/**/ Skip to main content

Research Guides@Tufts

Citing Sources

Information on the major citation styles and on citation managers, such as EndNote and Zotero.

Creating Bibliographies within Zotero

In Zotero, you can compile a few or all of your references into bibliographies, formatted according to your own preferred citation style.  To create an independent, stand-alone bibliography, you have the following three options:

  1. For a basic print bibliography, select your target output style (separate tab) from within the Cite option within Preferences (gear icon on Tool Bar) and select the references you want to print by right clicking (or control-click on Macs) on the collection folder, subcollection or individual items.  As you right click, choose "Create bibliography from selected collection/items."  You will be given the following options:
    •  Save as RTF will allow you to save the bibliography as a rich text file.
    •  Save as HTML will allow you to save the bibliography as a HTML file for viewing in a web browser. This format will also embed metadata allowing other Zotero users viewing the document to capture bibliographic information.
    • Save to Clipboard will allow you to save the bibliography to your clipboard to paste into any text field.
    • Print will send your bibliography straight to a printer.
  2. To drag and drop your citations into a document, called Quick Copy:
    • Minimize both your document window and Zotero, and click and drag the references you want.  Shift and drag for footnotes or endnotes.  
    • Be sure to choose your target output style in the Export option of Preferences.
  3. With RTF Scan, you can write in plain text, and use Zotero to finalize your citations and bibliographies in the style you want.

Using Zotero Word Processor Plugins

The Zotero Word Processor Plugins allow for making bibliographies, footnotes or endnotes, and in-text citations automatically, for any format you select.  They are available for Microsoft Word for both the PC and Mac, LibreOffice/OpenOffice.  Zotero Standalone includes these as part of the installation process.

 

When installed, the plugins will appear in your Word Add-Ins or Zotero Ribbon.   You can access Zotero Library citations from this plugin and you can select citations from within Zotero and click the Insert Citation button to insert them into your documents.  Be sure to click the box "use classic Add Citation dialog" to get the version used in the video, by going to Style option in Preferences.  You can also try out the other version.

Be sure to consult Zotero's help

 

For software that is not compatible use the Quick Copy option mentioned above.  

Important!  And if you are sending your paper to another person or to a publisher, use the Remove Codes button, within the plugin, to strip the Zotero code out.

Tips and Tricks

  • Zotero knows whether your selected output style uses in-text citations, endnotes, or footnotes.  You can easily switch between footnotes and in-text citations, but it is good to familiarize yourself with the output style's requirements before you start inserting citations into documents.
  • If you have urls in your references, you need to edit them by underlining them when using the Plugins.  
  • If you use Quick Copy, the urls will paste in as html.  Be sure to check this option in the Export option of Preferences, if you want this done.

Help with Citation Manager Tools

Tisch Library

Ginn Library

Hirsh Health Sciences Library

Webster Veterinary Library