This is the "Journal Metrics" page of the "Journal Ranking Metrics" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Tisch Library Ginn Library Hirsh Health Sciences Library Webster Veterinary Library Digital Collections and Archives

Journal Ranking Metrics   Tags: impact_factor, journal_ranking, metrics  

Last Updated: Jan 22, 2014 URL: http://researchguides.library.tufts.edu/content.php?pid=546473 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Journal Metrics Print Page
  Search: 
 

More Information

If you are interested in learning more about the above journal metrics, or how to find and use them, the following resources may help.

 

Need Help?

Desk Hours: M-F 7:45am-5pm

Guide Author

 

Journal Ranking Metrics

Various ranking metrics have been devised to try and gauge how influential a particular journal is in its field.

The oldest and most popular of these is the Impact Factor. However, it is important to keep in mind thast the Impact Factor is actually a rather simple calculation - much simpler than Google's relevancy ranking, for example. It also only uses the journals included in the Thomson Reuter databases.

Because of its relative simplicity and proprietary scope, others have devised more complex ranking metrics which take into account issues such as

  • The type of articles being published (review articles tend to be cited more heavily)
  • The prestige of the journals citing a journal of interest (being cited by articles in better journals increases your own rank)
  • The size of the journal is taken into account (journals who publish fewer articles are not penalized for their output)
  • The scope of included publications (the SCImago ranking uses Elsevier journals, which tend to have higher european inclusion and possibly includes more titles overall)
  • Self-citing to other articles in the same journal are not included in calculations (only citations made from outside journals are used)

The following information is meant to introduce you to the different metrics and some of their strengths and weaknesses.

Faculty of 1000 is a unique ranking system that ranks the relative importance of a single article in a particular field of study. It will soon be releasing it's own ranking measurement for journal titles.

There are also metrics and statistics to help you measure your influence as a published author. Tracking citations to your publications, generating an H-Index, and using WorldCat identities for book publications can all help you build your proessional portfolio.

 

Impact Factor

The Impact Factor ranks journals based on how frequently articles in your journal are cited within a given period of time.

  • More highly cited journals will have a higher Impact Factor
  • You can search for the Impact Factor of a particular journal by going to the Web of Science link in the Quick Links menu, and clicking on Journal Citation Reports (JCR) in the navigation bar at the very top of the screen
  • Once logged in to JCR, choose "Science Edition" on the left and to view by subject category or search by specific journal on the right and click Submit

**NOTE: Web of Science has rebranded since this video was made, but once you are in JCR, everything is still the same. The link to Web of Science is in the same location on the library homepage. The main change is that JCR is linked directly from the Web of Science main page in the very top right.

Find the Impact Factor and Eigenfactor Score from Tufts HHSL on Vimeo.


Strengths:

  • Oldest and most well-known ranking system for journals
  • Easy to calculate and understand


Considerations:

  • Only uses data from journals indexed by Thomson-Reuters
    • Claims to cover over 12,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 150,000 conference proceedings
  • Includes citations to both peer-reviewed and non-reviewed items in the journal
  • The citation patterns of different disciplines are not taken into account
    • Some disciplines cite much more heavily than others, driving up the Impact Factor 
  • Includes citations to the journal from outside journals as well as self-citations
    • Self-citing: citations to a journal from other articles within the same journal
  • The measurement is dependent on the journal's size
    • Smaller or more specialized journals will tend to have smaller Impact Factors
 

SCImago Journal Rank

The SCImago Journal Rank is a weighted metric, similar to the Eigenfactor Score, that takes into account citation frequency and the prestige of the journals making the citations.

  • To find the SJR, go to the SCOPUS database and click the Analytics link in the top bar to compare up to 10 individual journals
  • The freely accessible website: www.SCImagojr.com contains rankings of all the journals indexed in SCOPUS and an easy interface for searching and comparing within subject categories

Strengths:

  • Most self-citations are not included in the calculation
    • Self-citing: citations to a journal from other articles within the same journal
  • The size of the journal does not impact the SJR
  • It takes into account the journals from which citations are made
    • More influential journals have more weight in the calculation
  • It only includes reviewed materials
    • Articles, conference proceedings, review articles

 

Considerations:

  • Only uses journals indexed by SCOPUS
    • Claims to cover 18,000 peer-reviewed journals (including 1,800 Open Access journals), 400 trade publications, 300 book series, 4.4 million conference papers from proceedings and journals, and 24.7 million patent records
  • Only includes data from 1996 onward
  • The citation patterns of different disciplines are not taken into account
    • Some disciplines cite much more heavily than others

Find the SCImago Journal Rank from Tufts HHSL on Vimeo.

 

Eigenfactor Score

The Eigenfactor Score is a weighted metric that ranks journals in a discipline by taking into account the citation frequency as well as the prestige of the journals that cited your journal of interest.

  • The more frequently a journal is cited, the more prestigious it is considered
  • Citations to your journal of interest from a prestigious journal will have more weight than citations from less prestigious journals
  • You can search for the Eigenfactor Score of a particular journal by going to Journal Citation Reports within the Web of Knowledge
  • Once logged in to JCR, choose "Science Edition" on the left and to view by subject category or search by specific journal on the right and click Submit
  • The Eigenfactor Score will be displayed in the journal's record

Strengths:

  • Only includes citations from outside journals in the calculations
  • The size of the journal does not impact the Eigenfactor Score
  • It takes into account the journals from which citations are made
  • More influential journals have more weight in the calculation

Considerations:

  • Only uses data from journals indexed by Thomson-Reuters
    • Claims to cover over 12,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 150,000 conference proceedings
  • The type of publication is not taken into account
    • Review articles typically receive more citations than other published items
  • The citation patterns of different disciplines are not taken into account
    • Some disciplines cite much more heavily than others
 

Faculty of 1000

Faculty of 1000 is comprised of 10,000 peer-nominated experts who read, review, and rank published research in the biomedical and medical sciences.

  • The top ranking an article receives by an evaluator is added to a factor assigned to each of the next evaluator rankings
    • Rankings of 6 would become a 1, a ranking of 8 would become a 2, and a rank of 10 would become a 3
    • Thus, if an article is read by 4 faculty who assign scores of 8, 6, 6, and 10, the FFa would equal 10 + 2 + 1 + 1 = 14

 

Strengths:

  • Easily identify the top researchers in the biomedical and medical disciplines
  • Discover the most influential articles in your research discipline
  • Uncover the emerging trends and topics in research

Considerations:

  • Unclear if there is a time-limit for submitting reviews on a specific article
    • Usually only recently published articles are included, but there’s no rule against submitting older articles for review
  • You might miss some important/interesting articles simply because they have not been chosen to be read by the faculty

Searching Faculty of 1000 from Tufts HHSL on Vimeo

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip