Books in JumboSearch
You can limit your JumboSearch results to include only books by selecting Books under the heading marked Resource Type on the left side of the results page.
Find Books in JumboSearch
Want to discover the books that Tisch Library has on your topic? Search by keyword, subject, or author/creator in JumboSearch, which simultaneously searches across all of the library's resources, including both print and eBooks. After you've entered your search terms, use the resource type limiter on the left side of the page to select Books.
Books Beyond Tufts
To locate books in other libraries when we either don't own them or our copy is checked out, use BLC WorldCat. Once you've found the book you want, use the BLC request form or ILLiad to request the book be delivered to Tisch. The book will be delivered to the Tisch Library circulation desk, within 2 to 5 days, and you will be notified via email on its arrival. There is no charge for this service.
Search Tips
You can search for books about museums in the library catalog in several ways:
Keyword searching
1. Use your own words to describe your topic:
- Museums and history (note that while this search will result in books about the history of museums it will also retrieve books about history museums.)
- Museums and audiences
- Technology and museums
2. Consider other words and phrases that express similar ideas. For the idea of museums, you could also use galleries, collections, archives, etc. The idea of audience can also be expressed with patrons, visitors, social aspects, etc.
3. To use more than one synonym at a time, group them together within parentheses:
- Museums and (audiences or patrons or visitors) and social aspects
4. Use an asterisk (*) to account for variant word endings. For example, a search for visit* will return records for books that include visit, visitor, visiting, etc. Use the asterisk wisely: a search for art* will return records for books that include artesian, artery, artisitic, etc.
Subject searching
Using Library of Congress subject headings, if you know them, is another method to search for a particular subject. Some examples of subject searches are:
- Museum visitors
- Museums -- educational aspects
- Museums -- social aspects
- Science museums
Browsing
Most books on museums can be found in the AM call number range on Level 1. Some, however, which emphasize a particular aspect of museums, will be found elsewhere. For example most of our books about historical museums will be found in the E call number range, along with the majority of the history books. Likewise, most of the books about zoos will be found in the Vet School library.
Books from the Library Catalog
Tisch Library has a wide array of books relevant to museum studies in its collection. Below is a sample of some of the resources that you can find but remember, this is only a sample, so use JumboSearch to find more or Ask a Librarian for help!
Programming for People with Special Needs by
Programming for People with Special Needs: A Guide for Museums and Historic Sites will help museums and historic sites become truly inclusive educational experiences. The book is unique because it covers education and inclusion for those with both intellectual and learning disabilities. The book features the seven key components of creating effective programming for people with special needs, especially elementary and secondary students with intellectual disabilities: .Sensitivity and awareness training .Planning and communication .Timing .Engagement and social/life skills .Object-centered and inquiry-based programs .Structure .Flexibility In addition, this book features and discusses programs such as the Museum of Modern Art s Meet Me program and ones for children with autism at the Transit Museum in Brooklyn as models for other organizations to adapt for their use. Its focus on visitors of all ages who have cognitive or intellectual disabilities or special needs makes this title essential for all museum and historic site professionals, especially educators or administrators, but also for museum studies students and those interested in informal education."
Call Number: Tisch Book Stacks AM160 .S77 2014Publication Date: 2014
Interpreting Native American History and Culture at Museums and Historic Sites by
Interpreting Native American History and Culture at Museums and Historic Sites features ideas and suggested best practices for the staff and board of museums that care for collections of Native material culture, and who work with Native American culture, history, and communities. This resource gives museum and history professionals benchmarks to help shape conversations and policies designed to improve relations with Native communities represented in the museum. The book includes case studies from museums that are purposefully working to incorporate Native people and perspectives into all aspects of their work. The case study authors share experiences, hoping to inspire other museum staff to reach out to tribes to develop or improve their own interpretative processes. Examples from tribal and non-tribal museums, and partnerships between tribes and museums are explored as models for creating deep and long lasting partnerships between museums and the tribal communities they represent. The case studies represent museums of different sizes, different missions, and located in different regions of the country in an effort to address the unique history of each location. By doing so, it inspires action among museums to invite Native people to share in the interpretive process, or to take existing relationships further by sharing authority with museum staff and board.
Call Number: Tisch Book Stacks E 76.85 .B46 2014Publication Date: 2014
Museums at Play by
"Museums at Play" provides an extraordinary and comprehensive international overview of the development, use and evaluation of games within museum and cultural contexts, through more than 40 detailed case studies.
Call Number: Tisch Book Stacks AM 7 .M8832 2011Publication Date: 2011- Museums, Libraries, and 21st Century Skills by Museums and libraries in the 21st century : new contexts -- Economy -- Society and learning -- Audience expectations -- 21st century skills action agenda : six steps to build momentum -- Implications of this report -- Self-assessment tool for museums, libraries, and 21st century skills -- Appendix A: Skills definitions -- Learning and innovation skills -- Information, media, and technology skills -- 21st century themes -- Life and career skills -- Appendix B: Case studies -- Case study: Good to Grow initiative -- Case study: Maine Memory Network -- Case study: Miami-Dade Public Library -- The Pueblo of Pojoaque Public Library, Raising Readers Program -- Case study: Philadelphia Museum of Art -- Case study: Skokie Public Library -- Case study: New York Hall of Science -- Appendix C: Task force and vetting sessions.Publication Date: Washington, DC : Institute of Museum and Library Services, 2009.
