Collage

Addie Herder by Amy Galpin This beautifully illustrated book is the first to examine the art of the dynamic collage artist Addie Herder, offering a critical analysis of her intricate constructions. Addie Herder created small-scale collages for which she relied on compositional principles of balance and dynamism. These rigorous, found paper compositions earned the artist well-deserved respect from other artists, dealers, and collectors. Although Herder's work invites comparisons with well-known artists like Joseph Cornell, she eschewed prevailing 20th-century artistic trends such as painterly abstraction, minimalism, and conceptualism. This beautifully illustrated book, the first to examine the art of this dynamic artist, introduces her multilayered practice to new audiences and offers a critical analysis of her intricate and intriguing "assemblage" constructions and ephemera.

Carol Bove: Collage Sculptures by Carol Bove; Catherine Craft; Lisa Le Feuvre Carol Bove: Collage Sculptures presents an extensive look into the contemporary artist's work over the past five years and her ongoing exploration of scale, color, material, and artistic traditions of the twentieth century. Bove's recent work engages the conceptual concerns of mid-century sculpture, such as spontaneity, industrial materials, and the potential of painted sculpture. However, within this space of familiar sculptural traditions, Bove has discovered new approaches that lead to places previously unknown. Bove's "collage sculptures" are created from scrap metal and stainless steel that has been carefully worked into sinuous forms and are frequently painted. Considering the hard rigidity of the steel, the works possess an appearance of almost impossible softness, as if steel could become as pliable as clay. Such works range from small pedestal sculptures to large, imposing compositions. Bove's interest in scale and how a viewer's understanding of an artwork shifts depending on its context are explored through a selection of small works from the collection of the Nasher Sculpture Sculpture. Published by the Nasher Sculpture Center, the catalogue features beautiful reproductions of Bove's work and an introduction as well as an essay by curator Catherine Craft on the development of the collage sculptures and their relationship to other artists and traditions of modern sculpture. Also included is an essay by Lisa Le Feuvre that explores Bove's complex work by means of a thematic alphabet related to the artist's interests.

Collage Cut and Paste 400 Years of Collage by P. Elliott Accompanies an exhibition at the National Gallery of Modern Art in Edinburgh from June to October 2019. Collage is one of the defining subjects in Modern Art. It is as important and popular today as it has ever been. This definitive survey of collage and 3-D sculpture (made from bits and pieces stuck and nailed together) spans the whole period from about 1600 to the present day. Each page of this book is filled with fascination. The lavish illustrations include images of items such as books with fold-out flaps, Victorian collage, Valentine and greeting cards, double exposure photographs, album covers such as Sgt Peppers, and many curiosities and items from Cubism, Dada, Surrealism, Pop, 70s counterculture, video and computerised collage. -- Exhibition: Scottish National Gallery Of Modern Art (Modern Two), Edinburgh, UK (29.06.-27.10.2019).

The Ends of Collage by Yuval Etgar (Editor, Text by); Herta Wescher (Text by); Christine Poggi (Text by) Life Portrait, Hannah Höch's last extensive photocollage, was created in 1973. This visual autobiography is the lagest collage ever created by the artist. The artist provides rare insights into her work and her personality. She also ironically and poetically comments ont he key political, social, and artistic events in her life. Hannah Höch selected 38 sections of the collage. These sections of the colalge are complemented by explanatory texts and numerous quotations. Publisher

Hannah Höch: Life Portrait by Hannah Höch (Artist); Alma-Elisa Kittner (Introduction by); Orgel-Köhne (Photographer)

Hoarder order by Kuijpers, Thomas Thomas Kuijpers' work always stems from a (series of) current event(s), on basis of which he investigates how the stories told about these events influence our daily lives. What is the effect on our brain of this daily reporting, when it comes to terrorism, refugees, Europe, extremism, etc? To investigate this, Thomas collects a lot of material of all kinds; newspapers, fragments of conversations he overhears on the street, video material from Youtube, posters on the wall at the bus stop, comments on Twitter. As soon as it touches upon the subject being investigated, it is added to the collection. From that collection new connections arise, as well as insights into the way in which narratives about specific subjects are shaped; and with this also the work arises, within which the source material is often still visible. 'Hoarder Order' is an index of 20 years of collecting and (re-)ordering this collection.

