/**/ Skip to main content

Research Guides@Tufts

Citing Sources

Information on the major citation styles and on citation managers, such as EndNote and Zotero.

Using the Mendeley Web Importer

The Mendeley Web Importer allows you to save references directly to your Mendeley account.  This methods works for databases, such as PubMed and Google Scholar, JumboSearch (http://tufts.summon.serialssolutions.com/), where you can find books and other resources in the Tufts Libraries collection, and publisher websites. 

To install the web importer, choose Tools > Install Web Importer from the menu bar in Mendeley Desktop.  On the webpage that opens, follow the installation instructions for your browser.

Once the web importer has been installed, click the Save to Mendeley button or icon  when viewing a list of results in a database or JumboSearch, or an article on a publisher's website.

Sign in to your Mendeley account, select the references that you want to add to your Mendeley library by checking the box next to each reference or Save all.  If you wish, use the search box at the top of the pop-up box to designate the folder to which you would like the references to be added.  The references will be added to your Mendeley Web account.

In Mendeley Desktop, click the Sync button to bring the new references into your desktop library.

Mendeley web importer window

Mendeley Web Importer

From Ovid Databases

The Mendeley Web Importer (see box above) does not detect complete citation information for a list of results in some databases, so other methods are necessary when you wish to add multiple references to Mendeley from these databases.

Ovid Databases (MEDLINE, CAB Abstracts, Global Health, etc.)

Check the boxes next to the references that you wish to send to Mendeley.  If you wish to send a large set of results, then enter a range in the box at the top of the results (you can export up to 1,000 results at a time from Ovid databases).  Next, click Export in the toolbar at the top of the results. 

Export results from Ovid

Export from Ovid

In the box that opens, choose RIS from the Export To dropdown menu.  Select which fields you would like included in the references, then click Export Citations

In the box that opens, choose the Open with radio button and select Mendeley from the drop-down menu.  If you do not see Mendeley in the list of options, then select Other and find Mendeley.  Click OK.  The references will appear in Mendeley Desktop.

Choose RIS format

Choose RIS format

 

From Web of Science Databases

The Mendeley Web Importer (see box above) does not detect complete citation information for a list of results in some databases, so other methods are necessary when you wish to add multiple references to Mendeley from these databases.

Web of Science Databases (Core Collection, BIOSIS, FSTA)

Check the boxes next to the references that you wish to save.  Scroll to the Save to menu at the top of the search results page.  Choose Save to Other File Formats.  In the box that opens, select BibTeX from the File Format drop-down menu.  Click Send

In the box that opens, choose the Open with radio button and select Mendeley from the drop-down menu.  If you do not see Mendeley in the list of options, then select Other and find Mendeley.  Click OK.  The references will appear in Mendeley Desktop.

Save to Other File Formats in Web of Science

Save to Other File Formats in Web of Science

From a File or Folder

This method of adding references to Mendeley works best for PDF files.  Mendeley can extract data from a PDF file to create a new reference.  Always review the reference to ensure that the citation information has been added correctly.

There are three ways to create a reference from a file or folder:

  • Drag and Drop: Drag and drop a PDF file, or an entire folder of PDF files, from your computer to the center panel in Mendeley Desktop.
  • Add Files: In Mendeley Desktop, click the Add Files button Add File in the upper left corner of the toolbar.  Select the file that you wish to add and click Open.
  • Watch Folder: Files added to a Watch Folder will automatically be imported into Mendeley.  To designate a Watch Folder, choose File > Watch Folder... from the menu bar (Note: you can also choose Watch Folder from the Add Files dropdown menu in the upper left corner of the toolbar).  Navigate to a folder, check the box next to the folder(s), click Apply, then OK. 

Manually

If you need to add a reference manually, for example a government document or policy report, then choose File > Add Entry Manually from the menu bar (Note: you can also choose Add Entry Manually from the Add Files dropdown menu Add Filesin the upper left corner of the toolbar). 

Select a reference type from the dropdown menu.  Enter the citation information for your reference, as completely as possible, in the fields provided.  Click Save.

Need Help?

Ask Us

Desk Hours: M-F 7:45am-5pm