This is the "Home" page of the "Federal Government Shutdown" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Tisch Library Ginn Library Hirsch Health Sciences Library Webster Veterinary Library Digital Collections and Archives

Federal Government Shutdown  

Last Updated: Oct 7, 2013 URL: http://researchguides.library.tufts.edu/govshutdown Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search for a research guide: 
 

Alternative Access Points for U.S. Federal Information

The U.S. Government is a major publisher and funder of important information ranging from print materials & collections, data, statistics, technical reports, etc.

With the shutdown of all but essential U.S. government services, many government websites (PubMed, ERIC, data.gov, Census) and resources have been pulled from the web, are not being updated with current information or are operating with greatly reduced staff.

  • BLC WorldCat
    WorldCat includes the Library of Congress holdings.
  • Internet Archive's Wayback Machine
    Browse through over 240 billion web pages archived from 1996 to a few months ago. See their blog post for links to cached versions of those agencies that have now pulled their web presence.
  • ProQuest (All Databases)
    Search all of the ProQuest databases we subscribe to including: ERIC, MEDLINE (PubMed), and AGRICOLA.
  • AGRICOLA
    Available within ProQuest. Major agricultural resource.
  • MEDLINE
    PubMed data available in ProQuest interface. Major medical resource.
  • Medline (OVID)
    MEDLINE contains over 11 million journal citations and abstracts in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, healthcare systems, and pre-clinical sciences.
  • ERIC
    Available in ProQuest. Major education database.
  • PolicyMap
    Includes Census data, and other data sets from the U.S. government agencies (including some from National Center for Education Statistics).
  • ProQuest Statistical Insight
    Statistical information produced by U.S. Federal agencies, states, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations.
  • ProQuest Statistical Datasets
    Click on "Related Subscriptions" at top of screen to access. Data sources include government information like census data, as well as licensed data sets.
  • Social Explorer
    Includes Census data and other data sets from U.S. government agencies.
  • Integrated Public Use Microdata Series (IPUMS)
    Open, non-governmental provider of census data.
  • National Historical Geographic Information System
    Open, non-governmental provider of census data.
  • National Technical Reports Server (NTIS)
    Part of Engineering Village, includes the full abstract. Many reports are retrievable by searching BLC WorldCat or Google.
  • Global Database of Events, Language, and Tone (GDELT)
    An initiative to construct a catalog of human societal-scale behavior and beliefs across all countries of the world over the last two centuries down to the city level globally, to make all of this data freely available for open research, and to provide daily updates to create the first "real-time social sciences earth observatory."
 

Get Help

Tisch Library

Ginn Library

Webster Veterinary Library

Hirsh Health Sciences Library

Digital Collections and Archives

 

Additional Sources

The Tufts Libraries Research Guides list hundreds of alternative sources, organized by disciplines or courses.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip