Recommended Databases
SMFA Print Periodicals
- MIT technology reviewPrint issues available at the SMFA Library
SMFA Online Periodicals
- MIT technology reviewOnline issues
- Computer aided designOnline issues
- Computer aided geometric designOnline issues
- 3D printing and additive manufacturingOnline issues
- Additive manufacturingOnline issues
Digital Fabrication books
The 3D printing handbook : technologies, design and applications by
"The 3D Printing Handbook is written for designers and engineers wanting to master the key aspects of 3D printing"--Publisher's description
Call Number: SMFA: TS171.95 .R43 2017
Computational Design by
"Computational Design offers an informed overview of the impact of computational techniques on architectural design today, providing a snapshot of the latest developments in the field, drawing upon the leading experts in architectural practice and education from across the world. Publication accompanies that of a companion volume - Digital Fabrication. How are computational techniques changing the ways in which architects are designing buildings today? Computational Design offers a range of informed opinions on the subject written by some of the leading authorities in the world. It addresses parametric and algorithmic design, along with other related subjects, such as swarm intelligence, artificial intelligence, machine learning, interactive design, video gaming, building information modelling, geographic informational systems, remote sensing and data visualisation. The volume is divided into different sections comprising Manifestos, Methodologies and Projects, and also includes a helpful Introduction that offers a brief history of computational design."-- Provided by publisher.
Call Number: SMFA Library: NA2543.T43 C653 2017
Digital Fabrication by
"Digital Fabrication offers an informed overview of the impact of digital technologies on architectural fabrication today, providing a snapshot of the latest developments in the field, drawing upon the leading experts in architectural practice and education from across the world. How are new digital fabrication technologies changing the ways in which architects are constructing buildings today? Digital Fabrication offers a range of informed opinions on the subject written by some of the leading authorities in the world. It addresses new digital fabrication technologies, such as 3D printing, computer numerically controlled milling, along with other robotically controlled manufacturing operations, such as laser cutting, bandsaw cutting, stitching, weaving, forming, bending, folding and stacking. The volume is divided into different sections comprising Manifestos, Methodologies, Interviews and Projects, and also includes a helpful Introduction that offers a brief history of digital fabrication."-- Provided by publisher
Call Number: SMFA Library: NA2543.T43 Y83 2017
Digital Handmade by
While the industrial revolution of the nineteenth century diminished the role of the craftsperson in the manufacturing process, the digital revolution has had a less devastating effect. Today's digital technologies have given rise to entirely new working methods, skill sets, and consumer products that don't eliminate, but enrich traditional hand techniques. Digital Handmade presents eighty international designers, artists, and craftsmen who combine the precision and flexibility of computing and digital fabrication with the skill and tactility of the master artisan to create unexpected and desirable objects and products. These pioneers include Louise Lemieux Bérubé, a Canadian artist whose work integrates photography and weaving; Australian jewelry designer Cinnamon Lee, whose designs explore the relationship between hand and machine; and Japanese artists Nendo, who produce ceramic pieces that employ both digital fabrication and ancient traditional methods.
Call Number: N7433.8 .J64 2015
Digital Media Series by
Developments in Computer-Aided Design (CAD) continues to influence the nature of architectural design practice. As a communication and design tool, CAD software not only supports the practical operations of architectural design practice but also introduces design theories that are unique to the medium. As the first of the Digital Media Series, this book covers Rhinoceros (Rhino) as one of the 3D CAD software that promises to provide new affordances in architectural design.This book recognizes the challenges beginners face when learning a new software like Rhino. While in reality the tool is not that difficult to learn, beginners often spend too much time stuck on using a particular command. This book was written to alleviate these challenges. Through an overview of best practices in modeling habits, logics, and tips, we strive to help users build skills in critically analyzing the modeling process, determining the best method for the task at hand, and realizing 3D models as intended by the design idea. We believe that users do not need to know everything about Rhino's contents and commands in order to successfully apply the tool in architectural design. This book is not intended for users who desire a comprehensive description of Rhino, but instead is intended for users who desire to use Rhino efficiently as a design tool.There are two main challenges when learning how to use Rhino. The first issue is the 'commands'. Since Rhino relies on a command-based system, not knowing or recalling commands will render it useless. However, the good news is that most architectural designers are already familiar with command-based CAD systems like AutoCAD. Therefore, it is important for beginners to relieve themselves of the pressure to learn new commands. Whenever applicable, this book with cover Rhino commands as they correlate with similar commands in AutoCAD to promote familiarity. The second issue is the 'modeling method'. Without regular practice, users will forget the commands and how model properly. Using Rhino with speed and flair does not necessarily represent an advanced user. It is instead more important for users to understand the essential properties of Rhino and how they contribute to the process of modeling accurately, determining the appropriate method for the task at hand, building a strategy to model efficiently, and knowing methods that are unique to Rhino. Therefore, this book will promote a specific mantra for a structured manipulation of geometry: from points to curves, from curves to surfaces, and from surfaces to volumes. If users earnestly understand this mantra once, they will be able to use Rhino for long term even after forgetting a few commands. Looking ahead, this mantra also provides the benefit of allowing beginners to learn Grasshopper, a popular generative design tool, more easily. To this end, users should focus on understanding the first few chapters that describe the underlying principles behind the mantra. This will be the first step to become an advanced user of Rhino in architectural design.This book is not meant to be the only reference for learning Rhino. Users should use the book in combination with the wealth of public resources such as forums, tutorials, and documentations created by other advanced users. For any part of the book that the users may need more detailed information on, it is recommended to refer to the official documentation created by the software developer (McNeel).
