This is the "Home" page of the "Database Searching Tips" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Tisch Library Ginn Library Hirsch Health Sciences Library Webster Veterinary Library Digital Collections and Archives

Database Searching Tips  

Last Updated: Jan 30, 2012 URL: http://researchguides.library.tufts.edu/searchtips Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

General Tips

  • All databases allow you to use AND, OR, and NOT connectors. If you use more than one connector, use parentheses to indicate the logic of your statement, e.g., (canines or dogs) and (vaccinations or health).
  • All databases allow you to e-mail search results.
  • Most databases allow you to set up search alerts and/or RSS feeds. More information can be found here.
  • Need more help? Stop in, call (617.627.3460) or email a Tisch reference librarian.
 

Databases vs E-journal Collections: What's the Difference?

Databases allow you to search across hundreds, if not thousands of journals and other source material, at one time. They are optimized for this function and usually offer both sophisticated and novice methods for successful searching.

E-journal collections are virtual warehouses that collect and display e-journals easily. They are often publisher-specific. While e-journal collections are searchable, they're not optimized for this function.

A few examples follow:

Databases E-journal Collections
Art Abstracts JSTOR
PsycInfo Oxford Journals
Zoological Record Science Direct
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip