Skip to main content

Research Guides@Tufts

Finding Images and Audio

General/Interdisciplinary Image Finders

Britannica Image Quest
More than two million rights-cleared images from some 40 image collections. Complete metadata, which includes the source, copyright holder, caption, and keywords, is provided for every image.

Digital Images Collection Guide
A curated bibliography of quality image collections. Sponsored by the American Library Association.

Google Image Search
Harness the power of Google while filtering usage rights of photo. See also Google LIFE Photo Archive for millions of photos from the LIFE photo archive, from the 1750s to today.

Images from the History of Medicine (National Library of Medicine)

Library of Congress American Memory Project
Free and open access to images that document the American experience.

New York Public Library Picture Collection   |  Digital Collections

Smithsonian Collection
Browse or search through selected images from the Collections of the Office of Imaging and Photographic Services. Included are images from current exhibits, Smithsonian events and historic collections.

Wellcome Images
Images span science, medicine,social sciences and include manuscripts, paintings, etchings, early photography and advertisements. Every image is being released under the Creative Commons Attribution (CC-BY) license. These images can be used for educational, commercial or personal purposes, with an acknowledgement of the original source (Wellcome Library, London).

Wikimedia Commons
A growing database of millions of mostly freely-useable media files.

Science/Engineering/Technology Image Finders

CDC Public Health Image Library (PHIL)
Created by a Working Group at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), the PHIL offers an organized gateway to CDC's pictures for public health professionals, laboratory scientists, educators and students to use for reference, teaching and presentations.

Science.gov Image Search Select Multimedia to scientific images from the Library of Congress, NASA, NOAA, USDA, USGS and many other sources.

The Why Files: Cool Science Images Find a huge selection of science images here, including images from astronomy, biology, environmental science, health, physical science, and technology. Based at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, The Why Files covers science at all institutions that engage in scientific exploration and discovery.

Social Sciences Image Finders

Early Encounters in North America
An expanding source of letters, diaries and other accounts of early encounters between Europeans and Native Americans from the mid-1600s through the mid 1800s. The images can be searched by artist, title, subject, color, medium, type, etc.

Digital South Asia Library
Historical maps, collections of photographs, and statistics relating to the Indian subcontinent.

Women and Social Movements in the United States
Movements ranging from the Women's Suffrage Movement to the Guerrilla Girls.

Finding Images in Books

Keyword search in the Tufts Libraries Catalog

To improve your search, include some typical keywords such as "pictorial works," "photograph," "exhibitions," etc. in your search. See the following examples:

Advanced Keyword Search in the Tufts Libraries Catalog

Material Type:

Search Results

Material Type:

Search Results

Humanities/Arts Image Finders

ARTstor (more information)
More than one million images with contributions from outstanding museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates from all over the world.

Artifact
Thousands of images used in art history courses at Tufts.

Art Project
Museums from around the world by Google

Oxford Art Online

Index of Christian Art

ArtCyclopedia
A listing of art museums worldwide

International Architecture Database

American Landscape and Architectural Design, 1850-1920

John Johnson Collection: An Archive of Printed Ephemera (includes historical playbills)

Fashion Resources: Clothing and Costume History (Kent State University fashion library)

Library of Congress Performing Arts Encyclopedia