Call Number: SMFA: T386.R45 R45 2019
Fab Lab by
In the course of the digital revolution, FabLabs (short for Fabrication Laboratory) make high-tech production technologies available for small teams or individuals, who can make there?almost everything? themselves. FabLabs are simultaneously workshop and laboratory, equipped with computer controlled tools such as laser cutters, CNC milling machines and 3D printers. Following on from desktop publishing and digital video editing, the production of physical products is now possible for anyone anywhere. In the first section of the publication, various authors provide insight on topics such as the emergence of FabLabs, the philosophy behind them and their commercial aspects as well as the techniques, methods and processes involved. After this, the artistic and production processes in a Dutch FabLab are presented as a real-world example. Around 30 noteworthy products are featured, each over several pages, in the Fab Gallery at the end of the book, thus demonstrating the full diversity of possibilities offered by FabLabs.
Call Number: TS155.63 .F33 2017
Fiction and Fabrication by
The field of architectural photography, long rooted in realistic depictions, has begun to see a dramatic shift in approach. Today, traditional styles of photographic representation are giving way to a new form of individualized reality, as advances in technology and techniques open new avenues for manipulating images. Fiction and Fabrication, which accompanies an exhibition at the Museum of Art, Architecture, and Technology in Lisbon, explores this trend via a range of contemporary works by some of the world's most celebrated artists. These essays highlight the power of digital photography and software like Photoshop to offer one-of-a-kind portraits of modern urban landscapes. The artists discussed include Doug Aitken, Beate Gütschow, Hans Op de Beeck, Hiroshi Sugimoto, Wolfgang Tillmans, and Jeff Wall, among many others. From imaginary buildings to real architecture that at times appears more fantastic than fiction, the art reflects the fresh visual energies that architectural photography can channel in our post-digital age. Beautifully illustrated with one hundred color images, Fiction and Fabrication takes an engaging look at the intersection of fine art and architectural design. At the same time, the book encourages us to reevaluate the places around us and appreciate all that is--and could be--just before our eyes.
Call Number: SMFA: N5075.L57 F53 2019
The Future of Making by
Prepare yourself: How things are made is changing. The digital and physical are uniting, from innovative methods to sense and understand our world to machines that learn and design in ways no human ever could; from 3D printing to materials with properties that literally stretch possibility; from objects that evolve to systems that police themselves. The results will radically change our world--and ourselves. The Future of Making illustrates these transformations, showcasing stories and images of people and ideas at the forefront of this radical wave of innovation. Designers, architects, builders, thought leaders--creators of all kinds--have contributed to this look at the materials, connections, and inventions that will define tomorrow. But this book doesn't just catalog the future; it lays down guidelines to follow, new rules for how things are created, that make it the ultimate handbook for anyone who wants to embrace the true future of making.
Call Number: SMFA: T173.8 .W85 2017
Hidden Patterns: Visualizing Networks at Barabasi Lab by
Accompanying the solo exhibition of Barabasi Lab at the Ludwig Museum Budapest and the ZKM in Karlsruhe, this book will be more than exhibition catalogue: it comes with a range of voices and viewpoints that give readers a sweeping view of the work Barabasi has done over the last twenty years and how it connects to art, science, and our general outlook on the world today. The Center for Complex Network Research (CCNR) at Northeastern University was founded 20 years ago and the lab is dedicated to a deeper thinking about networks-how they emerge and evolve, what they look like, and how they impact our understanding of complex systems. The backbone of this book are the extraordinary visualisations, in 2-D and 3-D, that Barabasi's lab has evolved, and which are unique not only to his practice but to the world of network theory and science at large. A series of essays and statements by scientists and artists alike will be followed by a long, beautiful array of breathtaking plates. Given the current state of the world, the book will also explain how Barabasi's work relates to Covid-19 and how understanding networks helps us predict and understand the spread of diseases.
