Sociology 75: Sociology of Violence

For a comprehensive list of our databases, use the Database Finder.

Key Resource

• Sociological Abstracts
  Provides citations and abstracts from over 2,600 journals, dissertations, conference papers, books and book reviews. Updated 6 times a year.

Also Useful

• GenderWatch
  GenderWatch is a full-text collection of international sources, including journals, special reports and conference proceedings on a wide range of women's issues. It includes archival materials dating back to the 1970s. GenderWatch allows both full-text and indexed searching.
• Women's Studies International
  Covers the core disciplines in Women’s Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. Includes the areas of sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education. Over 2,000 periodical sources are represented.
• Race Relations Abstracts
  Race Relations Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. Records are selected from many of the top titles within the discipline, including Race, Ethnicity & Education and Ethnic & Racial Studies.

You can search for books about sociology in the library catalog in several ways:

Keyword Searching

Type in words that describe your topic:

• Violence
• Gun Violence
• Gun Violence and Society

Subject searching

If you know the Library of Congress subject heading used to describe your area of research, you can search for a particular subject. If you don't know the Library of Congress Subject Headings, speak to a librarian for help. Some examples of subject searches are:

• Violence
• Violence -- Social Aspects
• War and Society

Books on Sociology can be found under the call number range HM1-HX970.9 (Tisch Level 1).