Health Data and Statistics

Includes national health care indicators and expenditures (aggregate national health care spending); Medicare enrollment (aged, disabled, all), utilization, and expenditure; DRG data for short-stay hospitals; Medicare Chartbook; Data Compendium (Annual compilation of national health care data); Medicaid data.

Compiled by the U.S. Bureau of the Census. Site links to Current Population Survey reports and tables, including health insurance coverage, children's health insurance, low-income uninsured children by state, and detailed historical tables (1987- ).

"The Mapping Medicare Disparities (MMD) Tool contains health outcome measures for disease prevalence, costs, and hospitalization for 18 specific chronic conditions, emergency department utilization, readmissions rates, mortality and preventable hospitalizations. The MMD Tool provides a user friendly way to explore and better understand disparities in chronic diseases, and allows users to: 1) visualize health outcome measures at a national, state, or county level; 2) explore health outcome measures by age, race and ethnicity, gender; 3) compare differences between two geographic locations (e.g., benchmark against the national average); and 4) compare differences between two racial and ethnic groups within the same geographic area."

Produced by the Kaiser Family Foundation.

The private research firm Merritt Hawkins & Associates conducted a large survey of major metropolitan areas and wait times for different specialties and their Medicaid/Medicare acceptance rates.

Provides ongoing statistical data and research analyses of the old-age, survivors, and disability insurance (OASDI) and Supplemental Security Income (SSI) programs.

Contains plan-specific information on clinical performance, accreditation and member satisfaction from 273 organizations, collectively covering some 63.3 million lives, that voluntarily submitted their performance results to the National Committee for Quality Assurance (NCQA) . Includes national, regional and state averages, as well as benchmarks, on specific measures of care and service.

Produced by the Kaiser Family Foundation. Includes data on topics related to the uninsured.

Produced by the Dartmouth Institute, the "Dartmouth Atlas Project has documented glaring variations in how medical resources are distributed and used in the United States. The project uses Medicare data to provide information and analysis about national, regional, and local markets, as well as hospitals and their affiliated physicians. This research has helped policymakers, the media, health care analysts and others improve their understanding of our health care system and forms the foundation for many of the ongoing efforts to improve health and health systems across America."

Includes national health care indicators and expenditures (aggregate national health care spending); Medicare enrollment (aged, disabled, all), utilization, and expenditure; DRG data for short-stay hospitals; Medicare Chartbook; Data Compendium (Annual compilation of national health care data); Medicaid data.

A set of large-scale surveys of families and individuals, their medical providers, and employers across the United States. MEPS is the most complete source of data on the cost and use of health care and health insurance coverage.

A compilation of studies compiled by the American Academy of Family Practice related to primary care. Includes Distribution of Family Physicians, Office Practice and Family Physicians, National Ambulatory Medical Care Survey, Diagnostic Procedures or Laboratory Services Offered by Family Physicians in the Ambulatory Setting, Hospital Privileges and Family Physicians, Economic Status of Family Physicians, Medical Status of Family Physicians, Graduate Medical Education, Continuing Medical Education for Family Physicians, Family Practice Organizations.

Kaiser Family Foundation provides data related to dentists, physicians and non-physicians (nurses and physician assistants) for both the United States as well as for individual states.

Produced by the National Association for Home Care & Hospice, "[this data book]...summarizes and analyzes statistics on home health from a range of government sources, including the Medicare Current Beneficiary Survey, Bureau of Labor Statistics, the U.S. Department of Commerce, Medicare Cost Reports, Home Health Compare, Medicare fee-for-service claims, and other data from the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services."

Includes hospital revenue data derived from Medicare Cost Reports and info on number of staffed beds, discharges.

Access to data-sets regarding hospitals, nursing homes, dialysis facilities, and home health agencies. Compiled by the Center for Medicaid and Medicare Services.

Compiled by the Dartmouth Institute, this site presents hospital data on the following: Hospital Care Intensity (End of Life Care), Medicare Reimbursements (End of Life Care), Resource Inputs (End of Life Care), Patient Experience (End of Life Care), and Post-Acute Care

Data is produced by the National Hospice and Palliative Care Organization (NHPCO), "the largest nonprofit membership organization representing hospice and palliative care programs and professionals in the United States."

Produced by the American Hospital Association (AHA).

U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality's health statistics and information on hospital stays at the national, regional, and state level.

Information produced by the Massachusetts Division of Health Care Finance & Policy includes annual and quarterly reports with aggregate data and individual hospital fact sheets, for Massachusetts hospitals.

Conducted by National Center for Health Statistics, the survey provides information on characteristics of inpatients discharged from non-Federal short-stay hospitals in the US.

Primary purpose of this tool is to provide detailed information about the past performance of every Medicare and Medicaid certified nursing home in the country. Compiled by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services.

Requires that you create an account. Presents “fair price” for procedures according to zip code. Some things to consider:
- “[Fair price] represents a fair price to pay for a service or product when the patient is paying cash at the time of treatment. It represents a payment amount that many high-quality providers accept from insurance companies as payment in full, and it is usually less than the stated "billed charges" amount.”
- Information is compiled from “provider surveys, employers and medical data warehouse”.
- Site is "free"(paid for by advertising).
- Information is most appropriate for “cash-paying” patients

The National Hospital Discharge Survey contains data on: Number and rate of hospital discharges; Average length of stay and days of care; First-listed diagnoses by selected patient characteristics; Procedures by selected patient characteristics; Hospital inpatient deaths; and Expected source of payment.

The National Ambulatory Medical Care Survey and the National Hospital Ambulatory Medical Care Survey contains data on: Physician Office Visits; Community Health Center Visits; Hospital Outpatient Department Visits; and Hospital Emergency Department.

Contains reports prepared by the Massachusetts' Center for Health Information and Analysis.

Compiled by the Center for Health Information and Analysis (CHIA), this site provided relative health care price analytics for the state of Massachusetts. It also provides analyses for the differences in relative prices among hospitals with various characteristics.