This is the "Get Started" page of the "Child Study and Human Development" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Tisch Library Ginn Library Hirsch Health Sciences Library Webster Veterinary Library Digital Collections and Archives

Child Study and Human Development  

Last Updated: Jul 25, 2014 URL: http://researchguides.library.tufts.edu/ChildDevelopment Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Get Started Print Page
  Search for a research guide: 
 
 

Tisch Library Workshops

Interested in learning more about RefWorks, EndNote or other library resources?

Check out Tisch Library's Workshop Series - The Savvy Researcher

 

Oxford Bibliographies Online

Oxford Bibliographies Online includes almost 150 annotated bibliographies on topics pertinent to childhood studies, including adoption and fostering, Jewish and Christian views of childhood, twins and so much more.  Select [+] Find this resource to get your hands on the material.

 

Tufts Child and Family Webguide

The Child and Family WebGuide is a directory that evaluates, describes and provides links to hundreds of sites containing child development research and practical advice. Topics are selected on the basis of parent recommendations; they cover all ages, from early child development through adolescence.

 

Background Sources

Subject specific reference materials can help you to gain broad-based knowledge of your field through vocabulary, factual information, additional references, and bibliographies.

A subject search in the catalog allows you to retrieve specific types of sources. For example:


Examples of useful reference titles:

CogNet. Provides a collection of searchable electronic texts for the cognitive and brain sciences containing works from the MIT Press, as well as information on new research, job listings, discussion groups and information on seminars and lectures.

Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology. A 4-volume e-reference published in 2010.

CREDO Reference. Dozens of online reference books from numerous publishers. Includes audio and images. One example is the Handbook of Research on the Education of Young Children. You can also browse by subject.

Encyclopedia of Adolescence. Features over 140 signed and peer-reviewed entries, including content on normative development, individual differences, cultural differences, social and emotional development, education, work, and psychopathology as they apply to adolescents.

Encyclopedia of Infant and Early Childhood Development (print only)

Encyclopedia of Language and Education. A 10-volume set, published in 2008. Fulltext online. 

Sage Knowledge Encyclopedias. These e-encyclopedias cover a wide range of social sciences topics. One example is the Encyclopedia of Human Development.

Sage Research Methods Online. Full-text access to books, journals, and encyclopedias that cover the design and use of qualitative, quantitative, and mixed research methods in the social and behavioral sciences.

SpringerLink Encyclopedias. These e-encyclopedias cover a wide range of social sciences topics. One example is the Encyclopedia of Child Behavior and Development.

 

Congratulations to Dr. Richard Lerner

Congratulations to Dr. Lerner for being awarded the 2014 American Psychological Association's Gold Medal for Life Achievement in the Application of Psychology. For more information read this story.

Help with Research

Profile Image
Laurie Sabol
Contact Info
Tisch Library at Tufts University
617 627 5167
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip