For more Primary Sources
See this guide for more general collections on the Civil Rights Movement
FBI Papers
- FBI Papers on the Black PanthersReport the investigation of the Winston Salem, North Carolina, chapter of the Black Panther Party
- FBI Papers on Malcom XThe FBI investigated Malcom X to verify communist influence.
- FBI Papers on Stokely CarmichaelThe FBI investigated Stokely Carmichael to verify communist influence.
- FBI Papers on Civil RightsIncludes other individuals involved in the Civil Rights movement.
Historic American Government Publications
- Historical Publications of the United States Commission on Civil RightsUniversity of Maryland School of Law. Thurgood Marshall Law Library
- Public Documents Masterfile1789 -
An electronic guide to federal, state, local and international public documents, spanning over 200 years of publication, in a single searchable database. For Tufts users only. - US Congressional Serial Set 1817-1994Digitized reports, documents and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives, and executive branch/agency publications.
- Congressional Record (various titles) 1789- .Part of ProQuest Congressional.
- Avalon Project at the Yale Law SchoolA digital library of pre-18th to 20th century documents relevant to the fields of law, history, economics, politics, diplomacy and government, with annotations, indexes, and links to supporting materials.
Black Panther Collections
- Malcolm X : A Research SitePhotos, speeches, documents, and references to numerous books and websites. (Abdul Alkalimat, Department of African American Studies, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign)
- Black Panthers - Digital CollectionsFrom Michigan State University Libraries - Digital and Multimedia Center.Includes documents such as books, pamphlets, periodicals, posters, and ephemera. Part of the American Radicalism collection.
- Seattle Black Panther Party History and Memory ProjectSpecial sections of Seattle Civil Rights and Labor History Project based at the University of Washington
- UC Berkeley Library Social Activism Sound Recording Project: Black PanthersPrimary source media resources relating to the Black Panther party in California in the 1960's and 1970's. Includes Pacifica Radio audio files.
- BlackPanther.orgCreated by the Huey P. Newton Foundation
- Black Panther Party Legacy & Alumni - It's About Time...This site contains photos, articles, chapter histories and memorabilia from the Black Panther Party.
African-American Newspapers & Periodicals
African-American Newspapers, 1827-1998
The titles in this collection will complement those below, the ones below are not included in this collection, however.
The Crisis, founded by W.E.B. Du Bois as the official publication of the NAACP.
1910 to the present are available to search.
Tisch does not own the titles below, you will need to request them on Interlibrary Loan or go to the library owning them.
Black Panther v. 5 (1970)-v. 20: no. 9 (1980: Sept.) Available at the Boston Public Library! Call number: AP2.B612; Worcester Public Library also has it, 1968-1970 Contained in Underground Newspaper Collection reels 5,16,42
Muhammad Speaks Vol. 1, [no. 1] (Oct./Nov. 1961)-v. 15, no. 8 (Oct. 31, 1975) BPL Central - Newspapers and in Microtext; Call number for both: E185.61.M953
Bilalian News "Muhammad speaks" is superimposed on "Bilalian news" on masthead, Nov. 7, 1975. Vol. 15, no. 9 (Nov. 7, 1975)-v. 6, no. 52 (Oct. 30, 1981). BPL - Rivermoor Offsite Storage
Los Angeles Sentinel 1969- at Boston College O'Neill Library Microforms
African-American Collections
- Oxford African American Studies CenterThe Oxford African American Studies Center is a comprehensive collection of scholarship available online to focus on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture.
- NAACP: A Century in the Fight for FreedomThe slideshow on the homepage has half a dozen or so slides that comprise the themes of the exhibit, such as "The New Negro Movement", "The Civil Rights Era", and a "Renewal of the Struggle".
- NAACP: A Century in the Fight for FreedomOnline Exhibitions from the Library of Congress tracing this organization from 1900-2000.
Newspapers & Periodicals
- The Afro-American (Baltimore, Md. : Afro-American Co.)Print: Jan. 1969-Dec. 1985
On microfilm Tisch Microforms MFR117
Boston Public Library has it back to 1915 (Microtext Room E185.5.A43) - The Afro-American (1902-1992)Google News Archive
- Historical African American Newspapers Available OnlineA guide by Elizabeth Clarke from Marist College, James A. Cannavino Library
- Alt-PressWatch1970 to the present.
Contains full-text articles from magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press.
- Alternative Press IndexAn index to the publications which amplify the Cry for Social Change and Social Justice
Print: 1969-2001 Tisch Reference Indexes [GEN] AI3 .A27
Indexes The Black Panther newspaper and other radical periodicals that might have articles on them.
Doesn't necessarily cover the same titles as the electronic index above.
- Ethnic NewsWatch1960 to the present
Indexes newspapers and periodicals from the ethnic, minority and African-American press. Includes Sun Reporter (San Francisco, Calif) (1968-1979) and Bay State Banner (Boston, Mass) (1965-1979)
- The Southern CourierCovering Civil Rights in the South 1965-68. "From the start, The Southern Courier recruited and maintained a bi-racial staff committed to reporting and disseminating the news in a professional and objective manner."
