/**/ Skip to main content

Research Guides@Tufts

Government Publications: United States: Popular Documents

Helpful Hints

Here, listed by title, are well-known and used government publications.

Popular Documents

American Community Survey
U.S. Census Bureau

Budget Publications
Current and back issues.
Print: Tisch Book Stacks HJ 2051 .A59.

Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance
The online Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance provides access to a database of all Federal programs available to State and local governments, etc. and private profit and nonprofit organizations and institutions; specialized groups; and individuals.

Congressional Directory 
The Congressional Directory is the official directory of the U.S. Congress, prepared by the Joint Committee on Printing (JCP). The Congressional Directory presents short biographies of each member of the Senate and House, listed by state or district, and additional data, such as committee memberships, terms of service, administrative assistants and/or secretaries, and room and telephone numbers. It also lists officials of the courts, military establishments, and other Federal departments and agencies, including D.C. government officials, governors of states and territories, foreign diplomats, and members of the press, radio, and television galleries.
Print: Tisch Book Stacks JK 1011

County and City Data Book
Statistical data from the Census Bureau. 2000 & 2007 editions available online.
Selective older ones in the Tisch Book Stacks HA 202 .A36 (1949-2000 )

County and City Data Books 1944 through 2000
From the University of Virginia this service provides the opportunity to create custom printouts and/or customized data subsets (subsets only available for 1988-2000).

Education Statistics at a Glance
Print: Digest of Educational Statistics. Tisch Book Stacks L 112 .D48 (1975- )

Economic Report of the President 1995-
The Economic Report of the President is an annual report written by the Chairman of the Council of Economic Advisors. It overviews the nation's economic progress using text and extensive data appendices. The Economic Report of the President is transmitted to Congress no later than ten days after the submission of the Budget of the United States Government. Current and back issues.
Print: Tisch Book Stacks HC106.5 .A272; 1950-2012.

Crime in the United States (FBI Uniform Crime Reports)
Crime in the United States, Hate Crime Statistics, Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted, and National Incident-Based Reporting System. Current and back issues.
Print: Uniform Crime Reports. Tisch Book Stacks HV 6787 .A3 (1930- ).

North American Industrial Classification System
Print: Latest edition in Reference HF 1042 .N67.

Occupational Outlook Handbook 

Public Papers of the Presidents Print: Tisch Reference J 80 .A28 (1929- ) The Cumulated Indexes to the Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States, . Ref J 82 .
Other places online at: American Presidency Project
and at: University of Michigan Digital Library

Social Security Handbook

State and County QuickFacts

U.S. Government Manual  1996-
Print: Tisch Books Stacks JK 421 .A3 (1936- )

USPS - Zip Code Lookup

Subject Guide

Connie Reik's picture
Connie Reik
Contact:
Humanities Research & Instruction Librarian and Government Information Coordinator
Tisch Library
Appointment Hours:
M-F 10-5pm
Connie.Reik@tufts.edu
617-627-2073