LibGuides: HIST 0028: United States Foreign Relations, 1600 to 1900: Central, South American & Carribbean Primary Sources

Central & South American Primary Sources

Alfredo Montalvo Bolivian Digital Pamphlets Collection
Collection of digitized pamphlets documenting a century of Bolivian literate culture, beginning in 1848.
Argentine Presidential Messages
Argentine presidential speeches from the 19th and 20th centuries.
Brazilian Government Document Digitization Project
Collection of Brazilian government documents from 1821 to 1993.
Código Brasiliense
Collection of Brazilian laws and other official documents from 1808-1822.
J. León Helguera Collection of Colombiana
Includes unique primary sources on 17th to 20th-century Colombian history and culture. The collection includes books, manuscripts, broadsides, pamphlets (including novenas), royal cedulas, programas, and newspapers.
Memoria Chilena
Collection of digitized books, both primary and secondary, of Chilean history and culture.
Protesta Humana
Collection contains rare examples of anarchist, socialist, and communist newspapers published in Buenos Aires during the late nineteenth century.

National & Regional Archives & Libraries:

National libraries and archives, much like the Library of Congress, collect and preserve the history of a nation. Many of the archives and libraries listed on this page also make available extensive digital collections of early documents, maps, personal narratives, and much more.

Caribbean Primary Sources

Biblioteca Digital Puertorriqueña
Digital collections of the University of Puerto Rico, including thousands of historic photographs, maps, posters, and manuscript material.
Cuban Heritage Collection
The Cuban Heritage Collection is a repository for primary and secondary sources of Cuba and the Cuban diaspora from colonial times to the present.
Cuban Historical & Literary Manuscript Collection
Comprised of original manuscripts from the 17th to the 20th centuries. This collection includes manuscript books, slavery sales and property documents, wills, and correspondence.
Digital Library of the Caribbean
A cooperative digital library for resources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean.
Jamaica Unshackled
Resources from the National Library of Jamaica related to two landmark events in Jamaica's history: the 1831 Sam Sharpe Rebellion / Baptist War and the 1865 Morant Bay Rebellion
Haytian papers
A collection of the very interesting proclamations and other official documents: together with some account of the rise, progress, and present state of the kingdom of Hayti.
Caribbean Views
Over 1200 images, maps, and texts from the 18th and 19th centuries.
Puerto Rico at the Dawn of the Modern Age
Collection of first-person accounts, political writings, and histories dealing with the early history of the commonwealth of Puerto Rico. Includes documents related to the Spanish-American War.
Spanish-American War in Motion Pictures
68 motion pictures, produced between 1898 and 1901, of the Spanish-American War and the subsequent Philippine Revolution.
The West Indies in Records from colonial missionaries, 1710-1950
This collection includes 20th-century reports recording the activities of a dedicated group of missionaries working in the West Indies at a critical and formative point of their history during the move from crown colony status to full independence.

National & Regional Archives & Libraries: