ILCS 65 Animals Crossing: Modern East Asian Literature and Media: Home

Overviews

• The Oxford handbook of animals in classical thought and life
• The Oxford handbook of animal studies
• Thinking animals: why animal studies now?
• Animals: a history
• Critical terms for animal studies

• CREDO Reference
• Oxford Reference

Creative Works

Fiction

• Murakami, Haruki. The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle
• Kim, Bo-young. On the Origin of Species and other Stories
• Wu, Ming-yi. The Stolen Bicycle.
• Cheon, Myeong-Kwan. Whale
• Tawada, Yoko. The Bridegroom Was a Dog
• Tsushima, Yuko. “Of Dogs and Walls”
• Ōe, Kenzaburō. “The Strange Job”

Films

• Takahata Isao. Pom Poko
• Lu Xuechang. Cala, My Dog!
• Oh Jeom-gyoon, Song Il-gon, Park Heung-sik, and Yim Soon-rye. Sorry, Thanks
• Lu Chuan. Kekexili: Mountain Patrol
• Miyazaki Hayao. Princess Mononoke
• Miyazaki Hayao. Ponyo

Visual Sources

Images

• ARTstor
• Library of Congress Prints and Photographs
• NYPL Picture Collection
• Creative Commons images

Streaming Videos

• Films from Kanopy
• **see also, Finding Videos

Evaluating Information

(JumboSearch for) Books 

Browse for Tisch library books on topics such as the following:

• Animals in art
• Animals, Mythical, in art
• Animals Symbolic aspects
• Elephants in art
• Animals in literature
• Animals in film

Some Critical Readings and Titles on "Animals in East Asian Histories and Cultures"

• Animals and Plants in Chinese Religions and Science.
• Animals through Chinese History: Earliest Times to 1911.
• Empire of Dogs: Canines, Japan, and the Making of the Modern Imperial World.
• History and its Limits: Human, Animal, Violence.
• Imagining cultural endangered extinction: meanings of species.
• The Nature of the Beasts: Empire and Exhibition at the Tokyo Imperial Zoo.
• Representing Animals.
• The Open: Man and animal.
• The Stranger and the Chinese Moral Imagination.
• Two Lessons on Animal and Man
• The zoomorphic imagination in Chinese art and culture
• Zoontologies: The Question of the Animal.

 (Subject Databases for) Journal Articles 

A. All subjects

• JSTOR
• Project Muse

B. Subject-Specific Databases

• In EBSCOhost databases, you can select to search across the following databases, among others:
• Academic Search Premier (all subjects),
• Art & Architecture Source,
• ATLA Religion,
• Bibliography of Asian Studies,
• Communication & Mass Media Complete,
• Film & Television Literature Index,
• Historical Abstracts ( World history and culture),
• LGBTQ+ Source,
• MLA International Bibliography (literature, folklore and related studies.)
• Women's Studies International