- Oxford Music Online
- A Chronology of American Musical Theater
- Film it with Music: an Encyclopedic Guide to the American Movie Musical.
- The Oxford Companion to American Theatre
- North American Theatre Online
- Library of Congress Performing Arts Encyclopedia
- Show Tunes: the Songs, Shows, and Careers of Broadway's Major Composers.
- The Oxford Companion to the American Musical: Theatre, Film, and Television.
- Broadway Musicals: a Hundred Year History.
- The world of musicals: an encyclopedia of stage, screen, and song
- The Encyclopedia of Vaudeville
- Vaudeville, old & new: an encyclopedia of variety performers in America
- American Music
- Database of Recorded American Music [DRAM]
- Jazz Music Library
- Popular Music Library
- Films from Kanopy
(JumboSearch for) Books
Note: WorldCat (renamed to be Libraries Worldwide on the Tisch Library homepage) is still a better place to get a fuller picture of books on a topic, even though interlibrary loan service is currently very limited.)
**Check the Boston Public Library's catalog for eBooks (and sign up for a BPL , Tufts students and faculty eligible)
**Open Educational Resources (OER)
online alternatives that are accessible and free to all students
(databases of ) Scholarly, Trade Journal and Popular Press Articles
A. Performing Arts
B. Related Subject-Databases
- In EBSCOhost databases, you can select to search across the following databases, among others:
- Academic Search Premier
- America: History & Life
- Communication & Mass Media Complete
- Film & Television Literature Index
- Music Index Online
- MLA International Bibliography (includes theatre studies)
**Search by the title of the article in JumboSearch when the full text is not readily available in the databases.
C. Magazines, Newspapers
**Historical Magazines and Newspapers