Bibliographies & Review of Books

• Oxford Bibliographies: Art History.
• The Year's Work in Critical and Cultural Theory
• Dissertations and Theses (Check out the bibliographies of recent dissertations on a topic.)
• Dissertation Reviews ( yet to be published, which "offfer a glimpse of each discipline's immediate present")

• CAA Reviews (College Art Association)
• H-Net Reviews in the Humanities and Social Sciences (1994 - )
• New York Review of Books (1963 - )

 

Digital Images

• ARTStor (more than 2 million high-quality images)
• Museum of Fine Arts, Boston
• New York Public Library
• Digital Public Library of America
• Library of Congress

(JumboSearch for) Books 

Browse for Tisch library books on your artists:

Mary Cassatt (usually with the following types of contents):

• -- Bibliography.
• -- Catalogs
• -- Correspondence.
• -- Criticism and Interpretation
• -- Exhibitions

Frederic Church
Winslow Homer
George Inness
Albert Pinkham Ryder
Edmonia Lewis
Henry Ossawa Tanner
Thomas Eakins
Alfred Stieglitz
John Singer Sargent
James Whistler
Meta Fuller

 

Note: WorldCat (renamed to be Libraries Worldwide on the Tisch Library homepage) is still a better place to get a fuller picture of  books on a topic.)

Getty Research Portal Digitized art history texts in the public domain.

**Check the Boston Public Library's catalog for eBooks (and  sign up for a BPL eCard , Tufts students and faculty eligible)

**"Digital books" on Internet Archive

---

Databases of Scholarly Journal and Historic Magazine and Newspaper Articles: 

A. All subjects

• JSTOR
• Project Muse

B. Art History, American History and Related Subjects:

• In EBSCOhost databases, you can select to search across the following databases, among others:
• Academic Search Premier
• America: History & Life
• Art & Architecture Source
• Women's Studies International

 

C. Magazine and Newspaper Articles

Current:

• Access World News(more regional coverage of news)
• Factiva (more international coverage of news)

Historical:

• American Periodicals (1740 - 1940)
• Readers' Guide Retrospective (1890-1982)
• More