Specialized subject encyclopedias are a great way to get an overview of your topic, perhaps get citations to relevant works to get you started looking for books.
These are just some of the most relevant for this class. Be sure to browse the shelves in the Reference Collection. You can also find some online, be sure to add (encyclopedia* or dictionar*) to your keyword search!
Specialized Reference Materials & Biographical Information
The Oxford African American Studies Center is a comprehensive collection of scholarship available online to focus on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture. Includes maps, timelines, charts and tables!
African American Music Reference, a resource under development, brings together reference texts, biographies, chronologies, sheet music, images, lyrics, liner notes, and discographies which chronicle the diverse history and culture of the African American experience through music. Coverage includes blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of black American musical expression.
Civil Rights Encyclopedias
The Encyclopedia of Civil Rights in America
Print: 3 vols. Ref E 185.61 .E544 1998
Civil Rights in the United States
Print: 2 vols. Ref E 184.A1 C47 2000
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of African American Civil Rights: from Emancipation to the Twenty-First Century
Print: 2 vols. Ref E 185.61 .E54 2003
The Encyclopedia of New England: the Culture and History of an American Region