Subject Indexes for History & Economics
- Historical abstractsScholarly literature in history from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada). This database provides indexing of more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.
- America: History & LifeScholarly literature on the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada, from 1964 to present.
- EconLit. 1969- .Provides subject access to journals plus books, dissertations, and working papers.
Subject Indexes for The Cold War
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts.Supplies up-to-date research within the political science discipline and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy and covers over 1000 journals drawn from the international serials literature.
- PAIS International (Public Affairs International Service). 1915 to the presentProvides access to periodical articles, books, hearings, reports, gray literature, government publications, Internet resources, and other publications. Many of the citations include abstracts and full-text links.
- Bibliography of Asian StudiesBibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) is the most comprehensive Western-language database for research on East, Southeast and South Asia. It covers all subjects with special focus on the humanities and social sciences. All entries are searchable by author, title, year of publication, subject, country, keyword and ISSN.
- Index Islamicus. 1665- .The Index Islamicus covers Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. It is produced by the Islamic Bibliography Unit of the Cambridge University Library and indexes articles back to 1906.
- Middle East and Africa DatabaseThe Middle East and Africa Database (or MIDA) is a bibliographic and full-text database that provides area coverage (especially for political development, social development, foreign policy, economic development, investment, oil and petrochemicals, trade and technological industries) for the Middle East, North Africa, the Sahel and the Horn of Africa, Sub-Saharan Africa, and Arabs, Iranians, Turks and Africans worldwide, including in Europe and North and South America. This is the electronic version of Middle East, Abstracts & Index.
- Columbia International Affairs OnlineProvides searchable access to the full-text of working papers and conference proceedings from 45 leading research centers in the field of international policy and scholarship. CIAO also provides abstracts from key foreign policy journals and the texts of 12 books on various aspects foreign affaires as well as links to internet resources and a calendar of meetings and conferences.
Historic Newspapers & Magazines
- Historical Newspapers: The New York Times with Index1851-three years before current date; use the Advanced Search screen to locate the online index
- The Economist: Historical Archive 1843-2014Search the Economist as far back in history as you like.
- Times Digital ArchiveThe Times of London, 1785-2010
- LexisNexis AcademicIncludes the text of articles from major American newspapers and regional papers. Check each title for time period coverage. Includes the New York Times on the Web online articles and full-text from 1980.
- Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982Readers' Guide Retrospective contains indexing of over 600 titles between 1890 and 1992.
- Readers' Guide Full Text MegaReaders' Guide Full Text is a database containing comprehensive indexing and abstracting of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and Canada, plus the full text of selected periodicals.
Interdisciplinary Indexes
- Social Sciences Citation Index. 1956-The Social Sciences Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the social sciences. It fully indexes more than 1,725 journals across 50 social sciences disciplines, etc.
- International Bibliography of the Social Sciences. 1951-The IBSS has more than two million references to articles and books going back to 1951 in the social sciences. It is produced by the London School of Economics and Political Science. Compliments EconLit and PAIS, always search together.
- Academic OneFile. 1980-Academic OneFile has over 8,000 peer-reviewed journals, the majority in full-text, from the world's leading journals and reference sources.
- LexisNexis AcademicIncludes the text of articles from major American newspapers and regional papers. Check each title for time period coverage. Includes the New York Times on the Web online articles and full-text from 1980.
- Dissertations & Theses: Full TextA comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world offering over 2 million titles, more than 930,000 of which are available in PDF format for immediate download. New full-text titles are added weekly.
Find It @ Tufts
If you don't see a link to the full-text of an article you're interested, try clicking on the Find It @ Tufts icon for that article. The Find It @Tufts button searches the rest of our holdings to provide you with options for getting you the article. It will try to link you directly to the full-text if we have online access. If not, you'll be given the option to search our catalog to see if we may own that journal in print. If we don't have it online or in print, you can use the link to request the article from Interlibrary loan (ILLiad). If you don't see this button, be sure to search the title of the journal in the Online Catalog.
