Skip to Main Content

Research Guides@Tufts

HIST 28: U.S. Foreign Relations to 1900

How to Use This Guide

Welcome to the Tisch Library guide for HIST 28: U.S. Foreign Relations to 1900. Use the table of contents to find definitions, topic overviews, books, articles, primary sources, and more that will help you with your research. 

If you don't find what you are looking for or need help navigating this guide or any of the resources it contains, don't hesitate to contact the author of this guide or Ask a Librarian.

Getting to Know Your Topic

Specialized reference sources--like dictionaries and subject encyclopedias, provide overviews of topics and descriptions of concepts and ideas. They can also provide definitions, statistics, and other details. You can use this type of source to help narrow your research topic, find data to support your thesis, and identify keywords and main ideas to use as search terms.

This page includes some of the most relevant resources for this class. But be sure to browse the shelves in the Reference Collection or ask your librarian for help finding more!

Print and Online Encyclopedias

The library's collection includes a significant number of online and print encyclopedias focused on U.S. foreign relations. The titles below represent a small selection of useful material, so please be sure to browse the shelves or use JumboSearch to find more!

Recommended Web Resources

There are a lot of relevant resources on the web where you can find historical information as well as collections of primary source documents and much more. Have fun exploring!