Jean Conner: Collage by Rory Padeken (Editor, Introduction by); Kathryn Wade; Rachel Federman; Jean Conner (Artist, Interviewee); Robert Conway (Interviewed By) For more than six decades, San Francisco-based artist Jean Conner (American, b. 1933) has created seductive, clever, and humorous collages. Primarily made from images cut out of such large-format color magazines as Life, and Ladies' Home Journal, Conner's vivid pictorial worlds feature playful arrangements of animals, nature, religious symbolism, aquatic environments, food, and women. Published by the San Jose Museum of Art, Jean Conner: Collage is the artist's first scholarly catalog and brings long-overdue recognition to her extraordinary and fanciful collages. The publication features 70 full-color images of Conner's collages made between 1958 to 2021 and includes rarely seen work from the Conner Family Trust, recent museum acquisitions, and private collections; essays by Kathryn Wade and Rachel Federman; an illustrated autobiography by the artist; and an introduction by Rory Padeken.

Multiplicity by Kathryn E. Delmez (Editor); Anita N. Bateman (Contribution by); Tiffany E. Barber (Contribution by); Valerie Cassel Oliver (Contribution by); Patricia Hills (Contribution by); Maria Elena Ortiz (Contribution by); Richard J. Powell (Contribution by); Rebecca VanDiver (Contribution by); Chase Williamson (Contribution by); Fisk University students (Contribution by) An engaging introduction to contemporary Black American collage brings together art by fifty artists that reflects the breadth and complexity of Black identity   Building on a technique that has roots in European and American traditions, Black artists have turned to collage as a way to convey how the intersecting facets of their lives combine to make whole individuals. Artists have assembled pieces of paper, fabrics, and other, often salvaged, materials to create unified compositions that express the endless possibilities of Black-constructed narratives despite the fragmentation of our times.   As artist Deborah Roberts asserts, "With collage, I can create a more expansive and inclusive view of the Black cultural experience."   More than 50 artists are represented in the book's 140 color images, with some creating original artworks for this project. Featured artists include such well-known figures as Mark Bradford, Lauren Halsey, Kerry James Marshall, Wangechi Mutu, Howardena Pindell, Tschabalala Self, Lorna Simpson, Mickalene Thomas, and Kara Walker. In addition to scholarly essays, the publication contains short biographies of each artist written by Fisk University students.   Distributed for the Frist Art Museum   Exhibition Schedule   Frist Art Museum, Nashville (September 15-December 31, 2023)   Museum of Fine Arts, Houston (February 18-May 12, 2024)   The Phillips Collection, Washington, DC (July 6-September 22, 2024)  

Newspaper by Steve Lawrence (Editor); Peter Hujar (Editor); Andrew Ullrick (Editor) A long-awaited facsimile of Lawrence and Hujar's legendary '60s magazine documenting artists and photographers from Diane Arbus and Yayoi Kusama to Paul Thek and Lucas Samaras Published by Steve Lawrence and edited alongside Peter Hujar and Andrew Ullrick, Newspaper was issued in New York City between 1968 and 1971. A wordless, picture-only periodical that replicated the scale of the New York Times, Newspaper ran for 14 issues and featured the disparate practices of over 40 artists. With an editorial focus on placing appropriated material alongside new artworks, the periodical sought to codify a visual language of high and low culture that represented contemporary society in the late 1960s. While largely overlooked in art-historical discourse, Newspaper showcased many of the most revered artists working in the United States at the time, as well as an emerging coterie of queer artists. All issues of Newspaper are collected and reprinted here for the first time. Artists include: Diane Arbus, Art Workers Coalition, Richard Avedon, Clyde Baines, Sheyla Baykal, Peter Beard, Brigid Berlin, Richard Bernstein, Ann Douglas, Paul Fisher, Maurice Hogenboom, Peter Hujar, Scott Hyde, Christo and Jeanne-Claude, Ray Johnson, Edwin Klein, Yayoi Kusama, Gerald Laing, Dorothea Lange, Steve Lawrence, Jeff Lew, Roy Lichtenstein, Frank Mercado, Duane Michals, Jack Mitchell, Forrest "Frosty" Myers, Billy Name, Stephen Paley, Warner Pearson, Warner Piepke, Charles Pratt, Joseph Raffael, Mel Ramos, Lilo Raymond, Ruspoli-Rodriguez, Lucas Samaras, Alan Saret, Bill Schwedler, Leni Sinclair, Norman Snyder, Elizabeth Staal, Stanley Stellar, Terry Stevenson, Paul Thek, Andrew Ullrick, Andy Warhol, William T. Wiley and May Wilson.

