Community Health 188-09: Health Equity and the Built Environment

The Gallup Brain is a database with polling results from the Gallup Corporation going back to the 1930s.

ICPSR provides access to an archive of social science data for research and instruction. Data files are raw data, not in report format, and are used with statistical software, such as SAS, SPSS, and Stata. There is a tutorial on the site and a Tufts University contact is listed to help with downloading

The iPOLL Databank from the Roper Center Public Opinion Archives focuses on national scope surveys and contains not only the complete question text and responses to half a million questions from as far back as 1935, but also information such as study abstracts, links to questionnaires, datasets and citation information where available.

Statistical information from the U.S. government, including the Statistical Abstract of the United States and other sources. Online version of American Statistics Index, Statistical Reference Index, and Index to International Statistics.

Statistical data source on countries with information from sources such as the CIA World Factbook, UN, and OECD. Users can generate maps and graphs on all kinds of statistics.

Polling the Nations is a comprehensive collection of public opinion material from the United States and abroad. It contains the full text of some 400,000 questions and responses on 4,500 topics.

Directory of public & private U.S. companies. Multiple uses including scoping out competitors, vendors, geographic sites, and for building mailing lists.

SourceOECD provides online access to Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) resources, covering trade, environment, agriculture, technololgy, economic development, and more. The books, reports, working papers and periodicals are full-text and the databases have extensive statistical information.

An online service of the most recent international trade information available from the National Trade Data Bank, the National Economic, Social & Environmental Database, the Economic Bulletin Board, Global Business Procurement Opportunities, and the Bureau of Economic Analysis.

The purpose of Data.gov is to increase public access to high value, machine readable datasets generated by the Executive Branch of the Federal Government.

See Resources - Library - Bookshelf 3: Research

See Data & Statistics

The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.

MassCHIP was developed by the Massachusetts Department of Public Health to assist communities and professionals in health planning.

MassCHIP provides access to 36 health status, health outcome, program utilization, and demographic data sets, from which you can generate two types of reports, 1) Instant Topics (formerly standard reports) and 2) Custom Reports, as well as charts and maps. Instant Topics are predefined reports which use MassCHIP's most current data to supply information on a variety of topic areas for specific geographies. Custom reports are user-defined reports which can be created by downloading the MassCHIP Client and choosing the data set and selectors of interest. Depending on the data source, you can view an entire range of selectors including geography, year, age, race and ethnicity, gender, or income. See the Features page for more information on MassCHIP data sets and reports.

The Odum Institute houses one of the oldest and largest catalogs of machine-readable data in the United States. The Archive has an extensive collection of U.S. Census data, including one of the most comprehensive holdings for 1970 Census files.

Stateline.org is a nonprofit, nonpartisan online news site that practices journalism in the public interest by reporting on emerging trends and issues in state policy and politics.

Also features comparative statistical data on education, the environment, health care, politics, and other topics for all 50 states.

The County and City Data Book is the most comprehensive source of information about the individual counties and cities in the United States. It includes data for all U.S. states, counties, and cities with a population of 25,000 or more. It contains additional data for places with a population of 100,000 or more. Also included is a complete set of state maps showing all counties, places of 25,000 or more population, and metropolitan areas.

The Data Book contains a collection of statistics on social and economic conditions in the United States at the State and metropolitan area levels. Selected data for component counties and central cities of metropolitan areas are also included.

USA Counties features over 6,000 data items for the United States, States and counties from a variety of sources.

Economist Intelligence Unit Reports provides access to full-text of Country Reports, Country Profiles, Country Finance and Country Commerce series, and Risk Briefing. All reports -except Risk Briefing- can be searched simultaneously.

Data and statistics from the European Union.

This free site features data for countries of the world, with an emphasis on population data, arranged by country, region, and cities; and global data on historical growth, projections, etc. Also includes historical data going back many decades; pay particular attention to the Resources tab.

GlobalHealthFacts.org, a project of the Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, provides free, up-to-date and easy-to-access data by country on HIV/AIDS, tuberculosis, malaria and other key health and socio-economic indicators. The data are displayed in tables, charts, and color-coded maps and can be downloaded for custom analyses.

High quality national and international statistics, and global statistical programs.

Statistical data for over 550 development indicators and time series data for over 200 countries and 18 country groups. Data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators.

CensusScope is an easy-to-use tool for investigating U.S. demographic trends, brought to you by the Social Science Data Analysis Network (SSDAN) at the University of Michigan. With eye-catching graphics and exportable trend data, CensusScope is designed for both generalists and specialists.

Data is on the IQSS Dataverse Network. Many studies are available to the general public, while some are restricted by licensing requirements of the data producer.

An international consortium of about 700 academic institutions and research organizations, ICPSR provides leadership and training in data access, curation, and methods of analysis for the social science research community.

ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.

Link to statistical sources; arranged by subject categories; evaluated by librarians.

UC Berkeley's principal archive of digitized social science data and statistics.

The University of Auckland provides access to free statistics from official sources on the web.
Web links are arranged by country, region or subject.

The database can be searched by a single category, or a combination of categories.

All of the content of the database is held in the public domain and is available through the Internet.

Annotated directory of websites providing statistics on agriculture, business, housing, labor, science, transportation, and other topics. Maintained by Grace York, government documents librarian at the University of Michigan.