Welcome to our Research Sources Page for TPS 93!
Research sources will be added as we progress throughout the semester with assignments and research needs.
This COVID-19 edition emphasizes e-sources.
- Primary Source Sets (A good starting point at Digital Public Library of America)
- American Indian Histories and Cultures
- Digital History - Native Voices
- The Indigenous Digital Archive
- Early Encounters in North America
- More Primary Sources: Native Americans
Tip for identifying more archival sources: check out the footnotes and bibliographies in a relevant book, e.g.,
Montgomery, Lindsay M., and Colwell, Chip. Objects of Survivance: A Material History of the American Indian School Experience. 2019.
- The Atlantic Slave Trade and Slave Life in the Americas: A Visual Record
- Black Studies in Video
- Colored Conventions Project
- Directory of African Americans in Boston, 1820-1865 (Boston Athenæum)
- The Green Book
- Minstrelsy in America (An Exhibition)
- Slavery & Antislavery: A Transnational Archive
- Uncle Tom's Cabin and American Culture
Tip for further search: historical societies and museums, e.g.,
The Royall House and Slaves Quarters , which have these primary sources: public records, newspaper stories, correspondence and more.
- Arab American Museum
- Arab American Historical Foundation (AAHF)
- Faris and Yamna Naff Arab American Collection, ca. 1880-1950. (Smithsonian)
- Moise A. Khayrallah Center for Lebanese Diaspora (Archive Collections)
- The Syrian Business Directory
- Digital History - Asian Voices
- Calisphere （Asian Americans，1780-present).
- Chinese American Experience: 1857-1892
A title of interest: Moon, Krystyn. Yellowface: Creating the Chinese in American Popular Music and Performance, 1850s-1920s. 2005.
Boston Irish Americans' Diaries and Journals
- The Center for Migration Studies of New York ("The archive is an especially rich source for Italian-American studies.")
- Latinx Cultural Archives
- Historic Mexican and Mexican American Press
- Hispanic Digital Collections at the Library of Congress
Research sources will be added as we progress throughout the semester with assignments and research needs:
I. American Historic Newspapers and Magazines
- Accessible Archives
includes African American Newspapers (19th century), the Pennsylvania Gazette, among other historic U.S. newspapers
- America's Historical Newspapers
includes Early American Newspapers (1690-1922), Hispanic American Newspapers (1808-1980), and African American Newspapers (1827-1998)
- Ethnic American Newspapers from the Balch Collection, 1799-1971
includes 130 newspapers in ten languages from 25 states; emphasis is on Americans of Czech, French, German, Hungarian, Irish, Italian, Japanese, Jewish, Lithuanian, Polish, Slovak, and Welsh descent.
- The New York Times 1851-three years before current date
- Boston Globe 1872-1985
- Brooklyn Daily Eagle (1841-1902)
One of the most widely read afternoon newspapers in the United States during the Civil War.
- Chicago Defender 1905-1975; considered the one of the most influential African-American newspaper of the 20th century
- Los Angeles Times 1881-1992
- Pennsylvania Gazette 1728-1800; considered the "paper of record" for the 18th century
- Washington Post 1877-1999
Magazines (collections and individual titles)
- African American Periodicals, 1825-1995
More than 170 periodicals by and about African-Americans: academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, bulletins of organizations, annual reports, and other genres.
- American Periodicals 1740-1900
some of the oldest continuously published magazines: American Spectator, Commentary, Commonweal, Dissent, Harpers Magazine, NACLA, The Nation, The National Review, The New Republic, New York Review, The New Yorker.
Collections of Historic Documents, Monographs, Journals, Magazines and More
- American Broadsides and Ephemera
Broadsides printed between 1820 and 1900, and ephemera printed between 1760 and 1900.
- Afro-Americana Imprints 1535-1922
Twelve thousand works from the Library Company of Philadelphia’s renowned Afro-Americana Collection. Includes books, pamphlets, anti-abolition literature, anti-slave-trade literature, slave narratives, sermons, and much more!
- Black Studies Center (Journals and newspapers, some historic)
- Making of America (Cornell University)
Access to 267 monograph volumes and over 100,000 journal articles from 22 journals with 19th century imprints.
- Making of America (University of Michigan)
Access to 9,500 books and almost 2500 digitized issues of 12 journals published in the 19th century
II. Academic Journal Articles
- In EBSCOhost databases, you can select to search across the following databases, among others:
- America: History & Life
- Historical Abstracts
- MLA International Bibliography (Drama and Theater Studies )
- Music Index Online
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature with Full Text
- Race Relations Abstracts
- Women's Studies International
The database below is on a different platform:
JumboSearch for Books
The library's catalog includes ebooks from the following collections, which you can search separately as well:
Note: WorldCat (renamed to be Libraries Worldwide on the Tisch Library homepage) is still a better place to get a fuller picture of books on a topic, even though interlibrary loan service is currently very limited.)
Check the Boston Public Library's catalog for eBooks (and sign up for a BPL , Tufts students and faculty eligible)
Open Educational Resources (OER)
online alternatives that are accessible and free to all students