Facts & Background Information
* NOTE Look for more sources in the research guides for other literary disciplines: English, Romance Literature, Film, etc.
Dictionary of Literary Biography
The first stop in searching for information about an author or dramatist's career and works.
Finding Books & Plays
Worldcat
Catalog records from thousands of North American libraries.
DIGITAL BOOKS - AT TUFTS
See Digital Texts at Tufts - Ancient, Medieval, and Modern
DIGITAL BOOKS - ON THE WEB
University of Virginia Electronic Text Center
PLAYS
An index to plays in anthologies. Individual plays and playwrights also may be searched in the Tufts catalog and Worldcat by author and title.
LETTERS, MEMOIRS, BIOGRAPHY, ETC.
Search the Tufts catalog and Worldcat by author, personal name subject, names of literary movements or groups as keywords.
Finding Theater Criticism & Journal Articles
Look for "Find it @ Tufts" in article citations from most periodical indexes.
ESSENTIAL
International Index to the Performing Arts 1998 -
Indexes more than 200 scholarly and popular periodicals in dance, theater, film, and television, from 1998 to the present, with expanding retrospective coverage of some titles.
Modern Language Bibliography (MLA). 1963 -
Index to scholarly journals in literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Includes access to books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies. Updated monthly. Published by the Modern Language Association of America.
THEATER REVIEWS
LexisNexis
From June 1, 1980 through current, full text of the Final New York City Edition; from January 1, 1969 - May 31, 1980 (abstracts). LexisNexis contains many American and foreign newspapers, and is a good source for current coverage of regional theater.
New York Times Historical Archive 1851-three years before current date
Includes full-text and full-image articles dating back to the first issue of the NYT in 1851; the collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue--cover to cover—in downloadable PDF(r) files.
New York Theatre Critics Reviews
[PRINT. Tisch Reference PN1601 .N4]
Complete reviews from popular media sources from 1944 to 1994. Continued by National Theatre Critics
Reviews [PRINT. Tisch Reference PN 2000 .N3].
Theatre Record 1985-
[PRINT. Tisch Bound Periodicals PN2596 .L6 L66]
Presents cast and production details for London’s West
End and fringe shows, and reviews from many British
daily and
weekly drama critics.
SPECIAL TOPICS
World Shakespeare Bibliography Online 1971 -
Provides annotated entries for all important books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, audiovisual materials, electronic media, and other scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare and published or produced since 1971.
Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI). 1970-
Scholarship on Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin,
the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United
States. Coverage from 1970 to the present. Many citations
are linked to full-text.
International
Medieval Bibliography. Brepols, 1967-
An international index to medieval topics (400-1500) in literature, language,
history, archaeology, art, music, theater, Arabic and Islamic studies, and religion
and philosophy. IMB covers 4,500 journals and over 5,000 miscellany volumes in
30 languages.
Iter
An index of interdisciplinary journal literature on the Middle
Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Includes citations for articles,
books, bibliographies, catalogs, abstracts, and discographies.
Film and Television Literature Index
Covers over 300 journal and magazine titles for film and television reviews, scholarly and critical analysis of cinema and television, and articles of popular interest about film and television. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. Some full text is available.
SEARCHING FURTHER
Expanded
Academic ASAP

Articles from more than 1,500 scholarly, trade, and general-interest
publications. Coverage
is from 1980 to present. Some full text is
available.
Arts & Humanities
Citation Index. Institute for Scientific
Information, 1974-

Provides author, subject and citation access to journal articles
and book reviews in the arts and humanities. Coverage from 1974.
General
Reference Center 1980-

Use this general-interest database to search magazines, reference
books, and newspapers for information on current events, popular
culture, the arts and sciences, sports, etc.
For more on how to find articles, see Database Searching Tips (also available in PDF).
Other Research Tools
Libraries and archives
ArchivesUSA

Find manuscripts and other special
collections in American repositories.
A database of archival collection descriptions: historical documents, personal papers, etc. held in thousands of libraries, museums, and archives.
ARTstor
ARTstor is an image database of architecture, painting, photography, sculpture, decorative arts and design, and
archaeological and anthropological objects--with associated catalog data--from many major collections. Users are
able to register themselves via the tools in the ARTstor Library. Faculty who want the higher level of access
that allows them to create folders to share Image Groups with students or colleagues need to upgrade their user
accounts by selecting "Instructor Privileges Manager" from the "Tools" toolbar menu. When registering for
Instructor Privileges, users will be prompted to obtain the required authorization code and password from
their local ARTstor administrator. Faculty should call the reference desk at 617-627-3460 to obtain the code and password.
Over 3 million images of news events covered by the Associated Press over the last 150 years. Images may be downloaded and used for educational purposes only.
Search millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, dating from the 1750s to the present. Most were never published and are now available for the first time through the joint work of LIFE and Google.
*See also the research guide for Finding Images Online.
Websites
Tufts Department of Drama and Dance
Voice of the Shuttle: Drama, Theater, & Performance Art Studies
The Worldwide Wide Web Virtual Library: Theatre and Drama
A collection of multicultural and multilingual theatre links.
Playbill On-line
History of Costume
Costume Page
Didaskalia: Ancient Theatre Today
The latest developments in Greek and Roman drama, dance, and music as they are performed today. Includes full-text access to the journal of the same name.
College Theatre Guide
Association for Theatre in Higher Education
Complete Works of William Shakespeare
Mr. William Shakespeare and the Internet
Help With Research
Links: Profile & Guides |
Collections Librarian for Drama & Dance
Contact Info Humanities Bibliographer & Coordinator of Special Collections Tisch Library Tufts University Medford, MA 02155 Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |



Loading...
