Sources helpful for a creative and informative presentation of your project.

LGBTQ Theatre:

• LGBTQ+ Performing Arts Resources at the Library of Congress
• Timeline of Queer Theatre
• The Non-Binary Monologues Project
• The New Conservatory Theatre Center
• The Theater Offensive (Boston)
• Ring Of Keys
• Theater OUT
• Transgender Artists Database

Images and Texts:

• LGBTQIA+
• ACLU: American Civil Liberties Union Papers, 1912-1990
• Archives of Sexuality and Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940
• Digital Transgender Archive
• Documented | Digital Collections of The History Project
• The Gender Spectrum Collection: Stock Photos Beyond the Binary
• GLBT historical society
• Homophile Movement Papers Of Donald Stewart Lucas/1941-1976
• The Lesbian Herstory Archives
• NYC LGBT Historic Sites Project
• ONE Archive
• Phyllis Lyon, Del Martin and the Daughters of Bilitis
• Phyllis Lyon and Del Martin: Beyond the Daughters of Bilitis
• Politics, Social Activism and Community Support: Selected Gay and Lesbian Periodicals and Newsletters.
• Queer Zine Archive Project (QZAP)
• Queer.Archive.Work .
• Wearing Gay History

Images:

• the Playbill Vault.
• John Johnson Collection:  An Archive of Printed Ephemera 
• ARTStor
• Library of Congress Performing Arts Encyclopedia
• Library of Congress American Memory Project
• New York Public Library  digital collections

Streaming Videos

• Asian film online
• BroadwayHD
• Dance in Video
• Digital Theatre 
• Films from Kanopy
• Filmmakers Library Online
• Opera in video
• PBS Video Collection

• **see also, Finding Videos

• American Society for Theatre Research
• College Theatre Guide -- Association for Theatre in Higher Education
• The Worldwide Wide Web Virtual Library: Theatre and Drama

Evaluating Information

I. Scholarly and Trade Journal Articles

A. Theater and Performing Arts

• Performing Arts Periodicals Database
  (for reception:
      -- "dramatic criticism" in Scholarly journals
      -- "theatre reviews" in popular press and trade publications.)
• JSTOR
• Project Muse

B. LGBQ+ and Related Subjects:

• In EBSCOhost databases, you can select to search across the following databases, among others:
• Academic Search Premier
• America: History & Life
• Historical Abstracts (World history and culture)
• LGBTQ+ Source
• Women's Studies International

---

II. Newspapers and Magazines

• AltPress Watch
• Bay Area Reporter Archives
• Ethnic News Watch
• GenderWatch
• Independent Voices
• Politics, Social Activism and Community Support: Selected Gay and Lesbian Periodicals and Newsletters.

 

• Access World News (rich U.S. regional news)
• Factiva (more international coverage)
• More

Our most frequently requested newspapers:

• New York Times. Please note that you can create your own personal account on the New York Times’ website using your Tufts email address.
• Boston Globe
• The Washington Post: Direct Publisher Access (Current | digital reproduction)
• The Washington Post on Factiva (Current | plain text)

III. JumboSearch for Books   

Note: You may be looking at very current performances and issues, and academic publications in book format are yet to catch up with the language and everything else. Try this search: Transgender* and (theatr* or "performing arts")  for texts found in books and more. Some sample results: 

• Bodies of Text
• The Transgender Body in Wang Dulu’s Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon
• Competing Cultures of Masculinity: When Thai Transgender Bodies Go Through Muay Thai
• The Dick Van Dyke Show: Queer Meanings
• Embodied Practices of Hope
• Jin Xing: China’s Transsexual Star of Dance
• Queer Spectrality
• Transgender and gay male cultures from the 1890s through the 1960s
• Transgender Masquerading in Huang Shuqin’s Human, Woman, Demon
• Trans Representation
• Transgenderities in Performance: gender disobedience and anticoloniality in the performing arts
• Un/queering the latently queer and transgender performance: the butterfly lover(s)

 

more browsing options; note the keywords pattern:

• • Gay actors
  • Gay theatrical producers and directors
  • Gay dramatists
  • Gay theater
  • Gays and the performing arts
  • Gays in the performing arts
  • Lesbian actresses
  • Lesbian theater

  Or, focusing on individual playwrights/plays/Theatrical Troupe/Company, e.g. :

  • Christopher Durang
  • The Five Lesbian Brothers by Five Lesbian Brothers Staff

 

Note: Worldwide Libraries (also known as WorldCat  is still a better place to get a fuller picture of  books on a topic.)

Important: We acknowledge that cataloging approaches were designed in a racist and white-centered system. Outdated cataloging language are discriminatory against the LGBQ+ community.

• Homosaurus Vocabulary
• LGBTQ+ Subject Headings