Call Number: SMFA: N6537.B37 A4 2020
Laser Cutting for Fashion and Textiles by
"Laser cutting is the latest embellishment technique to appear on the runway. In this book, Laura Berens Baker provides 14 inspirational projects that demonstrate how to use laser cutting equipment to produce original designs for garments and accessories. The book explores how to engineer designs and harness laser technology to upcycle fabrics, replicating traditional finishes as well as developing new ones. Each project is created in Adobe Illustrator and includes step-by-step instructions for creating the design for the laser cutter, followed by instructions for cutting and sewing. Extra material available to download from the Laurence King website includes patterns and templates for the designs"--Publisher's description.
Call Number: TT520 .B22 2016
Neri Oxman: Material Ecology by
"Neri Oxman calls her design approach material ecology--a process that draws on the structural, systemic, and aesthetic wisdom of nature, distilled and deployed through computation and digital fabrication. Throughout her twenty-year career, she has been a pioneer of new materials and construction processes, and a catalyst for dynamic interdisciplinary collaborations. With the Mediated Matter Group, her research team at the MIT Media Lab, Oxman has pursued rigorous and daring experimentation that is grounded in science, propelled by visionary thinking, and distinguished by formal elegance. Published to accompany a monographic exhibition of Oxman's work at the Museum of Modern Art, New York, NeriOxman: Material Ecology features essays by Paola Antonelli and Hadas A. Steiner. Its design, by Irma Bloom, pays homage to Stewart Brand's legendary Whole Earth Catalog, which celebrated and provided resources for a new era of awareness in the late 1960s. This volume, in turn, heralds a new era of ecological awareness--one in which the genius of nature can be harnessed, as Oxman is doing, to create tools for a better future."-- Publisher's description, lower cover.
Call Number: N8217.E28 A58 2020
Printing Architecture by
"Printing Architecture explains how architects and designers can manipulate particles of light and bits of data to transform dust from the material world into customized objects and products that serve as new building blocks for the future. It provides students and practitioners with examples of novel 3D-printable materials--sand, cement, ceramic, wood, salt, rubber, coffee, tea, Chardonnay--and applications in design and architecture developed by pioneers of the process"-- Provided by publisher.
Call Number: TS171.95 .R34 2018
Radical Matter by
A must- have for professionals at the cutting edge of design, Radical Matter: Revolutionary Materials and Design for a Sustainable Future presents the ten "Big Ideas" that will shape and inform the choices of materials, design methods, and manufacturing processes made by designers in the years to come.Drawing from a worldwide community of designers who are pushing boundaries with innovative works that go beyond the notion of "sustainable design," Radical Matter demonstrates how holistic systems of design, production, and consumption will benefit our world environmentally, socially, and economically.The ten "Big Ideas" unpack the themes that are impacting our material world through cutting-edge case studies and expert opinions: Repair Is Beautiful; Today's Trash, Tomorrow's Raw Material; Natural Assets; The Waste Revolution; Lessons from the Past; Co-Creation; Material Connections; Short Life Materials; Living Materials; and Future Mining. The book includes an invaluable directory of resources for cutting-edge materials and a definitive list of global research centers, innovation hubs, academic courses, and material libraries. Radical Matter contains a wealth of information to help design professionals and students turn revolutionary concepts into reality.
Call Number: SMFA: TS171.4 .F72 2018
Rhino for Jewelry by
This book was written to demonstrate and teach the use of Rhinoceros software for the design and creation of jewelry. Rhino's powerful NURBS technology makes it possible to achieve extreme accuracy while being flexible enough to create your most fluid designs. Import a design sketch into Rhino and create an accurate technical drawing using Rhino's easy and intuitive drafting tools. Take this further into a full 3-dimensional model that can be sent on to prototyping technology. Chapters are in tutorial format with step-by-step instructions that will gradually build a knowledge base as later chapters become more advanced. Intensive instruction in both technical drawings of jewelry objects and the creation of jewelry models. Good for self-instruction or classroom.
Call Number: SMFA: T385 .B88 2016
SMFA Research & Instruction Librarian
Subject headings are applied, by librarians, to each book in the Tufts Libraries catalog. They broadly describe what a given title is about.
Click on a subject heading below to see a list of all titles on that topic: