Tisch Library's guides to evaluating information. This guide includes helpful tips for evaluating articles, books, websites, and any other type of information no matter where you find it.
Bear in mind: research is NOT a linear process; it takes lots of going back and forth between sources and ideas.
- Sources included in this set can provide concise introductions to a wide range of art historical topics; essays and brief entries on art movements, artists’ biographies, and countries. Articles are signed, include brief bibliographies, and images.
- CREDO ReferenceThis resources provides access to background content on a wide variety of topics. Use to focus your topic, find keywords and people, and discover more in-depth books and articles.
- Oxford ReferenceThis resource provides access to dictionaries, companions, and encyclopedias from Oxford University Press, spanning a variety of subject areas.
2a. Journal Articles
- JSTOR (all subjects)
- In EBSCOhost databases, you can select to search across the following subject-specific databases, among others:
- America: History & Life
- Art & Architecture Source
- Historical Abstracts (World history and culture)
- Women's Studies International
2b. Newspaper Articles
- JumboSearch for Books
Some keywords to try out in your search for books:
"handicraft political aspects"
Samples search results:
Craft (edited by Tanya Harrod, documenting major themes and ideas in contemporary art.)
Fabricating Activism: Craft-Work, Popular Culture, Gender
“Old Time Mem’ry”: Contemporary Urban Craftivism and the Politics of Doing-It-Yourself in Postindustrial America
Pricked: extreme embroidery
Extra/ordinary: craft and contemporary art
Thinking through craft
3b. Additional Sources for Books
- Check the Boston Public Library's catalog for eBooks (and sign up for a BPL , Tufts students and faculty eligible)
- "Digital books" on Internet Archive