This guide supports MUS 201 seminar an introduction to Musical Research as constituted by the fields of Musicology, Ethnomusicology, and Music Theory, both as a scholarly enterprise and as a profession.
Zotero is a free tool that enables you to collect, organize, cite and share your research. Learn more at https://www.zotero.org/.
Citation Style Guides
Citation Support (Tisch Library)This guide is meant as a starting point for Citation Support at Tufts AS&E. We include an overview of why we cite in academic work, links to print and online guides for the most commonly-used citation styles, and librarian-recommended tools that will make formatting your bibliographies easier. It is not meant to be comprehensive, as most tricky citation style and software questions are better answered directly by librarians.
Chicago manual of style onlineOnline version of the Chicago Manual of Style. Guidelines, rules and regulations about writing style, authorship, printing and publishing manuscripts, articles, essays, etc.
A Guide to Library Research in Music by Pauline Shaw Bayne"A Guide to Library Research in Music introduces the process and techniques for researching and writing about music. This informative textbook provides examples of different types of writing, offers a thorough introduction to music literature, describes various information-searching methods and library-based organizational systems, and explores the wide array of music resources."--BOOK JACKET.
Call Number: Music Library Stacks ML3797 .B29 2008
Publication Date: 2008-09-18
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations, Ninth Edition by Kate L. TurabianWhen Kate L. Turabian first put her famous guidelines to paper, she could hardly have imagined the world in which today's students would be conducting research. Yet while the ways in which we research and compose papers may have changed, the fundamentals remain the same: writers need to have a strong research question, construct an evidence-based argument, cite their sources, and structure their work in a logical way. A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations--also known as "Turabian"--remains one of the most popular books for writers because of its timeless focus on achieving these goals. This new edition filters decades of expertise into modern standards. While previous editions incorporated digital forms of research and writing, this edition goes even further to build information literacy, recognizing that most students will be doing their work largely or entirely online and on screens. Chapters include updated advice on finding, evaluating, and citing a wide range of digital sources and also recognize the evolving use of software for citation management, graphics, and paper format and submission. The ninth edition is fully aligned with the recently released Chicago Manual of Style, 17th edition, as well as with the latest edition of The Craft of Research. Teachers and users of the previous editions will recognize the familiar three-part structure. Part 1 covers every step of the research and writing process, including drafting and revising. Part 2 offers a comprehensive guide to Chicago's two methods of source citation: notes-bibliography and author-date. Part 3 gets into matters of editorial style and the correct way to present quotations and visual material. A Manual for Writers also covers an issue familiar to writers of all levels: how to conquer the fear of tackling a major writing project. Through eight decades and millions of copies, A Manual for Writers has helped generations shape their ideas into compelling research papers. This new edition will continue to be the gold standard for college and graduate students in virtually all academic disciplines.
Call Number: Music Library Reference LB2369 .T8 2018
Publication Date: 2018-04-16
Music Library and Research Skills by Jane GottliebConcise and engaging, this text covers a wide range of reference sources for research in all genres of music. Through this practical introduction to the key concepts of music research, students will develop a firm understanding of the tools used to gather data, including what types of sourcesexist, how they are arranged, and how they may best be used to do research.
Call Number: Music Library Office ML3797 .G68 2017
Publication Date: 2016-10-17
Music Research by Laurie J. SampselThis text is designed to help music students become familiar with and use the many research tools available to them. The content is arranged by type of research tool (e.g., encyclopedias, periodical indexes, discographies) and includes a general statement about the uses of each tool and anannotated bibliography that points out their purpose, scope, strengths, and weaknesses. Covering both print and electronic resources, the text does not attempt to be exhaustive but rather guides students to the major research tools in music. A companion Web site maintained by the author helps keepthe material up to date.Intended primarily for music bibliography classes taken by almost all students entering graduate music programs, the text is also a useful supplement for any undergraduate or graduate class in music that requires students to do library research or write a research paper.
Call Number: Music Library Reference ML113 .S28 2009
Publication Date: 2008-02-25
Writing about Music by D. Kern HolomanWhere do you place the hyphen in "Beethoven" if it breaks between two lines? How do you cite John Coltrane's album A Love Supreme? Is it "premiere" or "première"? The answers and much more can be found in this definitive resource for authors, students, editors, concert producers--anyone who deals with music in print. Extending the principles devised for the classical repertoires, this revised and expanded edition now includes examples from world music, rock, jazz, popular music, and cinema. This essential volume covers some of the thorniest issues of musical discourse: how to go about describing musical works and procedures in prose, the rules for citations in notes and bibliography, and proper preparation of such materials as musical examples, tables, and illustrations. One section discusses program notes, while others explain the requirements for submitting manuscripts and electronic files, and outline best practices for student writers. An appendix lists common problem words. Updates include greatly simplified citations of Internet locators, the recognition of multiple platforms, and the expectation of paperless transmission and storage of work. Cited as the authority by The Chicago Manual of Style, this classic handbook is the go-to source for anyone writing about music.