Sara Cwynar: Glass Life by Sara Cwynar (Photographer); Sheila Heti (Text by); Rose Bouthillier (Interviewer); Legacy Russell (Text by) On beauty and being glitched: Sara Cwynar / essay by Legacy Russell -- Keep your images close / Sara Cwynar in conversation with Rose Bouthillier -- Soft Film -- Rose Gold -- Red Film -- Should artists shop or stop shopping? / essay by Sheila Heti -- Bibliography.

Vitamin C+ by Phaidon Phaidon Editors; Yuval Etgar (Introduction by) As seen in Forbes, Colossal, and The Art Newspaper Over 100 global artists working with collage, as chosen by a team of art experts - an indispensable who's who of the most exciting and innovative names working in the medium Collage is an artistic language comprising found images, fragmentary forms, and unexpected juxtapositions. While it first gained status as high art in the early twentieth century, the past decade has seen a fresh explosion of artists using this dynamic and experimental approach to image making. Organised in an A-Z sequence by artist, the book features both well-known collagists including Njideka Akunyili Crosby; Ellen Gallagher; Peter Kennard; Linder, Christian Marclay; Wangechi Mutu; Deborah Roberts; Martha Rosler; and Mickalene Thomas, and a plethora of lesser-known names deserving of greater attention. Taking a broad definition - from analog cut-and-paste compositions and photomontages to digital composed imagery and animations - Vitamin C+ showcases 108 living artists who employ collage as a central part of their visual-art practice, as selected by 69 leading experts, including museum directors, curators, critics, and collectors. The survey also features an engaging and informative introduction by Yuval Etgar, an internationally renowned expert in the area. The 69 expert nominators include: Cecilia Alemani; Iwona Blazwick; David Campany; Raphael Chikukwa; Patrick Elliott; Max Hollein; Hettie Judah; Christine Macel; Roxana Marcoci; Duro Olowu; Scott Rothkopf; Russell Tovey; Zoe Whitley; and Heidi Zuckerman. Artists include: Njideka Akunyili Crosby; Kader Attia; Adam Broomberg; Sara Cwynar; Moyna Flannigan; Ellen Gallagher; Lauren Halsey; Lyle Ashton Harris; Thomas Hirschhorn; Peter Kennard; Justine Kurland; Linder; Christian Marclay; Wangechi Mutu; Frida Orupabo; Heather Philipson; Tabita Rezaire; Deborah Roberts; Martha Rosler; Dee Shapiro; Eva Stenram; John Stezaker; Mickalene Thomas; Kara Walker; and Billie Zangewa.

Wangechi Mutu by Margot Norton (Editor); Vivian Crockett (Editor) A comprehensive survey of the work of the influential Kenyan-American artist Wangechi Mutu Wangechi Mutu's multidisciplinary practice grapples with contemporary realities while proffering new models for a radically changed future informed by feminism, Afrofuturism, and interspecies symbiosis. Her work addresses some of today's most critical questions concerning historical violence and its impact on women, together with our inextricable ties toward one another, our ecosystems, and other life forms. Accompanying a major solo exhibition at the New Museum opening in February 2023, this expansive survey will trace the entirety of Mutu's influential career chronologically, from early sculptural works of the late 1990s to her collage works of the early 2000s and more recent video works, large-scale sculptures, and site-specific interventions. This monograph provides the opportunity to see thematic through-lines and progressions across the entire arc of Mutu's career to date. Her sculptures inaugurated the Metropolitan Museum of Art's Façade Project, and her work is in the collection of the Museum of Modern Art, New York, and Tate Modern, London, among other major institutions.