|
Welcome to my Research Sources page for Art and Politics in Italian Renaissance Courts! Chao Chen, your research librarian |
 |
Books
Finding Books in Library Catalogs: 
Path of Discovery in JumboSearch, (our book catalog and more)
- Find a relevant book (e.g., from your assigned readings?)
- Note the descriptive language of the Catalog record.
- Use that language in further searches
e.g., Click on subjects in the record to see further results and related topics; and/or combine these subject phrases with other keywords for a more focused search:
| Title: | Virtue and magnificence: art of the Italian Renaissance courts |
| Author(s): | Cole, Alison |
| Subjects: | Art and state -- Italy |
| Art patronage -- Italy | |
| Art, Renaissance -- Italy |
A few sample titles at Tisch:
- A short history of Renaissance Italy
- Art and authority in Renaissance Milan
- Art and Politics in Renaissance Italy: British Academy Lectures
- Collecting Art in the Italian Renaissance Court: Objects and Exchanges
- Gender, Space and Experience at the Renaissance Court: Performance and Practice at the Palazzo Te
- Italian Courts and European Culture
- A Renaissance Court: Milan under Galleazzo Maria Sforza
- Women Artists in the Early Modern Courts of Europe: c. 1450-1700
Sources and Documents:
Overviews | Bibliographies | Journal Articles
Overviews and Bibliographies
- Met Timeline and Essays
- The Oxford Dictionary of the Renaissance
- A Companion to Renaissance and Baroque Art
- Italian Renaissance Learning Resources
- Renaissance Art in Italy
- Renaissance and renascences (A Bibliography)
Journal Articles (subject databases)
All Subjects
History of Art and Renaissance Studies
- Art & Architecture Source
- Historical abstracts
- Iter: bibliography of the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400–1700)
- International Medieval Bibliography (400-1500).
Tip: Crash the Research Party
Subject-specific databases, such as Iter: bibliography of the Middle Ages and Renaissance, where art historians and renaissance scholars are having their research party, sharing with each other their scholarship. Enter names of artists and titles of their works that interest you into the databases; then "listen to" the conversations about them: how scholars have studied them? If you don’t yet have specific names or titles in mind, enter keywords of topical themes, and observe what artworks are being associated with these topics, how and why?
A Few Core Journals