Engaging Young Children in Museums by
What does a museum do with a kindergartener who walks through the door? The growth of interest in young children learning in museums has joined the national conversation on early childhood education. This is the first book for museum professionals that focuses on this intersection. Written by the founding Executive Director of the innovative Smithsonian Early Enrichment Center, this concise volume provides essential guidance for museum professionals to plan programming for young children. Sharon E. Shaffer explains the various ways in which children learn, then shows how to use this knowledge to design effective programs using a variety of teaching models. Replete with examples of successful programs and tested activities to employ in your institution, Shaffer presents a set of best practices for developing early childhood learning programs. What does a museum do with a kindergartner who walks through the door? The growth of interest in young children learning in museums has joined the national conversation on early childhood education. Written by Sharon Shaffer, the founding Executive Director of the innovative Smithsonian Early Enrichment Center, this is the first book for museum professionals as well as students offering guidance on planning programming for young children. This groundbreaking book: • Explains the various ways in which children learn • Shows how to use this knowledge to design effective programs using a variety of teaching models • Includes examples of successful programs, tested activities, and a set of best practices Learn more about the book directly from author Sharon Shaffer at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lD7ls9cwYiA.
Call Number: Tisch Book Stacks AM 7 .S433 2014Publication Date: 2015- Growing Young Minds: How Museums and Libraries Create Lifelong LearnersPublication Date: Washington DC : Institute of Museum and Library Services, 2013.
Collecting the New by
Collecting the New is the first book on the questions and challenges that museums face in acquiring and preserving contemporary art. Because such art has not yet withstood the test of time, it defies the traditional understanding of the art museum as an institution that collects and displays works of long-established aesthetic and historical value. By acquiring such art, museums gamble on the future. In addition, new technologies and alternative conceptions of the artwork have created special problems of conservation, while social, political, and aesthetic changes have generated new categories of works to be collected. Following Bruce Altshuler's introduction on the European and American history of museum collecting of art by living artists, the book comprises newly commissioned essays by twelve distinguished curators representing a wide range of museums. First considered are general issues including the acquisition process, and collecting by universal survey museums and museums that focus on modern and contemporary art. Following are groups of essays that address collecting in particular media, including prints and drawings, new (digital) media, and film and video; and national- and ethnic-specific collecting (contemporary art from Asia, Africa, and Latin America, and African-American art). The closing essay examines the conservation problems created by contemporary works--for example, what is to be done when deterioration is the artist's intent? The contributors are Christophe Cherix, Vishakha N. Desai, Steve Dietz, Howard N. Fox, Chrissie Iles and Henriette Huldisch, Pamela McClusky, Gabriel Pérez-Barreiro, Lowery Stokes Sims, Robert Storr, Jeffrey Weiss, and Glenn Wharton.
Call Number: Tisch Oversize N 6486 .C65 2005Publication Date: 2005
Extreme Collecting by
By exploring the processes of collecting, which challenge the bounds of normally acceptable practice, this book debates the practice of collecting 'difficult' objects, from a historical and contemporary perspective; and discusses the acquisition of objects related to war and genocide, and those purchased from the internet, as well as considering human remains, mass produced objects and illicitly traded antiquities. The aim is to apply a critical approach to the rigidity of museums in maintaining essentially nineteenth-century ideas of collecting; and to move towards identifying priorities for collection policies in museums, which are inclusive of acquiring 'difficult' objects. Much of the book engages with the question of the limits to the practice of collecting as a means to think through the implementation of new strategies.
Call Number: Tisch Book Stacks AM 135 .E87 2012Publication Date: 2012
Teaching in the Art Museum by
At the heart of all good art museum teaching is an effort to bring people and artworks together in meaningful ways. But what constitutes an experience of a work of art? What should be taught and why? What kinds of uniquely valuable experiences are museum educators alone equipped to provide? This book--unlike any other publication currently available--addresses these and myriad other questions and investigates the mission, history, theory, practice, and future prospects of museum education. Every critical issue that has preoccupied the profession throughout its hundred-year history is considered, including lecture- versus conversation-based formats; the place of information in gallery teaching; the relation of art museum teaching to the disciplines of art history, curation, and conservation; the use of questions to stimulate discussion; and the role of playfulness, self-awareness, and institutional context in constructing the visitor's experience. The book will prove invaluable for all professional museum educators and volunteer docents as well as museum studies students, art and art history teachers, curators, and museum administrators. The essays distill the authors' decades of experience as practitioners and observers of gallery teaching across the United States and abroad. They offer a range of perspectives on which everyone involved with art museum education may reflect and in so doing, encourage education to take its proper place at the center of the twenty-first century art museum.
Call Number: Tisch Oversize N 430 .B86 2011Publication Date: 2011
Unpacking the Collection by
Museum collections are often perceived as static entities hidden away in storerooms or trapped behind glass cases. By focusing on the dynamic histories of museum collections, new research reveals their pivotal role in shaping a wide range of social relations. Over time and across space the interactions between these artefacts and the people and institutions who made, traded, collected, researched and exhibited them have generated complex networks of material and social agency. In this innovative volume, the contributors draw on a broad range of source materials to explore the cross-cultural interactions which have created museum collections. These case studies contribute significantly to the development of new theoretical frameworks to examine broader questions of materiality, agency, and identity in the past and present. Grounded in case studies from individual objects and museum collections from North America, Europe, Africa, the Pacific Islands, and Australia, this truly international volume juxtaposes historical, geographical, and cross-cultural studies. This work will be of great interest to archaeologists and anthropologists studying material culture, as well as researchers in museum studies and cultural heritage management.
Publication Date: 2011
