BlackMass Publishing boxed set by
Call Number: SMFA Library Special Collections ; ML3508 .B553 2024
Free our mamas! Sisters! Queens! by
"When art = freedom. Since 2018, the People’s Paper Co-op (PPC) has collaborated with the Philadelphia Community Bail Fund on their annual Mama's Day Bail Out campaign. Each year, the PPC works with a powerful cohort of women in reentry to co-create a poster series and corresponding set of exhibitions, parades, press conferences, and events to raise awareness and funds for the campaign. Their posters, prints, and t-shirt sales have raised over $150,000 to free Black mothers and caregivers." Just Seeds
Call Number: SMFA Special Collections Folio ; HV9306.P55 P46- One size : September 2018 by A collection of photocopied t-shirts, copied during the Punk house press residency in the RAFA part of the archive exhibition Naughty Kids punk in Antwerp 1978-2018. T-shirts were from fellow artists, visitors of the show and a few punk t-shirts exhibited in the show.Call Number: SMFA Special Collections Folio ; Z286.Z54 O554 2018
Other imaginings by
"Other Imaginings is curated by Aaron Sinift with Kahkashan Khan and Jitendra Kumar, in cooperation with the Sri Gandhi Ashram and various ashrams in Uttar Pradesh, India. The book begins with artworks produced by Gandhi ashrams for a village audience, a form of Pop Art for a counter-industrial culture. The project explores universal aspects of Gandhian visual culture in discourse with contemporary international artists and new ashram artist commissions. The book itself is printed onto home-spun khadi of the type Gandhi wore, so that the means and content are united in its form. The starting point is Gandhi's vision of a pastoralist India, and the ashrams he established to provide self-sufficiency through spinning and weaving homespun cotton 'khadi' cloth. These khadi ashrams continue this tradition of service into the present, employing approximately 10 million people throughout India. These workers are primarily women who are often sole support for their families. Time is a major factor in the book, requiring more than 3 years of work to produce. Each thread is spun by hand, requiring concentration and thousands of hours of work. Color separations and silkscreen images were mostly traced by hand (not photo-transferred), all woodblocks were cut and printed by hand. There are almost no mechanical processes used to produce this book. Working with Gandhi ashrams we've created a truly contemporary swadeshi artwork."--Project website.
Text in English and Hindi
Call Number: SMFA Library Special Collections Oversize ; N7433.35.I4 O74 2016
Better Living Through Bitter Melon by "This [is] a fusion of cookbook, Fluxus manual, how-to video, artist book, farmer's almanac, and the NBMC project documentations. It [includes] essays and interviews by Tom Andres, Leigh Belanger, Juan Bertero, Tom Burrup, George Ellmore, Gordon Hamersley, Dan Kaplan, Nasreen Latif, Louisa McCall, Frank Murrary, Marla Rhodes, Meg Rotzel, Modhumite Roy, and many more!"--website of the National Bitter Melon Council.
Call Number: SMFA Library Special Collections ; N7433.4.S88 B48 2010
The Black Image Corporation by
"Fondazione Prada presents "The Black Image Corporation", an exhibition conceived by Theaster Gates, from 20 September 2018 to 14 January 2019 at the Osservatorio venue in Galleria Vittorio Emanuele II, Milan. The project explores the fundamental legacy of Johnson Publishing Company archives, which feature more than 4 million images and have contributed to shape the aesthetic and cultural languages of the contemporary African American identity. Founded by John H. Johnson in 1942, his eponymous publishing company created two landmark publications for black American audiences: the monthly magazine Ebony and its weekly sister outlet Jet, whose publication was respectively initiated in 1945 and in 1951. Ebony and Jet were committed to both celebrating positive everyday events and depicting the complex realities black Americans faced in postwar USA. The magazines quickly became two of the major platforms for the representation and discussion of black culture, covering a broad range of events and personalities from historic milestones such as the March on Washington in 1963 and the first African-American astronaut to sports icons and show business celebrities": Observatorium, Milan, Italy (20.09.2018-14.01.2019)
Call Number: SMFA Library Special Collections ; E185.86 .B53 2018
Mobile Print Power : box set collection by
Box contains 8 bags (pillow cases) filled with photos, books, and other ephemera; 2 pencils; MPP currency (2013-2022); ¿Qué es Mobile Print Power?, What is Mobile Print power?, Collecting book, 2022; bag of M&Ms; rope for hanging bags; clothespins for hanging bags.
Since 2013 Mobile Print Power has been using its methodology for participatory design in public spaces and a pair of portable silkscreen printmaking carts to engage communities and explore social and cultural situations. To transmit the work that we co-create with the community we make books, prints, and public sculptures. Each project that we do reflects our belief in the value of shared artistic production. The box set collection presents their history (2013-2022) through a series of questions, statements, prints, and other ephemera. The collection is divided into eight categories, represented by 7 questions and one statement. Each of the fabric bags is printed with a graphic and one of the questions or statements. The writing and objects found in each bag respond to the question or statement, through graphics, personal narrative, and objects/ephemera.
Call Number: SMFA Library Special Collections ; N7433.4.M63 M63 2023
