Contents
Facts and Background Information
Dictionary of Literary Biography
The first stop in searching for information about an author's career and works.
New Oxford companion to literature in French
Tisch Reference PQ41 .N48 1995
Dictionnaire des littératures de langue française
Tisch Reference PQ41 .B4 1984 v.1-3
Dictionnaire des littératures
Tisch Reference PN41 .D484 1984 v.1-3
Guide to French literature
Tisch Reference PQ226 .L48 1992 v.1-2
Dictionary of modern French literature : from the age of reason through realism
Tisch Reference PQ41 .D65 1986
Finding Literary Texts
Tufts Catalog
Worldcat
Catalog records from thousands of North American libraries.
Bibliotheque Nationale de France
Catalogs of the French national library, plus the Union Catalogue of France (CCFr).
Europeana
Portal for digital resources of Europe's museums, libraries, archives, and audio-visual collections: texts, images, sound, video.
Internet Archive
A vast collection of digital books, mainly out-of-copyright, i.e. pre-1923. Includes Tisch Library's run of Revue des Deux Mondes.
ARTFL
ARTFL: American Research on the Treasury of the French Language
A full-text database of classical French writings and research tools. Users can create a dictionary and frequency count of words used in a text, trace origins of words or phrases back through the 17th century, etc. The database includes literary works, political tracts, philosophical writings, and technical treatises. For accompanying print Bibliography (Vol. 1) and User's Guide (Vol. 2), see [PRINT. Tisch reference desk PQ1101 .A87].
Finding Literary Criticism
Look for "Find it @ Tufts" in article citations from most periodical indexes.
ESSENTIAL
Modern Language Bibliography (MLA). 1963 -
Index to scholarly journals in literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Includes access to books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies. Updated monthly. Published by the Modern Language Association of America.
SPECIAL TOPICS
International Medieval Bibliography. Brepols, 1967-
An international index to medieval topics (400-1500) in literature, language, history, archaeology, art, music, theater, Arabic and Islamic studies, and religion and philosophy. IMB covers 4,500 journals and over 5,000 miscellany volumes in 30 languages.
Iter
An index of interdisciplinary journal literature on the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Includes citations for articles, books, bibliographies, catalogs, abstracts, and discographies.
Film and Television Literature Index
Covers over 300 journal and magazine titles for film and television reviews, scholarly and critical analysis of cinema and television, and articles of popular interest about film and television. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. Some full text is available.
SEARCHING FURTHER
Expanded Academic ASAP 
Articles from more than 1,500 scholarly, trade, and general-interest publications. Coverage is from 1980 to present. Some full text is available.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Institute for Scientific Information, 1974- 
Provides author, subject and citation access to journal articles and book reviews in the arts and humanities. Coverage from 1974.
General Reference Center 1980- 
Use this general-interest database to search magazines, reference books, and newspapers for information on current events, popular culture, the arts and sciences, sports, etc.
For more on how to find articles, see Database Searching Tips (also available in PDF).
Help with Research
Links: Profile & Guides |
Collections Librarian for Romance Languages
Contact Info Humanities Bibliographer & Coordinator of Special Collections Tisch Library Tufts University Medford, MA 02155 Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |



Loading...