- New York Times. 1851-three years before current date.Includes full-text and full-image articles dating back to the first issue of the NYT in 1851; the collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue--cover to cover--in downloadable PDF(r) files.
- Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982Readers' Guide Retrospective contains indexing of over 600 titles between 1890 and 1992.
- Readers' Guide Full Text MegaReaders' Guide Full Text is a database containing comprehensive indexing and abstracting of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and Canada, plus the full text of selected periodicals.
- The Nation. July 1865- .The Nation Digital Archive provides full access to the complete backfile of the oldest continuously published weekly journal in America; it includes every article, editorial, poem, puzzle, and review since publication began on July 6th, 1865.
- PAIS International1915 to the present
A selective list of government publications, books, pamphlets, reports of public and private agencies, and periodical articles relating to economic and social conditions, public policy and administration, and international relations. - The Boston Globe. 1916- .Tisch Microforms MFR30.
Some copyright information and photographs may not be available in the electronic version. - The Crisis (Official publication of the NAACP)Issues available from 1910 to the present. Search all issues!
Speeches
- American Rhetoric: Stokely Carmichael - Black PowerAudio & Text of Stokely Carmichael's speech delivered October 1966, Berkeley, CA
- Malcolm X: The Ballot or the BulletText of April 3, 1964, Cleveland, Ohio speech
Search for Archive Collections
Unless the collection is online, you will need to make sure the collection is somewhere you can actually go to. Harvard- special letters can be written to use Harvard collections. Make sure by searching WorldCat that they are not available anywhere else in the Boston area. Letters are available at the Reference Desk to write you a letter to ask for permission to get into their libraries, they doesn't mean they will!
- Archive GridA database of archival collection descriptions: historical documents, personal papers, etc. held in thousands of libraries, museums, and archives.
- Archive FinderInformation about primary source materials from U.S. manuscript repositories, with detailed indexes of manuscript and other special collections.
Includes ArchivesUSA and NIDS UK/Ireland.
Civil Rights Collections
- Civil Rights Digital LibraryFrom the Digital Library of Georgia.
"The Civil Rights Digital Library (CRDL) is the most ambitious and comprehensive initiative to date to deliver educational content on the Civil Rights Movement via the Web." - Civil Rights in Mississippi Digital ArchiveThe Civil Rights in Mississippi Digital Archive is an Internet-accessible, fully searchable database of digitized versions of rare and unique library and archival resources on race relations in Mississippi.
- Television News of the Civil Rights EraUniversity of Virginia Library. Virginia Center for Digital History. “An archive containing film footage from the nightly news from two local television stations in Virginia. Included are clips of Martin Luther King, John F. Kennedy, Richard M. Nixon, the governors of the Commonwealth of Virginia, as well as segments documenting school desegregation, public meetings, local debates over civil rights matters, and interviews with citizens.”
- SNCC 1960-1966: Six years of the Student Nonviolent Coordinating CommitteeBlack Power was the guiding philosophy of SNCC in its later years. It began to develop and take hold sometime after 1964, and came to prominence in 1966 when Stokely Charmicael became head of the organization.
- The March On Milwaukee Civil Rights History ProjectThis digital collection presents primary sources from the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee Libraries and the Wisconsin Historical Society that provide a window onto Milwaukee’s civil rights history.
- State of Siege: Mississippi Whites and the Civil Rights Movement - American RadioWorksFrom America Public Media
- Rochester Black Freedom Struggle Online ProjectThe University of Rochester Libraries has created this fine online project to bring together organizational papers, images, oral histories, and ephemera related to Rochester's black freedom experience in the 1960s and 1970s. Visitors can click on the "Oral Histories" area to look over and listen to snippets from some of the interviews conducted in 2008, including talks with police officers, businessman, and local religious leaders. This section also contains several introductory essays that prov
- Land of (Un)Equal Opportunity: Doucmenting the Civil Rights Struggle in Arkansaa“Land of (Unequal) Opportunity: Documenting the Civil Rights Struggle in Arkansas” is an attempt to compile in one on-line resource a variety of records and photographs that document the history of civil rights in the state. A central focus of the project is to insure that both documents and illustrations were included, in the belief that photographs, cartoons, drawings, etc., are also important research tools.
Microfilm Collections
- Papers of the NAACP: Part 1: Meetings of the Board of Directors, Records of Annual Conferences, Major Speeches, and Special Reports, 1909-195028 microfilm reels. Tisch Microforms MFR236
Guide: Tisch Ref E 184.6 .N382 1982 - Papers of the NAACP: Part 2 Personal Correspondence of Selected NAACP Officials,1919-193920 microfilm reels. Tisch Microforms MFR282
Guide: Tisch Ref E 184.6 .N384 1982 - The Martin Luther King, Jr. Pt. 1. FBI File25 microfilm reels. Tisch Microforms MFR290
Guide: Tisch Ref E 185.97.K5 M35 1984 - The Black Power Movement. Part 1, Amiri Baraka from Black arts to Black RadicalismAmiri Baraka is a "prolific and influential African American writers of the 20th century."
9 microfilm reels. Tisch Microforms MFR529.
Guide: Tisch Ref E 185.615 .B552 2001
