Overviews and Bibliographies

• Encyclopedia of Mexico  History, Society & Culture 
• Mexico: An Encyclopedia of Contemporary Culture and History
• The Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States.
• Our America: The Latino Presence in American Art (a Print exhibition catalogue at Tisch)
• Oxford Art online (Essays, biographies and bibliographies, ...)
• Latin American Studies (Annotated Bibliographies)
• Latino Studies (Annotated Bibliographies)
• Art History (Annotated Bibliographies)

 

Digital Images and Web Sites

• ARTStor (more than 2 million high-quality images)
• Art Museums
• Digital Public Library of America
• Library of Congress American Memory Project
• New York Public Library Picture Collection
• New York Public Library Web Gallery of Images
• Smithsonian Collection
• Latin American Posters Collection (Princeton Univ.)
• Cuarterolo Archive (1840-1950); over 5000 historic photographs)
• Chilean Protest Murals (Harvard)

• Google Arts and Culture launched Latino Cultures in the U.S.
• Google Arts and Culture: Faces of Frida
• Museo Frida Kahlo
• The Life and Times of Frida Kahlo (PBS)
• Museo Dolores Olmedo
• Museo Estudio Diego Rivera

Onda Latina: The Mexican American Experience

226 digitally preserved audio programs including interviews, music, and informational programs related to the Mexican American community and their concerns from the radio series "The Mexican American Experience" and "A esta hora conversamos" the Longhorn Radio Network, 1976-1982.

(JumboSearch for) Books 

A few tips for browsing and searching:

The Artists:

• José Clemente Orozco
• Frida Kahlo
• Rufino Tamayo

 

Specific Issues:

• colonia* and (art or arts) and mexic*
• resistance and (art or arts) and mexic*
• women and art and mexic*
• nation* and (art or arts) and mexic*
• (national characteristics in Mexican Art, etc.)

Tips: nation* searches for nation, nationalism, etc.. Or combined with ( ) searches for any or all of the terms.

Specific Medium:

• Mexican painting
• Mexican prints
• Mexican Murals

Note: WorldCat (renamed to be Libraries Worldwide on the Tisch Library homepage) is still a better place to get a fuller picture of  books on a topic.)

Getty Research Portal Digitized art history texts in the public domain.

**Check the Boston Public Library's catalog for eBooks (and  sign up for a BPL eCard , Tufts students and faculty eligible)

**"Digital books" on Internet Archive

---

Scholarly Journal, Historical Magazine and Newspaper Articles: 

A. All Subjects

• JSTOR
• Project Muse

B. Art History and Related Subjects Databases

• In EBSCOhost databases, you can select to search across the following databases, among others:
• America: History & Life
• Art & Architecture Source
• Communication & Mass Media Complete
• Film & Television Literature Index
• Historical Abstracts (World history and culture)
• Women's Studies International

ARTbibliographies Modern (not in the Ebsco group)

C. Latin American Studies

• Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI)

 

• Latin American Ephemera Collections at Princeton
• Latin American Pamphlets (19th to the early 20th centuries)