Resources for chemical and biological engineering.
Last Updated: Feb 24, 2015
View all Engineering Databases in the Tufts Collection.
View all Chemistry Databases in the Tufts Collection.
Multidisciplinary Index Databases
- Engineering Village
Premier index database for engineering literature. Includes Compendex (focus: civil, chemical, and mechanical engineering) and INSPEC (focus: electrical, electronics, computer engineering, and physics).
Broad coverage of all literature, including substantial titles in the health sciences and engineering. Includes links to high-quality "gray literature" websites and patents as well as the ability to hyperlink to references and citations for articles.
- Web of Science
Especially strong in the life sciences. Includes MEDLINE, patents, and the ability to link to references and citations for articles, books, and data sets. Searches can be restricted to Index Chemicus (IC) and
Current Chemical Reactions (CCR-EXPANDED). Includes the Chinese Citation Index.
- ProQuest Engineering Enhanced
Incorporating CSA Cambridge Scientific Abstracts. suite of databases covering a broad number of topics, including bioengineering, materials, environmental issues, and toxicology. Search results include thumbnails of structures, charts, and diagrams.
- ProQuest Theses & Dissertations
Abstracts of theses and dissertations from institutions worldwide (including Tufts). Excellent resource for new, as-yet-unpublished research and extensive bibliographies.
- SciFinder Scholar / Chemical Abstracts
Major index and abstract service for the chemical literature. Enables searching on references, substances, reactions, CAS Registry number, and company names and indexes articles, dissertations, books, and patents.
- Analytical Abstracts
Current awareness and information retrieval service from over 100 publications for analytical and bioanalytical scientists, compiled by the Royal Society of Chemistry.
- PubMed Customized for Tufts
Premier index for medically-focused literature from the National Library of Medicine (NLM). Citations are linked to other NLM Entrez databases such as PubChem (see below).
This Customized for Tufts version enables direct access to cited articles in the Tufts subscriptions.
From NCBI, enables searching on substances, compounds, and bioassays, with links to medical literature in PubMed, gene and protein databases, and other Entrez databases.
- SpringerMaterials, The Landolt-Bornstein Database
- Toxiocology Abstracts
From CSA, coverage includes industrial chemicals, metals, toxins, radioactive materials. Methodologies and legislative materials are also included.
Interested in learning more about RefWorks, EndNote or other library resources?
Check out Tisch Library's Workshop Series - The Savvy Researcher