Finding standards
- Techstreet EnterpriseProvides access to selected international, national, state and local industry codes and standards. Covers fields such as construction, electronics, energy, petrochemical, food, medical, and telecommunications. Includes standards from AAMI, ASHRAE, BS, ICC, IEC, and ISO.
- ASTM compassStandards and technical engineering information from ASTM (formerly the American Society for Testing and Materials).
- IEEE Xplore digital libraryIncludes standards in electronics, information technology, power and energy, smart grid, telecommunications, and other fields.
- Knovel LibraryKnovel is an extensive collection of technical e-books for engineers and applied scientists, and has interactive charts, tables, graphs, equations and information on best practices. It includes some standards, including ones from AASHTO.
Finding books, handbooks, textbooks, etc.
- JumboSearchThe library catalog includes all print and electronic books available from the library, as well as articles and databases.
- Knovel LibraryKnovel is an extensive collection of technical e-books for engineers and applied scientists, and has interactive charts, tables, graphs, equations and information on best practices.
- AccessEngineeringOnline engineering handbooks and textbooks, as well as data visualization, spreadsheets, videos, graphs, and tables.
- Interlibrary LoanIf the library doesn't have a book or article you need, you can request it using interlibrary loan, and the library can usually get a copy for you from another library.
Some specific handbooks for finding topic overviews and background information
Machinery's Handbook by ISBN: 9780831129002Publication Date: 2012Machinery's Handbook has been the most popular reference work in metalworking, design, engineering and manufacturing facilities, and in technical schools and colleges throughout the world for nearly 100 years.
The CRC Handbook of Mechanical Engineering, Second Edition by ISBN: 9781420041583Publication Date: 2004Includes sections on thermodynamics, solid and fluid mechanics, heat and mass transfer, materials, controls, energy conversion, manufacturing and design, robotics, environmental engineering, economics and project management, patent law, transportation, nanotechnology, & MEMS
Mechanical Engineer's Handbook by ISBN: 9780080511368Publication Date: 2001Covers definitions, formulas, examples, theory, proofs, and explanations of principles in mechanical engineering.
Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers by ISBN: 9780071428675Publication Date: 2006Mechanical engineering facts, figures, standards, and practices
- Online Books Page - Mechanical Engineering ResourcesFrom University of Pennsylvania, collection of digital texts on mechanical engineering.