**see also, Finding Videos
I. Scholarly and Trade Journal Articles
- Performing Arts Periodicals Database
- In EBSCOhost databases, you can select to search across the following databases:
- Academic Search Premier (all subjects), America: History and Life, Communication & Mass Media Complete, Film & T elevision Literature , Historical Abstracts (World history and culture), LGBTQ+ Source, RILM Abstracts of Music Literature , Women's Studies International.
More Sources For Current Production/Performance Reviews
Magazines, Newspapers, and Companies' Websites
- Access World News (rich U.S. regional news)
- Factiva (more international coverage)
Our most frequently requested newspapers:
From the professionals in the field:
- HowlRound Theatre Commons
- New York Times: Theatre Arts
- American Theatre by the Theatre Communications Group
- Internet Broadway Database
- the Lortel Archive (Off-Broadway)
For past theatre reviews
Historical Magazines and Newspapers
- African American Periodicals 1825-1995
- American Periodicals (1740 - 1940)
- British Periodicals (1680s - 1930s)
- New York Times Online Archive (1851 - three years before the current date)
- Times of London (1785 - 1985)
- 23 Collections of Newspapers and Magazines (1700 - present)
- Chronicling America (1690 - present)
- Early American Newspapers (1690 -1922)
- Newspapers.com World Collection (1800-1999)
II. JumboSearch for BooksNote: Many of the contemporary performances you are looking at may not have been addressed directly in academic books, yet. However, you can search for books on such topics as "performing arts and social justice" "theater and political activism" , "theater and society", and "theater and social change". For examples, these recent titles at Tisch library might be of interests to you:
- Bigotry on Broadway: an anthology
- Citizen Artists: A Guide to Helping Young People Make Plays That Change the World
- Inclusive character analysis
- No safe spaces: re-casting race, ethnicity, and nationality in American theater
- Racial and ethnic diversity in the performing arts workforce
- Political and protest theatre after 9/11: patriotic dissent
- Censoring racial ridicule: Irish, Jewish, and African American struggles over race and representation, 1890-1930
- Migration and stereotypes in performance and culture.
- Music, song, dance, and theatre: Broadway meets social justice youth community practice
- Performances that change the Americas.
- Performing care: new perspectives on socially engaged performance
- Privileged spectatorship: theatrical interventions in White supremacy.
- Reclaiming Greek drama for diverse audiences: an anthology of adaptations and interviews
- Scenes from the Revolution: Making Political Theatre 1968-2018.
- Shakespeare in a divided America: what his plays tell us about our past and future.
- The twenty-first century performance reader
Note: Worldwide Libraries (also known as WorldCat is still a better place to get a fuller picture of books on a topic.)