ANTH 0166: Historical Anthropology

• Anthropology Plus 
  • Anthropology Plus brings together into one resource the highly respected Anthropological Literature from Harvard University, and Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK. It covers over 2,500 journals and begins coverage in the late 19th century.
• AnthroSource 
  • A service developed by the American Anthropological Association containing a complete electronic archive of all AAA journals through 2003, as well as current issues of eleven critical peer-reviewed publications.
• Sociological Abstracts 
  • Articles from the field of sociology may also be useful for studying anthropology.
• eHRAF World Cultures 
  • A cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life. Information is organized into cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level.
• eHRAF Archaeology 
  • A cross-cultural database containing information on the world's prehistory. This annually-growing database is organized by archaeological traditions and the full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level.

See also:

• List of anthropology journals at Tisch Library

You can search for books about anthropology in the library catalog in several ways:

Keyword Searching

Type in words that describe your topic:

• Anthropology and Mexico
• Anthropology and Culture and Medicine

Subject searching

If you know the Library of Congress subject heading used to describe your area of research, you can search for a particular subject. If you don't know the Library of Congress Subject Headings, speak to a librarian for help. Some examples of subject searches are:

• Boas, Franz, 1858-1942
• Ethnohistory
• Human geography
• Physical anthropology

Books on anthropology can be found under the call number range GN1-890 (Tisch Level 1). The range of topics covered by anthropology can be extraordinarily broad. For help in browsing the collection, consult with one of the reference librarians.