Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research Guides@Tufts

Art History: The Art of Japan (COVID-19 ed): Home

 

Welcome to my Research Sources page for The Art of Japan!

Chao Chen, Humanities Research and Instruction Librarian
Email: chao.chen@tufts.edu; Tel: 617• 627• 2057; Schedule an Appointment

This COVID-19 edition emphasizes ebooks and full-text articles.

  chao chen

Books and Images

1. JumboSearch for Books

The library's catalog includes ebooks from the following collections, which you can search separately as well:

 

Note: WorldCat (renamed to be Libraries Worldwide on the Tisch Library homepage) is still a better place to get a fuller picture of  books on a topic, even though interlibrary loan service is currently very limited.)

 

**Check the Boston Public Library's catalog for eBooks (and  sign up for a BPL eCard , Tufts students and faculty eligible)

**"Digital books" on Internet Archive

**Open Educational Resources (OER)
online alternatives that are accessible and free to all students

 

2. A Few Reference Titles at Tisch


3. by Professor Ikumi Kaminishi


4. A few recent acquisitions at Tisch Library:

Images

 

**Japan Search
Japan Search links digital archives in the publications, cultural properties, and media arts fields of varying of contents preserved by Japanese institutions and organizations into a searchable “national, integrated and cross-sectoral portal website”.

Bibliographies and Journal Articles

1. Bibliographies and Review of Books

 

 

 

Note: check out, also, the bibliographies of books and articles in your readings. And, the following Subject Databases of journal articles for review of books as well.


2. Journal Articles 

A. All-Subject Databases

B. Art and Art History Databases

C. Related Subjects Databases

**Search by the title of the article in JumboSearch when the full text is not readily available in the two Art History databases.

 

3. A Few Notable Journals