Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Best Sources for Articles on Literature & Film
This database is a classified listing and subject index of scholarly books and articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore and linguistics which has been compiled by the Modern Language Association of America since 1921. The electronic version includes the Bibliography's entire print run and currently contains more than 2 million records.
Film & Television Literature Index This link opens in a new window
A bibliographic database that provides indexing and abstracts for more than 300 publications, and selected coverage of 300 more.
HAPI Online This link opens in a new window
Scholarship on Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States: citations to articles, book reviews, documents, literary works, and other material in more than 500 international social science and humanities journals, published from 1970 to the present. Many citations are linked to full-text.
Additional sources for articles
JSTOR Archive Collection This link opens in a new window
Full-text back issues of scholarly journals in science, history, economics, political science, mathematics and other fields, with access starting from the first year through to 3 or 5 years ago.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Provides electronic access to the full text of Johns Hopkins University Press's scholarly publications in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.
Historical abstracts This link opens in a new window
Scholarly literature in history from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada). This database provides indexing of more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Major areas of coverage include culture and social structure; demography and human biology; economic development; environmental interactions; evaluation research; family and social welfare; health and medicine and law; history and theory of sociology; management and complex organizations; mass phenomena and political interactions; methodology and research technology; policy, planning, forecast and speculation; radical sociology; religion and science; rural and urban sociology; social development; social differentiation; social psychology and group interaction; sociology of the arts, business, education; studies in violence and power; substance abuse and addiction; welfare services; women's studies.
If we don't seem to have access to a book or article you need, request we borrow a copy from another library using interlibrary loan.
Plan ahead: it can take time to mail books to Tisch.
If you cannot come to Tisch, there are options to mail the book directly to your house.