This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Engineering Science ES-27: Public Health Engineering" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Tisch Library Ginn Library Hirsch Health Sciences Library Webster Veterinary Library Digital Collections and Archives

Engineering Science ES-27: Public Health Engineering   Tags: course, engineering  

Last Updated: Jun 2, 2014 URL: http://researchguides.library.tufts.edu/es_engineering_27 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 

Other Libraries

The Boston area provides a wealth of libraries, both academic and specialty, that Tufts students in CEE and related disciplines can use.  Note: always double-check a library's visitor policy and hours on its websites prior to planning a visit.

  • Boston Library Consortium (BLC) Libraries
    As a member of the BLC, the Tufts libraries provide BLC cards for all students and other affiliates. The cards enable the holders to visit and use the collections of the member libraries. BLC circulating holdings also can be ordered through Interlibrary Loan.
  • EPA Region 1 Library
    The Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) has a branch library in downtown Boston as well as an online catalog. Open to the public.
  • Massachusetts Water Resource Authority (MWRA) Library
    In addition to managing a physical library, the librarian will put students in touch with other experts at the primary water/sewer utility for Eastern Massachusetts.
  • NFPA Charles Morgan Library
    Located at the National Fire Protection Association (NFPA), the Morgan Library includes resources related to public health and safety in regards to fire protection issues.
  • Volpe Technical Library and Information Center
    From the Boston branch of the Research and Innovative Technology Administration (RITA) of the U.S. Department of Transportation (US DOT), houses a research library and online resources of relevance for any project exploring the relationship between health and the transportation infrastructure.
  • Massachusetts Library Directory
    Directory of nearly all libraries in the Commonwealth of Massachusetts. Libraries of relevance for public health are likely to classified under Academic or Special or by searching on keywords such as "health."
 

Welcome and Overview

This course guide is provided for Environmental Science ES-27: Public Health Engineering.  Its purpose is to help you locate resources for your assignments and the means to evaluate them, as well as to become more familiar with the literature of engineering and related disciplines that address these issues.

Noteworthy Aspects of the Engineering Literature for Environmental Health & Safety

  • Environmental Health is a multidisciplinary topic.  It requires investigating not only resources in civil and environmental engineering but also  materials in public health, medicine, toxicology, statistics, and the natural and social sciences.
  • These disciplines apply different vocabularies and terminologies.  These differences impact the terms you use in search strategies.  Reference books like encyclopedias, dictionaries, and online database thesauri are useful tools for locating discipline-specific terms.
  • Both the engineering and the health related literature are broad and include many different formats.  For more on the full scope of engineering literature, see the Engineering Literature Overview.
 

Resources Overview

All print and electronic resources are available through the Tisch Library website. This web page is also the best way to access databases and other resources which require password access. The tabs in the Search Our Resources box (pictured below) provide entry to the major sources you will need.

  1. The Catalog contains records for almost all books, journals, media, and other sources. Exceptions include some government documents, selected electronic journals, and archival materials.  More on using the catalog >
  2. The BLC WorldCat tab lets you locate books, journals, some articles, and other sources from the Tufts Libraries, the Boston Library Consortium (BLC) Libraries, and other libraries worldwide, and to order items through interlibrary loan.  More on using BLC WorldCat >
  3. The Articles/Databases tab lets you locate databases which contain journal articles and other literature by keyword, title, or subject.  Clicking on any of the database names takes you to the database.
  4. The E-Journals tab provides access to e-journals@Tufts, a catalog of electronic journal titles that Tufts subscribes to.  A number of these are not listed in the Catalog (if you cannot locate a journal in either the Catalog or e-Journals, then you probably need to order articles from the journal through interlibrary loan).  The Electronic Journals pull-down list provides access to top journal collections from major publishers and societies.
  5. The Research Guides tab provides access to over fifty guides on major subjects as well as course guides.  These contain information on key research sources for disciplines as well as tips on search strategies and academic research.
  6. The Site Search tab enables keyword searching on all pages of the Tisch Library website.  It does not search the contents of databases, journals, books, or other holdings, however.

Help with Research

Profile Image
Karen A. Vagts
Logo - LinkedIn
Contact Info
Research Librarian for Engineering, Mathematics, Business, Entrepreneurship, & Citation Manager Tools
Tisch Library
Tel: 617-627-2095
Send Email
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip