Art History: Transcendence, Abolition, Landscape (1848-1877 ): Home

• Accessible Archives
• America's Historical Newspapers
• Ethnic American Newspapers from the Balch Collection, 1799-1971

• African American Periodicals, 1825-1995
• Harper's Magazine 1850-
• Index to nineteenth century American art periodicals
• American Periodicals 1740-1940
• Black Studies Center (Journals and newspapers, some historic)
• Making of America (Cornell University)
• Making of America (University of Michigan)

• ARTStor
• Digital Public Library of America
• New York Public Library Picture Collection   |  Digital Collections
• Smithsonian Collection
• Archives of American Art
• The Smithsonian National Museum of African American History and Culture

 

How would different types of sources help?

• • Overviews provide backgrounds and contexts of major artists, art historians, art historical issues and so on.
  • Recent bibliographies and review of new books help gain an understanding of the historiography and the current scholarship on a topic.
  • Journal articles are, of course, essential sources for such an understanding as well as for the most up-to-date scholarly conversations
  • Books in general, offer more in-depth and comprehensive studies.
  • However, some people may like to start with visual sources for topic ideas

 

I. Bibliographies

• Art History (Annotated Bibliographies)
• Oxford Art Online

 

---

II. Journal Articles (subject databases)

A. All subjects

• JSTOR
• Project Muse

 

Search for Review of Books

• 1. limit your search to Reviews or Book Reviews

  2. Use keywords such as "review", "current research".

 

B.  Art History and Related Subjects Databases

• In EBSCOhost databases, you can select to search across the following databases, among others:
• Academic Search Premier
• America: History & Life
• Art & Architecture Source
• Historical Abstracts (World history and culture)
• LGBTQ+ Source
• Women's Studies International

ARTbibliographies Modern (not in the EBSCO group)

 

---

III. Books (Library Catalogs)  

• JumboSearch for Books at Tufts libraries

Browse for Tisch library books on your artists:

Mary Cassatt (usually with the following types of contents):

• -- Bibliography.
• -- Catalogs
• -- Correspondence.
• -- Criticism and Interpretation
• -- Exhibitions

Frederic Church
Winslow Homer
George Inness
Albert Pinkham Ryder
Edmonia Lewis
Henry Ossawa Tanner
Thomas Eakins
Alfred Stieglitz
John Singer Sargent
James Whistler
Meta Fuller

Note: Libraries Worldwide  (known also as WorldCat; more books on a topic)