Opportunity Act (AGOA) is a United States Trade Act that significantly enhances U.S. market access for (currently) 39 Sub-Saharan African (SSA) countries
  • Care International Africa Resources
    The CARE Resource Center compiles an extensive number of documents that can be easily found in a user friendly database. This includes CARE policies, fact sheets, and lessons learned on various topics such as advocacy, emergency response, and CARE International work and structure as a whole.
  • The Corporate Council on Africa
    The Corporate Council on Africa (CCA), established in 1993, is at the forefront of strengthening and facilitating the commercial relationship between the United States and the African continent. CCA works closely with governments, multilateral groups and business to improve the African continent's trade and investment climate, and to raise the profile of Africa in the US business community.
  • International Foundation for Education and Self‐Help
    Since 1981, they have been implementing self-help partnership projects focusing on impacting poor and vulnerable populations. They specialize in education systems, health, community development and conflict mitigation. They achieve our goals by working with: • African governments at the local, state and national levels • International donors and U.S. government agencies • Civil society, including local communities and community based organizations • The private sector They currently oper
  • The Leon H. Sullivan Foundation
    The Leon H. Sullivan Foundation empowers underprivileged people worldwide by promoting the principles of self-help and social responsibility. These goals are the articulation of the vision of the Reverend Leon Howard Sullivan. In order to fulfill their mission and in order to take the vision of Leon Sullivan to a higher level of effectiveness and expansion, the Foundation will support and create programs where such principles and ideals are implemented to improve the lives of the vulnerable.
  • Oxfam America
    Oxfam America works on the scene, helping people gain the hope, skills, and direction to create a new future. We are also active in the global arena, addressing social injustice through our advocacy, public education, and emergency assistance programs.
  • The Partnership to Cut Hunger and Poverty in Africa
    The Partnership to Cut Hunger and Poverty in Africa was formed in early 2000 out of concern that the U.S. response to rising hunger and poverty in Africa was increasingly inadequate.
  • US Angolan Chamber of Commerce
    The U.S.-Angola Chamber of Commerce is an independent, non-profit organization dedicated to the promotion of trade and investment between the United States and Angola.
  • The Whitaker Group: Advancing Business in Africa
    The Whitaker Group (TWG) is the premier strategic consulting firm in the US committed to creating sustainable prosperity in Africa. They are a mission-driven organization that believes in the capacity of Africa and her people to meet the challenges of the 21st century. They build partnerships bettheyen people, governments and the private sector to bring trade and investment to Africa. They advocate for greater integration of Africa into the global economy, and they seek innovative and practical
  • World Cocoa Foundation
    Cocoa can be an economic engine in rural areas of the tropics, generating improved incomes and opportunities for farm families and communities. Realizing this potential, however, requires that cocoa farmers receive the knowledge, training and assistance they need to move from economic subsistence to a truly sustainable model that allows them to succeed and prosper. The World Cocoa Foundation promotes economic and social development as well as improved environmental stewardship at the farm level

Institutional Points of Entry for Lobbying – US Government

Help with Research

Profile Image
Connie Reik
Contact Info
Research & Instruction Librarian for the Social Sciences and Government Publications/Information
Tisch Library
617-627-2073
Work Hours w/appt
M, T, Th, F 9ish-5pm; Wed 2pm-9pm
Desk Hours: M 1-3pm, W 5-9p
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip