Page Contents
Quick Picks
How to Look for Specific Publications
Image: Baltimore County Public Schools
How to Look for Specific Publications
Sometimes looking for newspaper articles can be frustrating and time-consuming. Here are some steps to help you locate newspaper titles and content. Not all newspapers are available digitally, in many cases you may need to use microfilm.
If you have the newspaper title or a citation with the newspaper title begin by searching our E-Journal titles
- Go to E-Journals @ Tufts.
- Type in the name of the newspaper in the search box provided.
- If found, the coverage and link(s) to the title will display.
If the newspaper title doesn't appear in the e-journal titles list
- Go to the Tufts Catalog, choose the Journal Title search and type in the newspaper title.
- If it's in the Tufts Catalog you can see the coverage and format (e.g. electronic, print, microform).
If the newspaper title doesn't appear in the Tufts Catalog
- Is it a U.S. newspaper? If so then use the Recent News tab in this guide and choose one of the U.S. News Aggregators and browse their publication titles.
- Is it an International newspaper? If so then use the Recent News tab in this guide and choose one of the International News Aggregators and browse their publication titles.
If the newspaper title isn't in one of the News Aggregators
- Use WorldCat to locate other libraries that hold the title. Make a note of the coverage dates and format.
- Try requesting the time period you need from another library using the interlibrary loan system ILLiad.
Boston Globe
To see our complete holdings, search the catalog for the Boston Globe.
- Today's News: http://www.boston.com/bostonglobe/
- Recent News:
- check for paper copy in the Tisch Current Periodicals;
- paper kept until microfilm received;
- *online coverage in Massachusetts Newsstand (1980-present), LexisNexis (1988-present), & Factiva (1987-present)
- Historic News:
- 1872-1979 - Historical Boston Globe via ProQuest
- 1916-present - microfilm
Unfortunately, there is no complete index to the Boston Globe. Print indexes to following years are available:
- 1962-1983 - print index available at the Massachusetts State Library
- 1983-1986 - Bell & Howell Newspaper Index to the Boston Globe
- 1987-present - Boston Globe Index
*Many articles written by freelance journalists will not be included in online coverage in news aggregators, such as LexisNexis & Factiva. You may need to rely on microfilm to get the definitive full-text of the newspaper.
New York Times
To see our complete holdings, search the catalog for the New York Times. Currently, the New York Times is not offering institutional subscriptions to nytimes.com, so we do not have library-wide access.
- Today's News & Most Recent Two Weeks: full-text of selected articles from major sections available on Factiva by clicking on News Pages tab
- Recent News:
- check for paper copy in the Tisch Current Periodicals;
- paper kept until microfilm received;
- *online coverage in LexisNexis & Factiva (June 1, 1980-present)
- Historic News:
- online Historic New York Times with Index (1851-3 years before present);
- microfilm (1851-present)
*Many articles written by freelance journalists will not be included in online coverage in news aggregators, such as LexisNexis & Factiva. You may need to rely on microfilm to get the definitive full-text of the newspaper.
Wall Street Journal
To see our complete holdings, search the catalog for the Wall Street Journal.
- Today's News: http://online.wsj.com/home-page
- Most Recent Two Weeks: full-text of selected articles from major sections available on Factiva by clicking on News Pages tab
- Recent News:
- check for paper copy in the Tisch Current Periodicals - weekdays editions only;
- paper kept until microfilm received;
- *online coverage in ABI/Inform (1984-present) & Factiva (selected coverage from 1979-present)
- Historic News: Microfilm (1959-present)
*Many articles written by freelance journalists will not be included in online coverage in news aggregators, such as LexisNexis & Factiva. You may need to rely on microfilm to get the definitive full-text of the newspaper.
The Times, London
To see our complete holdings, search the catalog for The Times
- For limited current news and other resources visit: http://www.thetimes.co.uk/tto/news/
- Recent News:
- check for paper copy in the Tisch Current Periodicals - Library receives daily (by sea-mail); the Times is published Monday-Saturday; Sunday Times is received on microfilm only (Micro R178)
- paper kept until microfilm received;
- *online coverage in Academic OneFile (July 1, 1985-present), LexisNexis (Sept. 26, 1985-present) & Factiva (1981-present)
- Sunday Times, London: Academic OneFile (July 7, 1985-present), LexisNexis (July 1, 1985-present) & Factiva (January 4, 1981-present)
- Historic News: Times Digital Archive (1785-1985)
*Many articles written by freelance journalists will not be included in online coverage in news aggregators, such as LexisNexis & Factiva. You may need to rely on microfilm to get the definitive full-text of the newspaper.


Loading...
