Comparing Citation Tools
Feature |
EndNote www.endnote.com |
RefWorks www.refworks.com |
Zotero www.zotero.org |
|---|---|---|---|
| Summary | Powerful desktop software package that captures online citations and generates highly customizable citation styles, bibliographies, and reports. | Web-served bibliographic tool that captures online citations and generates customizable bibliographies and citation styles. | Desktop software that runs through the Firefox browser and enables easy capturing of web pages and generates bibliographies and citations. |
| Optimal solution for… | Large research projects and permanent libraries, which need to be subdivided and where complex searching and sorting, or customization of reports is required. | Small to middle-sized projects, which need to be subdivided and shared and where internet access is more reliable than access to a particular computer. | Small collections and situations where simplicity, access to web pages and RSS feeds, and using free and open source tools is important. Can be used as an interim solution to capture citations for use in EndNote or RefWorks. |
| Version compared here |
X2 (X3 recently released) |
6.0 | 1.0 (1.5 & 2.0 Beta versions available) |
| Platforms supported / System requirements | Macintosh, Windows, and mainstream web browsers. | Macintosh, Windows, Unix, and mainstream web browsers. | Macintosh, Windows, Linux in Firefox 2.0. or 3.0, Netscape Navigator 9.0, or Flock 0.9.1. |
| Tisch Library support | Individual and group training, documentation. See the Workshops schedule. | Individual and group training, documentation. See the Workshops schedule. | None. |
| Purchase / Licensing | Must purchase and install a license yourself or have access to a licensed installation. Software is available through the Tufts Bookstore at a discount. You can download a trial version to test it. | Members of the Tufts community can sign up for a RefWorks free account through the Tufts website. Account is available as long as Tufts supports RefWorks. | Free; only requires a compatible web browser. |
| Documentation and support | Excellent manual as well as 3rd party publications and strong technical support. | Good online documentation, quickstart guide and technical support. | Good online documentation. |
| Imports records from the Tufts Online Catalog | Yes, through EndNote connection files or import filters. | Yes, through import filters or online database search feature. | Yes, through icon on browser toolbar. Limited metadata is imported. |
| Imports records from article databases | Yes, through EndNote Direct Import, connection files or import filters. | Yes, through RefWorks Direct Import or import filters. | Yes, through icon on browser toolbar. |
| Imports web page metadata | Yes, in Firefox 1.0-2.0 via a plug-in. | Yes, through Ref Grab-It utility. | Yes, through New Item from Page command. |
| Imports RSS feeds | No | Yes | No |
| Types of materials tracked | Over 40 default reference types and 3 blank ones. | Over 30 reference types. | Over 30 reference types. |
| File linking | Links to locally stored PDFs, images, and other files; dynamic URL links. | Links to PDFs and other files(stored in RefWorks); dynamic URL links. | Links to locally stored files; dynamic URL links; stores “snapshot” of web pages. |
| Word-processing tools | Creates in-text citations, footnotes, endnotes, and bibliographies in Microsoft Word via Cite While You Write plug-in. RTF and ODT editing via Format Paper tool. Integrates with Apple's Pages word-processor. | Creates in-text citations, footnotes, endnotes, and bibliographies in Microsoft Word via Write N Cite plug-in. On-line/Cite view for other word-processors. | Creates in-text citations, footnotes,endnotes, and bibliographies in Microsoft Word via Zotero Microsoft Word plug-in. Works with Google tools. |
| Spell-checker | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Import filters | Over 600. Can be customized. | Over 870. | Over 375 (support level varies). |
| Output styles | Over 3,600. Can be customized. | 800. Can be customized. | Over 50 styles. Can’t be customized. Must create a new open-source style in Citation Style Language (CSL). |
| Organizing and coding | Organizes items into “groups”; tags citations with custom keywords and fields. | Organizes items into folders; tags citations with custom descriptors and fields. | Organizes items into collections; codes items with notes and custom tags. |
| Search options | Boolean operators AND, OR,NOT; comparison operators; keyword searches; field and date searches; truncation. Global search and replace. Can save searches strategies for re-use. | Boolean operators AND, OR, NOT; comparison operators; keyword searches; truncation. Global search and replace. Can save searches strategies for re-use. | Boolean operators AND, OR, NOT. Keyword and tag searches. |
| Sort options | By most fields. Can save custom sorts for exports. | By 10 fields. Also does relevancy ranking. | By most fields. |
| Duplicate detecting | Yes | Yes | No |
| Authority lists / Auto entry options | Author, keyword, title are defaults; can create lists for most other fields. | Author, keyword, title lookups. | Author, publication title. |
| Sharing options | Can export library as a traveling file. EndNote libraries can be shared over networks but only one simultanous user is permitted. |
Can share folders online. | Can export library for use by others. Beta 1.5 offers synchronization of multiple installations. |
| Exchange with other citation software | Exports directly into RefWorks and generic citation formats. | Imports into EndNote and generic citation formats. | Imports into other software via major citation interchange formats. |
| Unicode compliant (supports multiple character sets) | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Multilanguage Language Support | Can modify preferences to reflect sorting preferences and character sets. Must switch the computer OS system to change the language of the operating interface. | Can specify language behaviors for individual references and for output styles. Permits instant switching of the operating interface language. | Reflects the language preferences specified in the Firefox options menu. |
Help with Citation Manager Tools
![]() Karen A. Vagts |
|
Contact Info:
Reference Librarian for Engineering, Mathematics, Business, & Reference Manager Tools Tisch Library Tel: 617-627-2095 Send Email Subjects: Engineering, Mathematics, Business & Entrepreneurship |
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait