Library Contact
Search broadly with databases and journal collections
- Web of ScienceA good starting point. Indexes top scholarly journals and other publications across a wide range of subject, including engineering. Allows discovery of related articles by following citations.
- SCOPUSScopus is a large abstract and citation database that includes peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and web sources. Subject coverage : Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics and Engineering ; Life and Health Sciences ; Social Sciences, Psychology and Economics ; Biological, Agricultural and Environmental Sciences.
- Google ScholarIndexes a wide range of scholarly resources using the familiar Google interface. In the settings in Google Scholar you can enter "Tufts" in the Library Links section to activate "Get This Item at Tufts" links to access the full-text of articles.
- Engineering VillageContains articles and technical documents from all disciplines of engineering.
- IEEE XploreJournals, conference proceedings, and technical standards relating to the intersection of mechanical and electrical engineering.
- ProQuest Mechanical & Transportation AbstractsA subset of ProQuest Engineering Enhanced, includes content from ASME and IMechE as well as some patents.
- TRIDCombines the records from TRB's Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD's Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database. Indexes journal articles, reports, and other types of documents, indexed by the Transportation Research Thesaurus (TRT).
Find research from specific organizations
- ASME Digital LibraryFrom the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME), includes journals and proceedings.
- ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library JournalsFrom the American Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM), articles and symposia papers alongside manuals and the full-text of ASTM standards on many MechE subjects.
Learn about scholarly writing and publishing in STEM
Research papers in STEM follow specific formats, and are produced, edited, and peer-reviewed using specific procedures. Whether you are writing and submitting papers yourself, or simply searching for and reading them, understanding these formats and procedures is important. A good way to learn about the process of creating research papers is by taking this online class from Nature Masterclasses.
- Nature Masterclasses - Scientific Writing and PublishingLearn how research papers are created with this 11-hour online course on writing and publishing a paper, presented by editors from Nature journals. Pick "Tufts" as your institution and use your Tufts credentials for access. The course is asynchronous, so you can complete it at your own pace