Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research Guides@Tufts

Political Science 118-03: Gender in State & Local Politics

This guide is designed to support students in Political Science 118-03: Gender in State & Local Politics

Policy Research

  • PAIS Index
    • This resource covers issues in public policy, combining both PAIS Archive and PAIS International, with coverage from 1915 to present. Sources include journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material and more
  • Center for American Women and Politics
    • nationally recognized as the leading source of scholarly research and current data about women’s political participation in the United States
  • Institute for Women's Policy Research
    • national think tank building evidence to shape policies that grow women’s power and influence, close inequality gaps, and improve the economic well-being of families
  • Policy File Index
    • Think tank, research organization, and university program research. Complete range of policy issues, both domestic and international
  • Nexis Uni
    • To look at bill text or bill tracking: click on the "Advanced Search" link. On the next screen click on the "Legal" tab. Select "Statutes and Legislation" and then "US Bill Tracking." Run your search. Filter your results by selecting "Jurisdiction" in the left-hand column and selecting one or more states that you're interested in

Scholarly Databases

  • Political Science Database
    • provides access to hundreds of leading political science and international relations journals. Doctoral dissertations on political science topics are included, together with working papers, conference proceedings, country profiles, political news and other sources
  • Women's Studies International
    • Covers the core disciplines in Women's Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. Includes the areas of sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business, and education. Over 2,000 periodical sources are represented
  • Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
    • provides abstracts and indexing of the international literature of political science and international relations, along with complementary fields, including international law and public administration/policy.