DCSIMG
Comparison Matrix
Creating BibliographiesCreating ReferencesFAQs, Support, & TrainingImporting Instructions
Creating BibliographiesCreating ReferencesFAQs, Help, & Training
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Tisch Library Ginn Library Hirch Health Sciences Library Webster Veterinary Library Digital Collections and Archives

Admin Sign In 

Citing Sources  Tags: apa mla chicago turabian refworks endnote  

Information on the major citation sources and on citation managers, such as RefWorks and EndNote.
Last update: Nov 15th, 2009 URL: http://researchguides.library.tufts.edu/CitingSources  Print Guide  RSS Updates

MLA Style            Print Page
  
 

What is MLA Style?

MLA Style

Citation style from the Modern Language Association. For the study of literature and language; used in English, Foreign Languages, Linguistics, American Studies, and related fields in the Humanities.

Features: In-text parenthetical citations of author and page number: (Smith 123).  Endnotes or footnotes may be used to add supplementary bibliographic data or commentary. MLA style prefers endnotes over footnotes.

Citation Manuals:
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers - "The MLA Handbook is the association's guide for high school and undergraduate students on the preparation of research papers."
MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing - "The MLA Style Manual is the association's guide for graduate students, scholars, and professional writers."

 

Citation Examples: Books

Note: Examples below are based on the 2009 MLA update. 

BOOKS

Example
Lastname, Firstname. Title of Book. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year.

Single author
Howard, Brett. Boston, a Social History. New York: Hawthorn, 1976.

Two or three authors
Gilbert, Sandra M. and Susan Gubar. The Madwoman in the Attic: the Woman Writer
     and the Nineteenth-Century Literary Imagination
. New Haven: Yale UP, 1979.

Editor or compiler as author
Monson, Ingrid, ed. The African Diaspora: a Musical Perspective. New York: Garland,
    2000.

Article or chapter in a book
Le Patourel, John. “Normans and Normandy.” Dictionary of the Middle Ages. Ed. Joseph
    Strayer. New York: Scribner’s, 1987. 251-73.

 

Citation Examples: Periodicals

Note: Examples below are based on the 2009 MLA update. 

PERIODICALS

Example
Lastname, Firstname. “Title of Article.” Title of Periodical Volume (Year): Pages.
     Medium (Print or Web).

Article in a scholarly journal paginated by volume
Wawrytko, Sandra. "Buddhism: Philosophy Beyond Gender." Journal of Chinese
     Philosophy 36 (2009): 293-312. Print.

Article in a scholarly journal paginated by issue
Kokai, Jennifer.  "Molding a Heroine: Patience Wright and Transatlantic Notions of
     American Female Patriotism."  Journal of American Drama and Theater 21.2
     (2009):49-66. Print.

Entire issue or special section of a journal
Perret, Delphine, ed. Maryse Conde. Spec. issue of Callaloo 18.3 (1995): 535-711.
     Print.

Article in a popular magazine
Lacayo, Richard. “Kids are Us!” Time 23 Sept. 2002: 68-70. Print.

Article in a newspaper
Hall, Christopher. “Reliving the 1200’s With Sweat, Muscle, and No-Tech Tools.”
     New York Times 18 Aug. (2002): B27. Print.

 

Citation Examples: Electronic Resources

ELECTRONIC RESOURCES

With the publication of the seventh edition of the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers (2009), MLA has vastly simplified the process of citing electronic resources. See below for details.

WORLD WIDE WEB

Example
Lastname, Firstname of author or editor. Title of Page. Title of overall site if distinct
     from page title. Version or edition used. Publisher or sponsor. Date of publication.
     Medium (web) Date of access.

Feasley, Cordelia Throckmorton. Women's Bodies, Women's Property: German
     Common Law Books in the Fourteenth Century. Tisch Library, Tufts University. 30
     Sept. 2008. Web May 2009.

ARTICLE FROM A LIBRARY DATABASE

Example
Lastname, Firstname. "Title of Article." Title of Periodical. Volume. (Date): pages.
     Name of Database. Medium (web) Date of access.

Lane, Philip J. "The Existential Condition of Television Crime Drama." Journal of
     Popular Culture. 35.1 (2001); 8-16. Expanded Academic ASAP. Web. 20 Oct. 2008.

 
 

Get Help

Tisch Library

Ginn Library

Webster Veterinary Library

Hirsh Health Sciences Library

Digital Collections and Archives

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait